Nicely Nicely

2 Oct

I don’t know when or how it happened but I fell in love with muscials.

Grease. The Sound of Music. Bye Bye Birdie. Guys & Dolls. My Fair LadyFiddler on the Roof. Singin’ in the Rain. HAIR. Chicago.

I know that if I go see Fame, I’ll fall head over heels in love with that one, too.

Last night I went to a well-known community theater which routinely sells out each show in StL to see Guys & Dolls for my, um, fourth time? (Not fourth time this season, just four times and counting.) What can I say? I enjoy going to the theater to see my favorite on-screen musicals come to life.

I laughed. I cried (not because it’s sad but there are some tender moments and I’m a girl after all). I tapped my foot to the music and resisted jumping on stage to belt out the lyrics that I know so well. I developed a small crush on Sky Masterson as I always do when I watch the movie or see the play. I didn’t even care that it was well after 11pm by the time I got home. I fell asleep with show tunes in my head. With dreams of becoming an actress who can sing and dance. (I can dance but singing is not my strong suit.)

There is something about going to the theater that makes me feel so alive, rejuvenated, inspired!

If you haven’t seen Guys & Dolls, which is based on two short stories for those of you who care to know, watch this trailer. I mean, if it’s endorsed by Ed Sullivan in 1955, features a crooning Frank Sinatra & Marlon Brando, it’s definitely worth watching, unless, of course, you don’t like musicals.

13 Responses to “Nicely Nicely”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa October 2, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    SO GLAD you had such a great time. I’m not so much a fan of the musicals (and heard not so great things about the new Fame, which is too bad) … but, I love that it doesn’t take much to make your words sing.

  2. mandy October 2, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Musicals hold a special place in my heart as well. Like Nilsa, I am glad that you have such a great time. There’s just something so refreshing about seeing a musical.

  3. Lacey Bean October 2, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    You just listed all of the musicals I LOVE. My Dad and I are most likely dancing to Singing in the Rain as our father daughter dance at my wedding. :)

    And if you’ve never seen Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, or Gigi, I suggest you go rent them now. Awesome, undervalued musicals.

  4. Akirah October 2, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    I LOVE musicals. I enjoy all the ones you listed. I was watching a part of The King and I the other day and I realized I’d probably understand a lot more since the last time I’d seen it was when I was 8. I think I’m gonna start renting the old school productions again.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 2, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    I’m not a huge fan of watching musicals on the TV but live is SOO fun. The energy is very cool :-)

  6. bellerenee October 2, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    I was a hot box girl in Guys and Dolls. One of my favorite songs to perform (in my kitchen/car) is Adelaide’s Lament… One day I’ll do it on stage. Mark my words.
    I saw it London a few years back, the same production Ewan McGregor was in. He had left a few weeks earlier but the guy who took his place as Sky (Obadiah!) Masterson was pretty much his twin. Hotness.

  7. Lisa D October 2, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

    I adore musicals! I haven’t seen this one, so should check it out when/if it comes to Minneapolis!

  8. Erin October 3, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    I just absolutely adore musicals. I love singing along to them in the car. In high school, there was a one-woman show of Les Miserables in my bedroom every night!

  9. Caz October 3, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    I’m totally obsessed with musicals both on stage and screen. I’ve been lucky enough to see a lot of them over the years and fingers crossed I can see Chicago while it’s here this month!!!

    But I totally can’t sing to save my life so me ever being in one is a huge No-go!

  10. Kyla Roma October 4, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    The best thing about working musicals for me was always getting the songs not just stuck but lodged inside my head! lol

    They definitely hold a special place for me too =)

  11. bodelou October 6, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    im a self proclaimed junkie…musical junkie. while i am interested in seeing fame, i just can’t see how it can top the original. remakes are never as good. go rent the fantastically 80s version that will make you “sing the body electric” “live forever” etc.

    good stuff

  12. Little Miss Obsessive October 6, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    No big surprise here but I LOVE musicals too lol… both shows and movies. Add it to the list of things we have in common. ;)

  13. E.P. October 12, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    YAY! I’m glad that you had a fantastic time. And this post really, really makes me want to see a musical sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

