7. Magic

7 Nov

Using today’s NaBloPoMo writing prompt (mention three things that you associate with a fond memory) my three things are:

1. Florida
2. Mickey Mouse
3. Magic Kingdom

A little known fact about me is that my family didn’t always live in the StL- as a matter of fact we moved to StL in the early 90s from just oustide Orlando, FL. While we only lived in Florida for two years it was plenty of time for us to have yearly family passes to all the Disney attraction parks.

Between all the family that came to visit us and the random evenings we’d drive to the theme parks for just a few hours, we came to know Disney inside and out. The Hanuted Mansion. Pirates of the Caribbean. The Tiki Birds. Tom Sawyer’s boat. Epcot. Coca-Cola from around the world. Roller coasters. Log flumes. The tourist groups that would come through, usually in January and February, spearheaded by a brave soul who carried their country’s flag high and proud. What days to avoid the parks for fear of attack by children and strollers. What days the fireworks were the best.

I’ve only been back to Disney a handful of times since we left and each time I’m there I feel like a little girl. Standing there holding my parents hands, waiting in lines with anticipation even if I’ve been on the ride countless times. Excitement. A buzz of natural energy. Falling asleep in the backseat after a long day to the pleasant hum of the car engine and my parents voices.

I know I was truly blessed to be able to go to Disney as often as we did and hopefully if I ever have children I’ll be able to take them to the very same theme parks I went to as a kid, sharing the same rides and experiences with them.

I leave you with a behind the scenes video of my family’s favorite ride, ever. I think one night we rode it five or six times in one night! (Johnny Depp makes a few appearances in this video since they have rennovated the ride since the release of the movie, in case you needed incentive to watch the video.)

12 Responses to “7. Magic”

  1. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 7, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    I’ve only ever been to Disneyland and we only went for ONE day out of our 6-day trip to L.A., not nearly enough time! I LOVED every minute of it, though and can’t wait to go back and also visit Disneyworld one day!

  2. Lisa D November 7, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    I was driving home tonight and it suddenly occurred to me why your posts have started with a number this month. I was like – duh, Nora is doing NaBloPoMo! Wow. Only took me 7 days to figure this out. I am bright.

    I have only been to Orlando once – saw Epcot but not Disney. I don’t know if I will ever go – I feel like it’s something I should have seen as a child and I kind of feel like I will be the kind of parent that will be like, ‘well, I didn’t get to do that so you won’t either.’ Or maybe not. We’ll see!

    DO you think it’s worth goign to Disney as an adult? Or have i missed out on my window of opportunity?

  3. Think Pink November 8, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    Disney World is on my list “must do before I die”;) Sure I’m not a child anymore, but I think I would enjoy it anyway:)

  4. Ev`Yan || apricot tea. November 8, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    Mmm, Johnny Depp. He just made my morning that much sweeter.

    Thank you sharing. :]

    & I always have fond memories of Disneyland. My parents made sure that my sister & I went often. I think by the time I was 13, we had been several times (which is a lot!). & we never grew tired of it. I went recently for Grad Night (where a bunch of high schools all over California make a trek to Disneyland) & I was really disappointed that it was no longer magical to me. I think Disneyland is more meaningful when you’re a child.

  5. kilax November 8, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    I’ve only been to Disney once but I just loved it! I think it’s so neat you got to go there so much the two years you were there. We are maybe going there in January… I really hope we get to go!

  6. fuchsiag November 8, 2009 at 3:33 pm #

    NEVER been to Disneyland… but that ride is on my List :)

  7. CLo November 8, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

    Although I enjoyed those visits, it sucks to know that Walt Disney was an anti-Semite. Makes it tough for me to want to go back.

  8. Habbala November 8, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    I am so totally with you. I haven’t been to Disney World, but I have been to Disneyland lots and lots and lots, and I always feel like I am a little kid. I double fist churros, run to see the parade, get really excited for rides I have been on a million times… Disney is magic.

  9. Jessica November 8, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    I’ve only been to Disney 1-2 times and it was fun but I can’t imagine being that close to it! I should consider going back and getting those kid-like memories back again.

  10. Margarita November 9, 2009 at 12:12 am #

    I’ve been to Disneyworld once, when I was 21 and before Princess was here. It was the one in Florida (world/land?) and it was a ton of fun! I’m definitely going back when Princess gets a teensy bit older.

    WTG on posting everyday!

  11. tabithablogs November 9, 2009 at 2:47 am #

    That video is so cool! Do you know if it was filmed at Disneyworld or Disneyland? Are the Pirates rides exactly the same at both? Someday I wanna go to D-World! :)

  12. mandy November 9, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    DisneyWorld is glorious and its been years since I’ve been there or in FL in general. I should change that. If only I could be one of those people who lives here in OH during the summer and winters in FL.

Leave a Reply

