The 26 List

7 Oct

As corny as it sounds, I believe John Lennon. It seems to be that way for me: I make plans and somehow at the end of the year, I look back and only a few of the things I’ve hoped to accomplish have come to fruition. It’s not for lack of trying or setting my mind to it but as is true with life, other things come up that need my attention or that challenge me and I try to never back down from a challenge. I’ve learned to go with the flow more, the importance of not having every moment of my day scheduled. But I often wonder, how in the world I will actually do all the things I’ve dreamed of accomplishing?

After reading Nilsa’s post on Life Goals, I realized that I am more of a small picture person which I like to think makes me more present in the now and perhaps explains why I like the Lennon quote so much. (Not to say I don’t think about my future because I do, but I want to enjoy the here and now and then enjoy later when I get to it.) Rather than making a Bucket List, I came up with a list of things I’d like to do to make my 26th year another great one. Some are life changes, other personal challenges and others are things that I’m amazed I haven’t yet tried.

Here they are, in no particular order:

* Run one 5k Race a month, preferably ones for a charity. (The hope is that I could work up to “bigger,” races as the year goes on.)

* Read at least seven books. One must be a memoir. Another historical non-fiction.

* Get down to my goal weight and stay there!

* Go fishing. Learn to bait a hook.

* Meet two more bloggy buddies.

* Start a real pen & paper journal.

* Volunteer 60 hours at the Rescue Ranch. I can’t wait to get started even though I know I’ll be working through bitter cold and sweltering heat.

* Cook one new dish and bake one new recipe a month. Ideally the bulk of the recipes would come from the old school cookbooks I’ve inherited from my Gram and the Martha Stewart Cupcake book.

* Take piano lessons (again).

* Travel to another baseball stadium, preferably the New York Yankees.

* Learn how to knit, courtesy of my Gram. First project: afghan.

* Finish that darn Masters of mine and leave formal schooling behind for good.

* Get back to nannying/babysitting. (I used to babysit all the time and lately I miss it.)

* Catch up on my scrapbooking/photo printing, sending pictures to the appropriate friends and family.

* Start Yoga and become a regular. This goes hand-in-hand with learning to meditate and getting to my goal weight and staying there.

Any recommendations for things that absolutely must be included in my list?

20 Responses to “The 26 List”

  1. Megan/SomewhatVoluble October 7, 2009 at 7:47 am #

    I absolutely LOVE memoirs.

    For the cooking and baking, be sure to check out Pioneer Woman Cooks as well. She has simple, amazing dishes.

  2. fritz October 7, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    organizing a huge bloggy meet up centered around going to yankee stadium and then going shopping for you historical non fiction book on broadway at one of the greatest used bookstores EVER! the new yankee stadium is pretty impressive!

  3. SoMi's Nilsa October 7, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Start a color-coded calendar to keep track of all your goals and plan them out so they don’t overwhelm you all at once!!! =)

    Great list, Nora. Here’s hoping I can be a part of some of it (yoga classes together? race together? what about that writing workshop…. hahahah).

  4. doniree October 7, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    That is a GREAT list! I just posted my life list on my blog, but I’m working on different list with a shorter time frame that I’ll publish hopefully by New Year’s :) Good luck, and I can’t wait to keep up with your progress!

  5. AshleyD October 7, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    I highly recommend the Hungry Girl cook book. So many yummy recipes and they are all pretty healthy too!

    Also, you should add “Visit Texas, preferably Austin” to your list! :)

  6. Kyla Roma October 7, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Oh we are all over the same goals! I’m starting yoga in the mornings, reading, knitting an afghan, and cooking more new recipes.

    Pinky swear that we’ll get them all done? =)

  7. ria October 7, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    i wish we lived closer together because a lot of the things you want to do i would love to too. like meditating, yoga, scrapbooking etc :)

  8. Kathleen October 7, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    I like that you wrote run one 5k a month. I think I’d like to do that too, because races always inspire me, and if I schedule them, then I will keep running. And if I keep running, I should be able to increase my distance!

    I’m trying to get back into yoga too. I love it, but I can only afford DVDs. I’m searching for the best ones.

  9. Lauren October 7, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    I would love to take piano lessons again as well. My poor children are going to be forced to sit at that dang piano regardless of how they feel about it. I completely regret quitting! It’s SO COOL NOW!

  10. Liz October 7, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    How about visiting a new city? That usually seems to be on mine.

  11. katelin October 7, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    oh what an awesome list, my goal is to visit at least 5 baseball stadiums, i’ve already been to 3. and i say add travel to at least 17 states (if you haven’t already) :)

  12. anne October 7, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    love the list !

    and you are welcome to nanny little man anytime you want …

    looking forward to seeing you sunday-

  13. bFlat October 7, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Great list! We almost met in real life, does that count? We will have to try again next time you come to the Windy City!

  14. mandy October 7, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    I cannot wait to meet up. And the cooking and baking new recipes, I’m with you on that one. I have some recipes I need to send your way. This is a great list Nora. I am a small picture person too.

  15. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 7, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    GREAT LIST!

    I would like to join you on the cooking one new dish and baking one new recipe a month as well as start yoga and LEARN to love it. Right now I make myself do yoga because I know it’s good for me, and I feel good afterwards, but even a short 20-minute class leaves me feeling antsy! Maybe I need to go to a real studio rather than do it online?

    Keep us updated on how this list is going for you!

  16. Margarita October 7, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    Totally visit Vancouver and eat food with Fab Brunette ;)

  17. nicoleantoinette October 7, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

    These are perfect goals honey. Challenging and yet attainable.

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  18. sleepyjane October 8, 2009 at 2:10 am #

    Fantastic list. :)

    I’m looking forward to reading about it all. ;)

  19. Lisa D October 8, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    Great quote and great list! Looks very complete! I should do something like this around my birthday in Feb. Goal setting is always good, and I am more likely to accomplish something when I have a list!!

  20. E.P. October 12, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    Aww, Nora, this is fantastic! All these goals are very do-able, too, and I kind of want to make a list like this for myself. Because it would be a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

