4. New York, New York

4 Nov

I’m sure this is going to anger some of my readers but this girl? I love the Yankees.

That’s right. I said it.

I love the Yankees.

Why, you ask? It’s not just about Derek Jeter. It’s not just about Yankee Stadium. It’s because the Yankees were the very first baseball team I saw play baseball. I couldn’t have been more than three years old but I vivdly remember sitting on my dad’s knee, in the nosebleeds, watching the game and asking for a ballpark hot dog.

Once a Yankee fan, always a Yankee fan.

Go ahead, hate me for it, but I’m true to my team (and the StL Cardinals, too!).

12 Responses to “4. New York, New York”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa November 5, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    I was about to give you a good lecturing. But, then I remembered two things. First, you are loyal to a team you’ve watched since you were a babe. You can’t really knock that. Plus, you’re a Cardinals fan. And, well, I’ve got to keep those kinds of friends as close to my heart as possible. Despite some of your other short-comings. =)

  2. Kyla Roma November 5, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    My MIL is a Cleaveland fan, if you bring anything Yankee’s in the house she literally FREAKS out. It’s kind of hilarious =)

  3. jnyfritz November 5, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    YaY!!!! all is well here now!!!! way to go Yanks!!! i have got your back! and p.s-Derek Jeter is from my hometown, i played softball against his sister…

  4. mandy November 5, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    I don’t watch baseball and *gasp* didn’t watch a single second of the World Series.

  5. Matt November 5, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    YES!!! GO YANKEES!!!!!!!

  6. Akirah November 5, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Unless it involves Pittsburgh, it doesn’t really concern me, so all I have to say to you is congratulations. I’m not a hater — unless you’re talking smack on my city. :)

  7. Little Miss Obsessive November 5, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I’m a Mets fan but I still support the Yanks (unless they are playing the Mets of course) heh anyways, you need to get your butt to the East Coast next year and go to a Yankees game (and meet me, duh!)

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 5, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    Hehehe. I’m so not a baseball fan but this post was cute!

  9. nova November 5, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    There are way too many haters out there. I guess it’s easy to hate the best team. After all, they have won TWENTY SEVEN WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS – the most of any team in any sport. Greatness sparks jealousy and hatred.

    I’ll be at the ticker tape parade tomorrow! I’ll cheer twice as loudly for you!

  10. katelin November 5, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    i’m sorry nora, we can no longer be friends, haha.

    i kid, i kid, i guess i can get past your love for the yankees.

  11. CLo November 5, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    Weak. I bet you cannot name five Yankees, first and last name. If so, I bet you cannot name the three players they acquired last off season that are heavily credited by the media for getting them to the World Series.

    Also, once a Yankees fan, not always a Yankees fan. Case in point: me. There was time, yes, when I was ignorant to the game of baseball and rooted for the Yankees. That is no more. This team is all that’s wrong with the game. Players who used steroids and got caught. Engineering a stadium to increase home runs. Overpricing tickets to pay for cheating players and cheating stadium.

  12. amy November 6, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    i’m not a yankee fan, but i will say y’all are about as loyal as they come!

Leave a Reply

