1. October 2009 Recap

1 Nov

Current Book(s):
Work in Progress: The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles, Haruki Murakami; 
Finished: Dead as a Doornail, Charlain Harris
(I’m in a bit of a reading slump still! I blame work.)

Current Music:
Bon Jovi
Journey
Pretty much anything from the 80s

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Homemade chocolate chip & oatmeal cookies

Current Colors:
Purple

Current Obsessions:
Rediscovering my Domestic Diva
Raking leaves; odd, I know but the green of the grass is much prettier than the dead, brown leaves all over the lawn

Current Drink:
Water
Peppermint Tea

Current Songs:
I honestly can’t think of a single song right now that’s my favorie or that I’m listening to over and over again. Unusual for me!

Current Movie:
The Last Kiss
Casablanca

Current TV Show:
Color Splash, HGTV
Dawson’s Creek (I’m rewatching them because, well, I feel like it)

Current Wish-List:
Less pain and suffering amongst my friends; there’s been too much of it lately

Current Needs:

Clarity

Current Triumph(s):
Well it hasn’t happened yet but I’m taking a whole week off of work this month and will be disconnecting my work email from Blackberry. First time in three years I’ve done NO work on a vacation so if I can pull it off, it will be huge for me.

Current Bane(s) of my Existence:
I signed up for NaBloPoMo but no idea if I’ll make it
House Hunters on HGTV because the demographic of people on that show bothers me. First homes that cost $350,000? Seriously? And don’t get me started on House Hunters International; I wish I could have a second home in Italy!

Current Goal(s):

Three more pounds to go to reach my weight loss goal
Pull off NaBloPoMo this month so I can improve my writing

Current Indulgence:

Target shopping trips
Afternoon naps on the weekends

Current Blessing:
Each day is a blessing. I know, corny, but lately, it’s so very true.  

Current Slang or Saying:
I’ve been dropping the F-Bomb a lot as of late. Terrible, I know.

Current (Fav) Outfit:
Comfort is what I’m going for lately, at work, at home, at the gym

Current Excitement:
Trip to Florida this month for my cousin’s wedding
Thanksgiving & lots of family time

Current Mood:
Contemplative

What was the highlight of your October?

10 Responses to “1. October 2009 Recap”

  1. andhari November 1, 2009 at 11:01 pm #

    I love napping when I have free afternoon too :) so relaxing and a great mood booster, and don’t get me started on those cookies.

    ps. Dawson’s Creek made me smile. Katie Holmes was such a sweet girl :) lol emphasize on was :p

  2. Margarita November 2, 2009 at 1:31 am #

    Unfortunately, stupid rich House Hunter people are fairly realistic. My friends all bought their first homes from $280k to $400k.

    Scary.

    I’m trying to do NaBloPoMo as well!! WTG on the weightloss!!

  3. sleepyjane November 2, 2009 at 4:57 am #

    My current ‘slang’ word is BAMF. As in, he’s a bamf. (bad ass mo-fo) lol

  4. Lisa D November 2, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Yea on being so close to your weight goal!!

    The highlight of October was def my 1/2 marathon on Saturday.

  5. mandy November 2, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    I am currently loving the 80’s music as well. Chocolate chip oatmeal cookies sound delicious right now. Much better than my blueberry yogurt. I hope you are able to disconnect for some much needed “Nora time” on your vacation and are able to find some clarity and peace. <3 you!

  6. Kyla Roma November 2, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Good work on a disconnected vacation!! I’m excited for you =) Those house hunters drive me up the wall too. In what world to they live in?!

  7. Habbala November 2, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    Let’s see, the highlight of my October was visiting my bestie to pick out wedding dresses. That and it finally getting cold and rainy. I love it.

  8. Megan/SomewhatVoluble November 2, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Okay, I WISH I could afford a $350,000 home as a first house. That show is crazy! When I hear what their budgets are, I always feel a little down for not saving every last penny I have to put toward a down payment.

  9. Erin November 2, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    I love your recaps! I am currently living on peppermint tea. So yummy!

    I bet money that those people on House Hunters can’t actually afford those mortgages. We were preapproved for $450,000 when we bought our house. It was a total joke!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kyla Roma » Blog Archive » November Type A-ery - November 6, 2009

    […] few of my favourite bloggers (Nora, Margarita, and Kapachino notably) either set goals each new month or recap the past month. I […]

Leave a Reply

