Darling

19 Oct

Todays’ post is all about my mom, Darling. Why? Just because I feel like it and I know that I’m incredibly blessed to have a mom like her. So, here’s the list of why my mom is fabulous:

* She reads Vogue which makes her an excellent person to turn to for fashion advice.

* She introduced me to Sex & The City.

* If it’s your birthday, you get to request your favorite dinner and cake with homemade icing.

* She loves Jack as if he were her own dog.

* She’s the best cheerleader I know.

* We have our own rituals. Like shopping & IHOP the day after Thanksgiving. Hot fudge sundaes once a month, just because.

* She was the one who encouraged me to blog.

* She calls me on my bad moods and bullshit (rare that I’m that way, but it happens and she tells me so).

* We laugh so hard it hurts more often than not.

* She has a pink cell phone.

* She wrote me a children’s book, just because. I have it tucked away for if/when I have kids.

* Darling knows when to hold my hand through certain situations and  when to let me fly (and maybe crash) on my own, but she’s always there to pick up the pieces.

* She’ll gladly get on stage to sing with my dad’s band. She’s also pretty darn good at it too.

* She’s given me a list of nicknames as long as my arm, including things like Beeps. Smoodgie-San. Laser. (And no, I don’t know what they mean specifically.)

* She has a kick-ass blog. No, really. You should read her especially if you like photos, book recommendations, poems and anything else literary.

* She still gets excited about Christmas and repeatedly tells me and my brother NOT to go in my parent’s closet because we’ll run our surprises.

* We share our movie collections with each other (and not surprisingly, love the same kinds of movies).

Who is the most influential woman in your life? Does she read Vogue?

22 Responses to “Darling”

  1. doniree October 19, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    Your mom is so the opposite of mine. My mother wouldn’t know what to do with Vogue. (But hand her a Southern Living magazine and she’s happy).

    Glad you have such a great friend in your mother as well!

  2. Kyla Roma October 19, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    She has a blog?? Love it!
    Can your mom adopt me? I’ll get all the paperwork done so all she has to do is sign, I promise ;)

  3. longredcape October 19, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    Your mom sounds awesome! :D

  4. smidge October 19, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Your mum sound like someone youd want as a best mate!

    Mine is probably my mum too, she does comedy on stage, travels the world, speaks on womens issues and looks after us all!

  5. SoMi's Nilsa October 19, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    I’m pretty sure I have to meet Darling one day. She sounds like my kind of gal! I think my paternal grandmother and my mother tie for women who have influenced me the most over my lifetime. Though, my mother-in-law should be added to the list in due time.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 19, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    Awww I love this post! Your mom rocks and how great is it that she has a blog?!

    I LOVEE watching SATC with my mom, and even though we can smash heads a lot, she’s also my very best friend and the FIRST person I want to phone when something good OR bad happens!

  7. Chelsea October 19, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    This is really sweet! I love that she wrote you a children’s book!

  8. mandy October 19, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    I know your mom one of your best friends just like mine! We have our rituals and special things we do (like the QVC Beauty Bash!) as well. I must meet your mom one day (and go visit her blog). She sounds like an amazing woman.

  9. Becky October 19, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    What a wonderful post! This brought such a smile to my face!

  10. AuburnKat October 19, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    This made me miss my mom…

  11. Lisa D October 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    What a darling post about your mom, Darling. I adore her, too. her blog is fantastic. And a mom that reads Vogue? Impressive. :)

    The most influential woman is definitely my mom. A lot of what you said about my mom reminds me of mine. There are so many things I love about my mom, I wouldn’t even know where to start. Similar to what you said about yours – she knows when to call me out on things or re-direct me, but she is always there when I crash and burn. I get to see her on Friday and I am so excited. After my bummer weekend I just really need to see her and get a hug.

  12. oh October 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    oh Beeps, I’m smilin’ and cryin at the same time. And all your blog friends are so sweet and spontaneous and “there.”

    big hugs to you and all your BFs (blog friends).

  13. Jessica October 19, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Aww your mom sounds great. Can she be my blog mama?

  14. Little Fish October 19, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    My mom is equally as amazing and I know how lucky I am to have hit the awesome mom lottery! She loves fashion too and taught me everything I know about dressing well. At her surprise 60th birthday party I gave a toast and said that among my friends I’m the one that everyone always says gives the best advice, but what they don’t realize is that I’m just repeating all of the great advice my mom’s given me over the years.

  15. Little Miss Obsessive October 19, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    This is the cutest post ever! That’s awesome you have such a great Mom and what sounds like an amazing relationship with her.. you are very lucky. :)

  16. Megan/SomewhatVoluble October 20, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Your mom sounds like such a wonderful woman!

  17. ria October 21, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    i’ve been holding this post in my reader because i knew i wanted to comment on it, i just didn’t know how to word it. i’m still not sure it will come out right! but i adore this post. i would like to think if my mom was still alive we’d have a relationship like you have with your mom. you are so lucky to have such an awesome mom and she raised you to be a wonderful person. :)

  18. andhari October 21, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    WOW. I wish my mom read vogue lol. Seriously, a mom who has delicious food routines with you and make you awesome food , at the same time into movies and give good fashion advices? WINNER :)

  19. Magdelyn October 22, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    I think it’s so cool your mom has a blog! I would have to say my mom is also the most influential person in my life. Your mom & my mom sound like they’ve done a lot of the same things for us & that’s awesome :-)

  20. Erin October 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    This is such a lovely post! I love that your mom has a blog! :)

  21. Rebekah October 23, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    AND she’s doing NaNo! Yay for Nora’s Mom!

  22. Mel October 24, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I’m jealous! :) Wish the relationship I had with my mom was just as cool!

Leave a Reply

