Weekend Adventures

26 Oct

This weekend was…

… driving 102 miles to see my brother and partake in the Homecoming festivities.

… walking all over campus and my college town realizing that it looks nothing like when I went there yet somehow still the same

… realizing that I’m NOT young anymore. In bed by midnight on a Friday after two beers? Yes please, and thank you.

… laughing at the wave of bad cologne that hit me when I walked into one of my favorite college bars.

… laughing even harder when there were a few guys I know who are still there. In the same bar. At the same table. Looking exactly the same.

… a reunion with one of my nearest and dearest BFFs, her husband and her parents.

… eating fried food with reckless abandon and being thankful that we walked a total of at least 3 miles in less than 24 hours.

… cheap beer and food, one of the many benefits of being in a college town.

… feeling giddy when I was carded over and over and over again.

… reflecting on my life and resolving to figure out a few things that have been nagging at me.

… taking the first step towards figuring out the issues and instantly feeling better.

… watching Saturday Night Live Halloween specials with my parents.

… waking up at 6:30 am on a Sunday to pretend to be a ranch hand.

… having doubts about being a ranch hand after a 55 minute drive out into the country.

… mucking stalls for four hours. Four hours.

… conquering my fear of horses as I was alone in a stall with a giant horse for 30 minutes while I cleaned up his poop. I lived to tell about it.

… laughing with Darling as we were the only ones who followed the rule to wear our volunteer shirts.

… laughing with Darling four hours after we were done mucking stalls because we were both so tired and sore.

… deciding that we will go back for more ranch hand-ing in the hopes that we can do something other than muck stalls for four hours.

…  spending a tad too much money at Michael’s on Christmas Card supplies, a few little gifties and prints for the bathroom rennovation I’m working on.

… slurping delicious taco soup with warm bread for dinner.

… falling asleep on the couch at 8pm due to sheer exhaustion.

… memories, laughter until my sides hurt, new experiences and adventures, hope and love.

21 Responses to “Weekend Adventures”

  1. Kyla Roma October 26, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    Ha! Aw, you’re afraid of horses? Just don’t stand directly behind them and you’re golden- I would totally show you my moves if I’d been there!

    The upside to all of this early morning activity really is that you’ll be so busy you won’t have extra energy to get caught up in your thoughts with. And being around animals is good medicine =)

  2. mandy October 26, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    I’m so glad that you had a fun time at the Homecoming festivities with your brother around your old stomping grounds. For a long time I was scared to go back, then I did and it was sort of comforting, same but different.

    I cannot even imagine how sore and tired you are after mucking stalls for four hours. I agree with Kyla though, being around animals is incredibly good medicine.

  3. Matt October 26, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    waking up at 6:30 on a Sunday is illegal, isnt it?

  4. tabithablogs October 26, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    I absolutely love your listy posts, especially ones like this, where you list things about your day or weekend. It makes me stop and think about my own day or weekend and remember things I can be grateful for, etc. Plus, I kinda feel like we ALMOST get to “hang out” when I read this stuff, especially if anything you did was similar to anything I did that weekend. I didn’t have taco soup, but I had tomato soup! :-P

  5. SoMi's Nilsa October 26, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    Oh yay, my question has been (partially) answered. I got carded over the weekend, too. Now, though, when I’m carded, I always feel for the bouncer, who must be thinking, “She’s THAT old???” hahaha. Oh and cheap college food is the best!

  6. ria October 26, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    oh my mucking stalls! i would love to be a ranch hand. i think horses are so beautiful, i always wanted one, i asked chuck if he would build me a barn when we have a house with lots of land :)

  7. Habbala October 26, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    I love your weekend recaps. Isn’t it so sad when we realize we’re old!!! At camp over the weekend, I was totally the one who went back to bed at midnight while everyone else stayed out to sing songs by the campfire.

    We need a bloggy get together. I feel like I know you so well from posts and comments…. we need to solidify this friendship IRL. :)

  8. Margarita October 26, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    It sounds like such a great weekend, so much fun… well, except for the mucking part. I’m not really sure what that is, but I’m sure it involves dirt, and poo, and cleaning. Things I’m allergic to, so that’s a definite no no for me.

    Hope you had fun – and I love Micheal’s too – I’ve yet to find one in Vancouver yet! I’ll have to search today for one :)

  9. nicoleantoinette October 26, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    I’ve been doing the realizing I’m not so young anymore thing lately too. Saturday night I made the mistake of staying out until like 4am. And girl, I FELT it the next day.

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    Wow, four hours of mucking stalls. That doesn’t sound too fun!! Haha, I can imagine it was a crazy-good arm workout though!!

    Yay for going back to your old college town. I had so many great memories my first two years of college, I want to go back and visit my friends there! I guess I technically have TWO college towns now, though!

  11. katelin October 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    yay for college town weekends! and i totally feel ya, i pass out early now, it’s just not the same.

    and congrats on surviving your time with the horses :)

  12. andhari October 26, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    I go to school at a college town around 15 minutes away lol I know what you mean by everything is sooooo cheap.

  13. AuburnKat October 26, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    I know one thing for sure, I definitely can’t hang like I used to back in college!!!

  14. Lisa D October 26, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    Aww – sounds like a great weekend. It’s so fun to go back to your college town. And it’s great to be home again after a weekend in your college town – at least that is how I feel! And yah, I am w/ you on not being as sprite as I used to be. On Friday night I was the one who had to finally say – we need to go home. It was 11 pm and I said, ‘mom, I am expiring. We need to go home and get me to bed’. Nothing like not being able to outlast my 60 yr old parents.

    Good for you for volunteering! I bet you are so sore today!

  15. Maggie October 26, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    ahh I’m terrified of horses too!

    Other than that, it sounds like you had a great weekend. I definitely feel you on not being able to hang anymore, sad isn’t it?

  16. Jessica October 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Sounds like a fun weekend!! Um and yes I prefer bed by midnight after 2-3 beers. Thank you!

  17. sleepyjane October 27, 2009 at 2:23 am #

    Hah! I am terrified of horses! :) I was never around them much so when I am now, I never know what to do. I deal well with smaller animals.

    Sounds like a fantastic weekend.

  18. fuchsiag October 27, 2009 at 9:38 am #

    “In bed by midnight on a Friday after two beers? Yes please, and thank you.” Love it! I did the exact same thing last Friday; two glasses of wine and we were conked by 10:30!

  19. E.P. October 30, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Aww, it sounds like an amazing weekend! I’m glad you got to go back to your college town, even if things have changed. It’s the same way for me, and I also go to bed early every night. C’est la vie.

    And yay for conquering that fear!

  20. Rebekah October 30, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    I’ve never had the urge to go back to either of my homecomings, college or high school. I kind of wish I did, because the people who WANT to be there always seem to have so much fun.

    And taco soup, apparently, which makes me want some.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Horse Phobia « Walking through the Rain - October 27, 2009

    […] through the Rain A Happy Girl's Blog « Weekend Adventures The Horse Phobia October 27, 2009 I’m not afraid of a lot of things. As a matter of […]

Leave a Reply

