Candy Gram

30 Oct

(First of all, I’ve been scouring the darn interwebs for an embeddable version of this video and I just can’t find it, so you’ll have to click through. Really. You should.)

I think I mentioned that last weekend I watched the Saturday Night Live Halloween Special which was maybe 90 minutes of absolute hilarity considering most of the skits were pre-1998 meaning they were really flippin’ funny.

One of my favorites? The LandShark. You can view it here. (Sorry, couldn’t find an embeddable one!) I don’t know why but it cracks me up every time.

************************

I have no idea why I remember this but one year my best friend and I decided to audition for the school talent show by doing a dance/lip synching routine to The Time Warp from The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Actually, I have no idea why we thought that was a good idea. (Confession: I’ve never seen the entire film, either.)

Could you picture me doing any of this?

I don’t think we actually made it to the audition once our parents realized what we had chosen to do. Ah, to be young and innocent!

**************

So it’s Halloween tomorrow which means I have to be on my guard because, um, well I’m terrified of people in masks. It’s amazing to me how a mask can transform someone you know and love into a scary, freaky specimen of a person that you suddenly don’t recognize. The maintenance man at our building scares me every year (yes, every year, even though I know it’s him) by creeping up to my desk in one of his freaky masks. Uncool.

I think it all started when I was in high school, driving home from a Halloween party and a masked/face painted dude showed up out of NOWHERE and jumped onto my car and just stared at me. My friend and I screamed and just stared at the guy. He disappeared just as quickly as he showed up. My nerves were rattled for a few hours!

Here’s hoping that the kids who come to the house don’t scare me!

Do you have a Halloween fear/phobia or conversely are you the type of person who enjoys scaring the crap out of the rest of us?

15 Responses to “Candy Gram”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa October 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    I am completely indifferent to Halloween and all its ghosts and goblins. That’s probably why I don’t care to dress up at this time of year. Meh.

    You, my dear, should have the most excellent of weekends. Heart you!

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 30, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    EEEK! That would be SOOOOO freaky. Especially when you’re driving.

    Ya, I’m not a HUGE fan of Halloween, but I’m going to *try* to make the most of it! Haha. I wouldn’t say I’m excited though.

  3. Little Fish October 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    I looooove halloween. I’m going as Rachel Zoe this year!

  4. Liz October 30, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    GAH! Who does that?! Jumping in cars all scary and stuff. EEK! I would be scarred for life.

  5. Tabitha October 30, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    Okay, number one: LOVE that Land Shark video. I cracked up big time just now, and I totally needed that today.

    Number two: I would definitely be terrified of masks if I’d been in the car when that guy jumped onto it. That is super scary.

    Number three: I’m not typically too scared of masks/creepy costumes, etc, but there are TWO instances I can distinctly remember when I was legitimately freaked. I think I just might have to blog about them RIGHT NOW! :)

  6. Tabitha October 30, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    PS – Either it’s been a LONG time since I’ve commented on your blog, or I’ve been totally oblivious to the fact that my old BLOGGER url is still autosaved in your comment form. (Or maybe I usually comment from work, and today I’m on my laptop…)

  7. Margarita October 30, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    The ONLY thing that gets me on Halloween is this:

    You know when you’re going trick or treating, and you see this witch, or old man on a bench, and you’re not sure if they’re real or not? Sometimes they’re stuffed with leaves, sometimes human?

    So everytime I refuse to go up there, and the person at the door assures me it’s NOT a person, so I go up with Princess, trick or treat, turn around, and this thing either jumps me or grabs me or shrieks or something.

    F*ckin people.

    Hate that.

  8. katelin October 30, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    one of my friends is insanely afraid of people in masks too, halloween is not her friend. hope you don’t get scared too much!

  9. Erin October 30, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    I love Halloween. I generally don’t care for people in masks, but I love cute little kids in costumes!

  10. kilax October 30, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Masks scare me too! Someone at our office dressed up in a bloody skull mask this week and I had no idea who it was. I think that is what freaked me out.

  11. Jamie October 30, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    I really want to watch Rocky Horror now!

  12. Jessica October 31, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    I also get uncomfortable around people in masks. I don’t like that I can’t see their face, makes me nervous.

  13. Lisa D October 31, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    I also hate masks. They freak the hell out of me. I saw someone with one on this morning at my 1/2 and thought – how the hell are you going to BREATH in that dang thing?

    I also think clowns are disturbing. I just cringed when I typed that actually. Yuck.

    I’m totally the grinch of Halloween. I enjoy the little kids dressing up, but besides that i could do w/out the whole holiday!

  14. E.P. November 1, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    OK, first off? I think it’s hilarious that y’all wanted to dance to that. I love Rocky Horror, but I didn’t seen ANY part of it until I was in college. Heh.

    And I don’t like masks, either. Hopefully, you didn’t have to deal with any yesterday and had a fantastic time!

  15. Mel November 4, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    I saw all of Rocky Horror movie last year. GAH. I like “Time Warp” but hate the rest of the movie. It was so weird and I didn’t get it. :p

Leave a Reply

