Rainy with a Chance of Embarassment

5 Oct

On Thursday, StL was caught in a perma-downpour.

We’re talking sheets and sheets of rain making it impossible to dodge the raindrops on my way to the car to ship the VIP package at USPS. Of course, yours truly failed to bring an umbrella or rain boots to work and so there I was, boxes to ship in one arm, purse on the other, heels on my feet and hair that was about to be ruined.

One thing that I don’t love about rain? Getting caught in it unprepared. And wearing my favorite Nine West black high heels that are fantastic, but not for running in the rain. Leather + water = slippery feet.

When I got to the USPS, I got out of my car like a normal person, swinging my left leg out, then my right. When my left leg exited the car, my left shoe left my foot. Literally. It flew under the car next to me.

So now, just to make sure you have a clear visual, I’m holding work packages + purse (which is soaked) + car keys, my hair is dripping wet, my glasses are covered in rain drops, my pants are plastered to my legs, I can feel all mositure being sucked out of my body and now I have to get down on the ground, somehow, and retrieve my shoe from under the car next to me.

I got the darn shoe but not before the owner of the car came out at the same time I was strategically maneuvering myself to pluck the damn shoe up off the ground. He stared at me, quite confused, all the while holding an umbrella and being dry while I was a sloppy, wet mess.

Two days into being 26 and I already have a new most embarassing moment to add to my list.

Well, that and the fact that when my brother came home on Saturday to surprise me, I started running to greet him and fell (now idea how, really, though my parents said it was a lot like watching Goofy in one of the classic Disney Cartoons. It’s not one of my life’s goals to be like Goofy from a classic Disney Cartoon) on my right buttcheek and hip as well as catching myself with my right hand, wrist and shoulder. I stood up laughing and crying at the same time with the promise of several bruises and sore muscles.

I hope both incidents are a fluke but if not, I’ll have a lot to laugh at this year.

Do you have a classic embarassing moment? Perhaps you’ve been likened to a Cartoon Character before?

18 Responses to “Rainy with a Chance of Embarassment”

  1. butterflycharlie October 5, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    I love people falling over! It’s hilarious! I fall over quite a lot; my ankle just kinda gives way and I go over on it. I remember being at a bus stop with two friends and we weren’t sure which bus we needed so two different ones pull up and one boy goes to one bus, the other to the other bus and out of the corner of my eye I see one of the boys fly past me to join the other friend so I had to run quick to join them before the bus left, and I started running (funny in itself) and then I fell off the curb, flat on my face with a grazed hand all in front of lots AND lots of people.

    It was rush hour.

  2. SoMi's Nilsa October 5, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    I love your humorous honesty about life, my dear. I can see every step of this blog post. For better or worse. =) My most embarrassing moment surely involves being wasted at a fraternity house in college, dancing in a doorway and having my friends lead me home for my own good. But, we shall not discuss it beyond *these* walls. ;-)

  3. Becky October 5, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    Aw! I was definitely laughing, but sympathizing because I’ve been there! (Okay, not the shoe part but the heels and stuck without an umbrella part). Nice of the guy to stand there with an umbrella and not offer to help, huh?! Happy Monday!

  4. mandy October 5, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    Oh Nora! I am sorry but I laughed out loud while reading this. I am completely clumsy. I think my most embarassing moment would be falling out of a port-a-john at a big four day country concert (and by falling I mean, I opened the door and promptly fell on my hands and knees). Its one of those stories that starts with “This one time, when I was drunk….”

  5. Kathleen October 5, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    Aw, that just sounds miserable! I’m glad you can laugh at it now, because I’m sure at the time it wasn’t funny!

  6. Megan/SomewhatVoluble October 5, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    I tend to block embarrassing moments from my memory. ;) I’m sorry the first couple days were rough! Maybe you’ve used up the embarrassing moments for the year. :)

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 5, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    Hahaha oh no!! I also HATE being caught in the rain!! It’s the worst kind of weather when you’re not prepared for it.

    That visual of you retrieving your shoe is kind of funny though. Just a little…. :-)

  8. ria October 5, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    i have so many of these moments that it’s just part of my daily routine. most recently i was walking into my house and the dog was behind me, i have no idea how i did it but i smashed my cheek with the door. i have a nice bruise to show for it lol

  9. Ev`Yan || apricot tea. October 5, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh my gosh, my heart hurts for you & your embarrassing moment. How humiliating! & I bet you were SOAKED when you finally started heading home. There is nothing worse than sitting in a car with your clothes soaked, while driving in the rain. UGH!

  10. Little Fish October 5, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    Oh you poor thing! Look at it this way, perhaps most of the crappy stuff that will happen in your 26th year will happen in the first few days which will smooth the way for a wonderful and peaceful rest of year 26.

  11. AuburnKat October 5, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    Today I went to the gym and I wore a new sweatshirt that my sister bought for me. I took off the sticker with the size on it and I thought I threw it out…well somehow it got stuck on my sweatshirt again and I didn’t notice it was hanging on it until after my workout. Cute huh?

  12. Lisa D October 5, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    Ok, this could so happen to me. I am surprised it hasn’t. I am the girl that walks down the sidewalk and trips because her heel gets caught in a crack or something like that. I used to go for walks w/ a co-worker and he’d always joke that he had to watch the road ahead of me to steer me clear of any potential disasters.

    I have so many embarassing moments. I wouldn’t even know where to start. One of my most memorable was when I got dropped off after a first date, trip walking up to my door, and fell, super man dive style, and fell on top of my to go box. It was epic. The date didn’t know what to do, so he just rolled down his window and said – ‘um, are you ok’ to which I respond, ‘yep, fine, just go.’

    Awful.

  13. Erin October 5, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    Ugh. That sucks! I totally wiped out at the grocery store the other day. My feet were soaked from the rain, and I walked in and fell flat on my ass. Wasn’t the first time either.

  14. Jessica October 5, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    Oh no! Yeah we had rain here too and it was miserable. At least it was only a shoe…and not your skirt or top. But I’m sure it was quite a sight to see!

  15. Margarita October 6, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    Aww, if I was there I would’ve helped you get the shoe!! That’s crazy, and I totally understand how embarassing it is. Me and Princess ran to catch a bus today, got on it, sat down, and I realised my pants were down low cus as I ran they get sloppy – so I stood up and did a shimmy shimmy shake and pulled them up, and realised that like 6 people were staring at me. Woot!

    Awesome.

    Tell your parents next time to keep a video camera on you and send all hilarious moments to america’s funniest videos!

  16. sleepyjane October 6, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    I know this is super late…but…happy belated birthday!!!

    *awkward pause*

    *cough*

    Oh and I fall all the time. My legs aren’t always at one with my mind.

  17. E.P. October 12, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    Oh no! That’s not good at all! And it sounds like something that would happen to me. Because when it rains, I always end up looking like a drowned rat. Luckily, I cannot wear heels for work. That would definitely make it worse…

    I think we all have those embarrassing moments. It’s just a matter of how we look at them, in retrospect.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Nora’s Kitchen « Walking through the Rain - October 8, 2009

    […] time I made it or perhaps because my right hand wasn’t functioning very well thanks to the fall I took on Saturday, but it took me a bit longer than 25 […]

Leave a Reply

