Running Love

21 Oct

Darling & Dad bought me some new running gear on Sunday, just because they can (and I suppose because they love me). Running gear, you say? How boring. WRONG.

As part of my 26 List, I’m running one 5k a month with the intent to work up towards longer distance runs like 10ks and half-marathons. I must have mentioned this to the best parents in the world because on Sunday night, during my favorite dinner ever (Beef en Croute, potatoes, broccoli and some amazing bread), they surprised me with these:

Nike Dri Fit socks with arch support. Seriously, I know, I’m blogging about socks but thanks to these socks I had one of the best runs of my life on Monday night. No foot pain. No joint soreness. I ran the whole way without stopping which is probably the first time in a week I’ve been able to do that (I recently added a series of hills to my runs). I also kind of love that they tell me on the sock which one is for my left foot and which one is for my right foot.

And if that wasn’t enough, they got me one of these, too:

A Dri Fit shirt, only mine is in white. It’s amazing what a difference the lightweight material makes and how I’m really not sweaty after running in it. I kind of want to wear it everywhere because it’s just so light weight and awesome.

So, I’m in love and going for runs any excuse I get. Of course, any suggestions for other running must-haves, let me know as I”ll be sure to add them to my Christmas list! If you’re not big into running, what’s one of the best presents your parents gave you for no reason at all?

(Disclaimer: Nike in no way approached me with these products nor did they approach me to write about these products. I’m writing about these products by my own free will and am in no way being compensated by Nike or any other sporting good store or company.)

18 Responses to “Running Love”

  1. Kyla Roma October 21, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    Ooh, socks with arch support? That sounds all kinds of awesome! I would love to be more into running… in theory… lol

    It jars my back so much that I just have given it up, but I’m going to be trying to use my EA Active as a way to get my cardio in a less jarring way.

  2. kilax October 21, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE running gear! The socks make such a difference, especially since they soak up the sweat better.

    If the long run, you’ll want a GPS watch, like the Garmin 405. It tracks how far you’ve gone, how fast you’re going, how long, your calories, etc. It’s fancy. It’s expensive. I love it. When you run farther, you might want a hydration belt as well. And make sure you get a ROAD ID, in case you get hurt and someone needs to identify you :)

  3. SoMi's Nilsa October 21, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    A good pair of running shoes, which should be replaced every few months (I’m not kidding – the insides to running shoes fall apart after 3-4 months and that wreaks havoc on your feet, knees and hips!).

    Thorlo socks have extra cushioning. I’ve always sworn by them. But, now you’re making me think I should be checking out these Nike socks.

    You’ll also want to sign up for MapMyRun.com (it’s free), so you can map local outside running loops and know how far you’re going!

    Oh, and of course, a few spring weekends when you can come to Chicago to run with me along the lakefront! =)

  4. SoMi's Nilsa October 21, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    By the way, some more advanced runners will tell you to buy all wicking clothes. No cotton. Get that GPS watch. Buy the Nike shoes that sync with your MP3. Run with headphones. Run without them. Drink Gatorade every few miles.

    The advice is endless. And at the end of the day, just remember to use what works best for you. I’ve run many marathons and half marathons and races of other distances … I still wear cotton shirts. I still run to music. And I still can’t stomach Gatorade while I’m running. And you know what? For most runners, it really doesn’t matter. You may shave a little time off your totals here and there, but the main thing is to be comfortable and keep having fun. Otherwise, you’ll stop running and what good is that?!

  5. Liz October 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    I have two pairs of fancy/expensive socks (non-cotton) and I LOVE THEM! They make a huge difference. I’ll have to try these Nike socks. Arch support? I’m so on board with that!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 21, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    I LOVE my nike dri-fit socks. They completely changed my life!!!

    I’m also very in love with my Garmin, now. I honestly don’t know how I ever ran without one. It’s amazing! The nike+ is a cheaper alternative to the Garmin that a lot of people have.

  7. Lisa D October 21, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Dryfit socks are the best. As are shirts like that. The whicking technology is phenomenal. Target actually has some C9 ones that I have tried that I’ve been happy with so far.

    I am in love with my Garmin – def my fave running accessory. But they are pricey little buggers.

    And I love my shoes – Mizuno Wave Riders. They are so light and fantastic.

    It’s so fun getting new gear! That was so sweet of your parents to surprise you like that!

  8. andhari October 21, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    Ohhh you are loved :) how thoughtful of them, and it seems like a really good thing to give you :)

  9. Margarita October 21, 2009 at 10:44 pm #

    Awesome!! I love prezzies!!

  10. Habbala October 22, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    Oh running socks are AMAZING! You can totally geek out about running gear. I remember when I got my new running shoes… they were like heaven and I wanted to show EVERYONE!! :)

  11. LiLu October 22, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    I always buy myself cute new running stuff when I need a little motivation. ;-)

  12. mandy October 22, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    I dont run but how thoughtful of your parents! It always picks me up with someone surprises me with something.

  13. Jessica October 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    Oh the socks are SUPER cute! What a great gift. And one 5k a month? You go girl.

  14. Erin October 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    What a nice surprise from your parents! I’m not a runner. I tried once, and I think I might have died a little.

  15. Renee October 24, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    The last time I ran a mile, I was 14 years old. But having great stuff like that almost makes me want to start again. Or at least blow a huge wad of money just to try these products out!

    PS Got your card today. I LOVE YOU!

  16. thankyoumam October 27, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I am a big runner, and I’ve decided over the years that shoes are the make-or-break factor on any good run. I agree that everyone definitely does give you all sorts of crazy advice and you should go with what works, but I swear these things are the one product I’ll always swear by:
    http://store.nike.com/index.jsp?country=US&lang_locale=en_US&l=shop,pwp,c-1+100701/hf-10001+4294965522/t-Women%27s_Nike_Free

    They’re Nike Free shoes, and they’re supposed to simulate barefoot running (which I know, sounds terrible). They are amazing – seriously, you will feel like a gazelle the first time you try them.

  17. E.P. October 30, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    How sweet of Darling and your dad! That’s wonderful! And this makes me want to buy some workout clothes so I can start running a bit more…

  18. brookem November 13, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    oh exciting about the running! you know i just did my first half marathon last month, and loved it. it’s pretty addicting, this whole running thing.

    my running blog (i forget if you have it already?) is http://www.runningwithoutheels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

