3. Always as a Bridesmaid…

3 Nov

This weekend I’m heading to Florida for a few days for my cousin’s wedding. True, I haven’t actually talked to this cousin face-to-face or on the phone, well, in 15 years or so, but his mom is a loyal reader of this blog (Hi Aunt Sandy!) and one of my favorite people so off Darling and I go for a few days of family, fun and sun. A mini family reunion of sorts.

It’s also a rarity that I’m not somehow involved in this wedding in a way other than attending since I’m pretty much a perma-bridesmaid. Or if not a bridesmaid I tend to be the executive bride’s helper as was the case with the last few weddings Irish & I attended.

I thought that just for fun I’d take you through the last few weddings I’ve been in.

My college roommate’s wedding, circa 2005 (worst tan line known to man…):

wineoLea

My childhood friend’s wedding, circa 2007, in St. Thomas (most beautiful setting ever):

IMG_2151

My (other) college roommate’s wedding, circa New Year’s Eve 2007 (complete with chipmunk cheeks):

IMG_0128

My best friend from high school’s wedding, April 2008 (I’m on the far left, in case you couldn’t tell):

IMG_0619

and most recently, my best college friend’s wedding in September 2008* (probably my favorite dress out of all of them and I have seven dresses total as we had two dresses for the one above!):

IMG_2988

(I was in my cousin’s wedding in 2000 but that was pre-digital camera and I can’t readily find a photo to post so you’ll have to do without.)

If you know of anyone who needs a professional bridesmaid feel free to pass my name along. It’s been a whole year since I’ve been in a wedding and I’m actually itching to be in one which is rather shocking!

23 Responses to “3. Always as a Bridesmaid…”

  1. andhari November 4, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    I’m sure you’re an awesome bridesmaid but hey, attending weddings where you don’t have to do anything too beside coming as a guest is fun as well :) meeting your relatives, dancing, eating good foods, etc definitely sounds good to me :)

    Ps. Love your dress in the last picture and in the new year wedding picture :)

  2. walkingonsunshine18 November 4, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    I love the last dress – so pretty. I’m working on being in my second wedding.. So costly. lol

  3. butterflycharlie November 4, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    I’ve never been a bridesmaid. Well, I was going to be one when I was about ten for my cousins wedding but his fiance walked out a few days before. I do have three weddings to attend next year though and one of which I have been given strict instructions to “not kiss anyone, not get drunk and not throw up.”

  4. Becky November 4, 2009 at 6:12 am #

    I agree, attending a wedding as a guest is much less hectic! Enjoy! Also, there’s a group called Brides Against Breast Cancer where people can donate their (gently used) wedding dresses and they’re sold around the country (in trunk shows) and the profits go to families where someone has breast cancer to help with expenses. I think you can donate bridesmaid dresses as well if you didn’t want to hang onto those!

  5. Lisa D November 4, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    Love all the pics of the dresses! I have been in 8 weddings so know what you mean when you say “always a bridesmaid”. It is a wonderful honor to be part of someone’s wedding but it is also so nice to just be a guest. So enjoy this weekend!

    And please bring some sun back with you and send it my way!

  6. Kyla Roma November 4, 2009 at 8:06 am #

    Have a great time, it sounds like the perfect interlude! I’m going to be a bridesmaid for the first time next year, and I’m really excited! If you have any tips, pass them on. Maybe you can do e-conferences and cash in a little?

    We’ll talk. ;)

  7. SoMi's Nilsa November 4, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    I had to wear a blue bridesmaid dress years ago. Sad thing is, it was the colors for our alma mater and she never heard the end of it. Looking back at those photos reminds me why … too much blue! You’re a beautiful bridesmaid – if I’d only known … =) Enjoy this weekend for a host of reasons, including the ability to relax and just show up. It’s actually kinda nice!

  8. ria November 4, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    oh florida sounds nice about now! i hope you have a wonderful time. i’ve only been in one wedding so far!

  9. mandy November 4, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    I just watched 27 Dresses (one of my curent favorite movies)the other day and this post definitely reminds me of that. You are a bridesmaid machine. Do you still have all the dresses? I really like the one in the last picture the best as well. Enjoy FL (I’m jealous, warmth!) and the experience of just enjoying the wedding as a guest. I hope you have a fabulous time! I suck (no really, I do) at being a bridesmaid or even having much to do with weddings.

  10. Liz November 4, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    You are such a gorgeous bridesmaid! Too bad I didn’t know you back when I got married. I would’ve totally made you a bridesmaid (or maid of honor!)

  11. bellerenee November 4, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    I should’ve called you a year ago. :-)
    I think EP might need an extra hand/dress!

  12. Habbala November 4, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    I am really excited to be a bridesmaid next year, and I mostly love that 3/5 pictures of you are with a drink in your hand :)

  13. doniree November 4, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    I have chipmunk cheeks too!

  14. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 4, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Haha aww I LOVE the last dress, too. Although, you do look really good in blue!

    I have been in only two weddings. One was when I was 9 and I was a “junior bridesmaid” in my aunts wedding, who actually just got divorced this past summer :S

    Then in August 2007 I was one of five bridesmaids in Eric’s sisters wedding! I was really honoured that she asked me to be a bridesmaid since even though Eric and I had been together for over two years by that point I wasn’t incredibly close with his sister. It was probably one of the funnest trips ever for that wedding, though!

    This was a fun post! Have fun in Florida :-) I’m jealous!

  15. Little Fish November 4, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    I can’t believe that you’re only in your mid-20’s and already have so many married friends. Most of my friends are just starting to pair off now. I’m jealous of the Indian wedding, that sari is awesome!

    Feel free to find me a husband and I will happily let you be a bridesmaid.

  16. katelin November 4, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    you’re on your way to a 27 dresses montage, haha. love them all though and love the saris you guy wore, so pretty!

  17. Mel November 4, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Hmmm, I should have called to rent you for my wedding! :D

    Hehe….You would have had a fabulous dress, at least!

  18. Jessica November 4, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    I love the collage of photos, seriously I had a 27 Dresses moment. Florida is a great place to visit right now too because it’s so cold. Jealous!!

  19. Little Miss Obsessive November 5, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Great pics :) You know me – I’ve never even been to a wedding! but I have one to go to in less than a year and I’ll be in my best friends in a year and a half! Yay

  20. Megan/SomewhatVoluble November 5, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Haha, reminds me of 27 dresses! :)

  21. tabithablogs November 7, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Gah! I’ve been suck a slacker commenter lately. But I wanted to say that you look GREAT as a bridesmaid, in every case! :-P

  22. E.P. November 10, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    This post reminds me just why I love weddings: being around friends and the people you love and care about. I’ve been a bridesmaid three times, and all my dresses? Meh. But being with the bride was what mattered, so it didn’t matter what I wore…

    Love you!

  23. carina blogarina November 12, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    It’s like the movie 27 dresses! Except your dresses are beautiful. I love the New Years Eve one. I wonder what motivates poeple to get maarried on New Years Eve, it’s already a celebration and then you don’t get to have an anniversary all to yourself.. I think all your dresses are great,because you can use them over and over again. When you’re invited to an office christmas dance or something like that, you are all set!

Leave a Reply

