Ten on Thursday

29 Oct

It’s raining. It’s pouring. I wish I was snoring. This means I’m going to participate in Ten on Thursday which I found courtesy of the lovely Lisa D and evidently it was started by Chelsea.

rr10tuesday

1. What are you going to be for Halloween?

A girl from the TV Show Laugh-in, a la Goldie Hawn. Sort of and only because I already have the costume with pink go-go boots hanging in my closet.

2. Have you ever been on television?
I was in high school when I protested for Free Speech. I was in the Journalism program at my high school and one of our papers was published with some fairly controversial topics on the cover (forgive me but I can’t remember what it was). The principal pulled the paper immediately and so we all rallied outside the school with signs, posters and picketed our high school for infringing on our right to free speech. We were basically told that when we are on school grounds we didn’t have the right to free speech and that just added fuel to the fire. TV crews came out and so I was on the news as part of the protesting group.

3. Do you have a toilet paper preference?
I don’t like the scratchy kind if that’s what you mean. But other than that, no, I don’t really care if it’s up, down or sideways so long as it’s there when I need it.

4. When you’re pregnant, will you find out the sex of the baby? (Or if you’ve already had babies, did you find out the sex?) Why or why not?
Hmmmm. I am inclined to say yes because I’m an over-planner so how could I have a baby and not know the sex of the baby? That gives me hives just thinking about it.

5. What are three items that every kitchen must have?

The fixings to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch, an Ove Glove and ample room to spread out and create.

6. Do you enjoy Christmas shopping?
Yes! It’s one of my favorite things to do. I’m already starting to plot and plan what I’m going to get for everyone. I love wrapping presents, I love giving presents and I love the joy that surrounds my house during the holidays.

7. What is your go-to recipe? (The thing you cook more than anything else because it’s easy and mindless.) Please share the recipe.
It’s what Irish calls spicy chicken & big rice. Basically I season a few chicken breasts with some spicy spices and bake until done. In the meantime, I make big rice (aka risotto) which is simply risotto, 3 cups of chicken/vegetable broth, parmesan cheese and parsley to taste. I always serve with a side of broccoli. It’s pretty delicious.

8. Do you sleep on your back, belly, or side?
I fall asleep on my side but wind up on my belly by the morning. I am a frantic sleeper in that I move A LOT, thrash and kick. I’m told it has something to do with when I was in the womb and managed to entangle myself with the darn umbilical cord around my neck & knee resulting in me nearly killing myself. Fun, huh?

9. How do you feel about Tom Cruise?
Ick. I used to have a crush on him when I was in middle school. Top Gun was the soundtrack to our sleepovers. And then it was Jerry Maguire. And Cocktail. But now? He kind of freaks me out.

10. What books are in your “books to read” stack?
How much time do you have? (Sorry I don’t have complete titles/authors. I’m not in front of my bookshelves.)
Sookie Stackhouse Book # 6
Two Jane Green Books (Dune Road & Second Chances)
Vampirates (go ahead, laugh)
Kingdom Keepers
Ellen Burstyn’s Memoirs
An Anita Shreve Book
My Japanese Challenge book, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles
A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving
Persuasion, Jane Austen
The Bridges of Madison County
Catching Fire
…. and many, many more.

Your turn! Answer in the comments or post this on your own to all, some or none if you like.

12 Responses to “Ten on Thursday”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa October 29, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    As much as I’m a planner, too, I absolutely would not want to know the sex of my child. But, I think that’s because I will decorate a child’s room to be gender neutral – I can’t see myself needing to know for the early decisions!

  2. walkingonsunshine18 October 29, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    I think Tom Cruise lost all credibility when he stood on that yellow coach.

  3. fuchsiag October 29, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    PLEASE post Halloween photos! :)

  4. Lisa D October 29, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    Thanks for playing along.

    Ok, here’s another thing we have in common. My umbilical cord was also wrapped around my neck! Random, huh?

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    FUN!

    Make sure you post pictures from Halloween, please :D

  6. Caz October 29, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Interesting! You have to read the Bridges of Madison County ASAP it’s such a wonderful book and you’ll totally bawl. (Or at least I did…)

  7. mandy October 29, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    If I were pregnant I would probably find out what I was having just because I couldnt take the 9 months of not knowing. I agree everyone should have the ingredients to make a batch of chocolate chip cookies on hand.

  8. E.P. October 29, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Oh, I love this, and I love you. And miss you. Can we hang out soon, please?

    I want to see photographs of your Halloween outfit. I need to think about getting one together for myself, even though I’m going to be working. C’est la vie…

    And I agree on having space in the kitchen to create! That’s one of the things I am SO excited to have in the near-ish future.

  9. Margarita October 30, 2009 at 2:03 am #

    I honestly think it’s crazy when woman DON’T find out the sex of the baby. You’re doomed to buying yellow and green and beige for the baby. No pretty pinks or baby blues. Come on now!

  10. sleepyjane October 30, 2009 at 3:34 am #

    Tom Cruise freaks me out too. :]

    And I can’t wait to see pictures of you in costume!

  11. ria October 30, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    i would definitely have to know the sex of the baby!

  12. Kyla Roma October 30, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    i love your books to read stack =)

Leave a Reply

