2. Overheard: Ponytails, Braids & Brave

2 Nov

On any given day at my office, it’s not ucnommon for us to have a ridiculous amount of clients in the office. This week: 50 every day which pretty much means I’m running around like a chicken with her head cut off. (Side note: Where did that phrase come from? So terrible sounding but I suppose it conveys the image of me perfectly at the moment.)

A few clients walked past my desk on their way back from lunch, all male, likely in their late 30s/early 40s.

Male 1: I grew up with four sisters. I now have three daughters. I’m pretty good with ponytails.
Male 2: Really? I have one little girl and I’m still struggling with the ponytail.
Male 3: It’s just something you have to get in there and do. Though I’m not very good at it.
Male 1: After the ponytail comes the braid. My girls say I do a pretty good braid.
Male 2: Dude, that’s brave.
Male 3: That’s really brave. I’m afraid of the braid.  

How adorable is that conversation?

I can honestly say I’m not sure how often my dad attempted to help me with ponytails or braids as a kid, or perhaps more appropriately how often I let him? (I was quite the momma’s-girl.)

Have you heard anything unusual (cute, funny, weird, scary, odd) at the office lately?

23 Responses to “2. Overheard: Ponytails, Braids & Brave”

  1. ria November 2, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    aw, yeah my dad had 3 sisters and 2 brothers. He used to put my hair in pig tails, braids & side ponies. he was better at it then my mom :) though he made them really tight!

  2. Kyla Roma November 2, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    Aw! My Dad used to braid my hair when we were little- when my parents split up it was a huge deal when he learned how to braid our hair. That totally made me tear up over here!

  3. mandy November 2, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    That is totally adorable! Like yourself, I was a total mama’s girl.

  4. Lindsey November 2, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    that’s adorable. nothing adorable happens in my office, so i’m gonna tell you this instead.

    when i was in kindergarten, my dad got me ready and took me to school everyday. He’d attempt to do my hair, and my teacher would fix it when he dropped me off :)

  5. Carrie November 2, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    That is SO cute! Growing up, my Mom wouldn’t even do my hair. Poor me, so deprived :)

  6. SoMi's Nilsa November 2, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    I haven’t heard much. But, I did see a photo of my boss dressed up for Halloween. That was funny.

  7. Becky November 2, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    How cute! Have you ever been to the “Overheard in the Office” blog? It’s hilarious! People email in their submissions and it’s updated pretty much hourly.

  8. Little Fish November 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    Cutest conversation ever!!

  9. tabithablogs November 2, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    That is REALLY cute. I can’t think of anything too unusual I’ve heard in my office lately…but my ears will definitely be perked up now! Blog fodder!! :)

  10. katelin November 2, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    haha that’s adorable. i don’t think my dad ever did my hair except get it cut too short once. then he was never allowed near my hair again, ha.

  11. kilax November 2, 2009 at 7:37 pm #

    That is just adorable! Today I heard a man in the elevator trash talking the carpet my team helped procure. (long story) It was funny. He said it reminded him of his bathrobe from the 70s!

  12. Maggie November 2, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    that is too cute! my dad stayed faaar away from my hair, thank god!

    I applaud dads who aren’t afraid to learn how to do a pony or a braid though. Those are some good fathers in my opinion!

  13. Ashley November 2, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    That’s hilarious. I remember one time in Elementary School when my friend’s mom was out of town and her dad had to do her hair. She had this strange braid coming out of the side of her head, except most of her hair never made it into the braid.

    I work in an academic library, so I hear undergrads saying all kind of things, but most of them aren’t too charming.

  14. Lisa D November 2, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Ahh, that is so cute!

    This morning one of my co-workers & his wife dropped their twins off at daycare for the first day. He came in and I asked how it went – he said it was way tougher than he thought it would be and his wife cried and I joked and said – ‘did you cry’ (but sensitively, of course) and he kind of smiled and said, ‘um, a little’. And then he was like – we need to change the subject.

    I thought it was so sweet. This guy is just one of those softies.

  15. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 2, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Omg, that is the SWEETEST thing ever! I love it. My dad used to braid my hair all the time when I was little :-)

  16. Jessica November 2, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    That is seriously adorable, and I don’t doubt that man has a lot of experience with ponytails given all the women around him!!

  17. Doniree November 2, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    To be honest, when it started “I’m pretty good with a ponytail,” that is SO NOT WHERE I THOUGHT THIS POST WAS GOING.

    I’m glad your clients are as adorable as I am inappropriate.

  18. Caz November 3, 2009 at 1:02 am #

    Seriously, that’s the cutest thing I’ve heard in a long time. A-DORABLE.

    As for my office? Well I only have 3 male co-workers so I hear A LOT of inappropriate things. Mostly from our ED. The other two co-workers and I joke around on a regular basis though. It’s pretty relaxed.

  19. sleepyjane November 3, 2009 at 3:14 am #

    I love it!

    My dad brushed my hair often. Like, if my mom was running late in the mornings. And he never pulled like my mom did. She’d just yank the brush through my hair.

  20. Matt November 3, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    HAHA… Its a good thing he didnt start talking about french braids and layers… I would have questioned him at that point.

  21. Sketches of a man November 3, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    Miss,
    Being a man, may I say with some trepidation that I find your weblog enjoyable even if the reasoning escapes me.

  22. walkingonsunshine18 November 3, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    Awww… that’s the cutest conversation ever… :)

  23. Little Miss Obsessive November 5, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    I love this! So cute :)

Leave a Reply

