Confetti

20 Oct

Considering this winter is fast & furiously upon us, I’ve gotten a tad cozier with my Netflix movies lately. (Which is a good thing since I have over 130 movies on my queue right now!)

Last week I received Confetti, a BBC mockumentary about weddings and wedding planning.  It’s very clever and evidently it was mostly improvised which I suspect is true of most mockumentaries. You’ll laugh. You’ll cry. You may or may not wonder what your life would be like if you had a musical wedding complete with dancers and singing vows. If you’re looking for 95 minutes of something different, give this one a try.

What’s your favorite mockumentary? Any movies (or TV shows)  I must add to my Netflix queue?

12 Responses to “Confetti”

  1. Kyla Roma October 20, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    My favourite mockumentary isn’t totally a mockumentary, it’s a documentary that could have been a Mocku. if it wasn’t so composed and respectful.

    It’s called Grey Gardens and was recently remade as a movie, but it’s about two of Jackie O’s cousins, a mother and daughter, who have become famous shut ins and let a documentary crew into their home for a short time. And it’s totally wild. Definitely worth a look.

  2. mandy October 20, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    I tend to hole up and watch DVDs of movies or television series a lot more in the winter too. I’ve never heard of Confetti, but the one Kyla suggested Grey Gardens — I’ve heard really good things about that!

  3. Matt October 20, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Im not even sure what a mockumentary is?

    What is it?

  4. Habbala October 20, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    This looks so funny! Totally added it to my netflix queue.

  5. SoMi's Nilsa October 20, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Why is it you show funnies when I can’t watch them? Waaaahhhhh!

  6. katelin October 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    nora seriously, every day you post something that makes me think we were separated at birth, haha. i own this movie! and it seriously kills me, makes me laugh every time i watch it. love it!

  7. Lisa D October 20, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Oo – I think I need to add this to my queue.

    Have you seen “Before Sunrise” and “Before Sunset” – love both of those movies. There is this monologue at the end of Before Sunset and it was like the words could have come out of my own freaking mouth.

  8. Jessica October 20, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Best mockumentary ever…Best in Show. Christopher Guest is genius and that movie makes me laugh EVERY TIME. I might have to add this to my queue too!

  9. Kathleen October 21, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Best In Show is one of my FAVORITE movies. If you love dogs it’s especially good!

  10. Little Fish October 21, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    You MUST add an English show called The Inbetweeners to your must watch list. I’m warning you though, your sides may hurt from lauging so hard! There have been two seasons so far and it just keeps getting funnier and funnier. http://www.e4.com/inbetweeners/

  11. Emily Jane October 22, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    Confetti!! I LOVE this movie!! :)

    And yes, agreed with Little Fish – the Inbetweeners is amazing and there’s a season 3 on the way!

  12. E.P. October 30, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Oh! I really should check that movie out. You know, as bridal research, even if it is a mockumentary. ;)

    I love, love Best in Show. And This is Spinal Tap.

Leave a Reply

