12. I want…

12 Nov

I want to dance to Frank Sinatra at a place like the Ritz Carlton until my feet hurt. I want to wake up for one entire week rested and ready to go for the work day. I want to volunteer and actually make a difference, not just by mucking stalls. I want to continue to be in touch with my friends and family. I want to jump in puddles and enjoy the water that splashes up over my rainboots.

I want to bake cupcakes for complete strangers. I want to start a neighborhood happy hour for young adults and actually have people show up. I want to figure out what is that I want to do with regards to my career and move in that direction. I want to buy and own a place to call my own, complete with fabulous kitchen for my friends to gather around and a backyard for Jack to play in.  

I want to conquer my fear of flying by jetsetting all over the country. I want to visit Alaska and have it be every bit as romantic as I expect it to be (courtesy of Northern Exposure, of course). I want to be able to declare my age (26) to people without having a mini- panic attack. I want to  embrace the gray hairs that have sprouted like wildfire atop my head.

I want to finally learn how to knit. I want to finish the cross stitch baby blanket I started years ago. I want to scrap all the pictures that I’ve accumulated using the amazing scrapbooking products I have. I want to dress more chic. I want the hurt to stop. I want more room in my heart to love (again). I want to spend afternoons cuddled with Jack on the couch, in front of a fire, reading a book or laughing with friends over tea.

I want to sip wine in Italy, eat cheese in France, and chocolate in Belgium. I want to celebrate a New Year’s Eve in New York City, just once. I want to go to a bed & breakfast in Maine. I want to take a cooking class and then have a fabulous dinner party. I want to go to a spa for an entire weekend. I want to attend a writing class for creative writing.

I want to be able to put myself back out there again to make new friends, to meet new people. I want to lose the last five pounds and keep them off for good. I want to get back in touch with myself, the smiley, sunshiney, nothing can go wrong Nora that I was not too long ago. I want to never lose touch with her again.

18 Responses to “12. I want…”

  1. kristen November 12, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    I love this list!
    And, I wholeheartedly endorse visiting a bed & breakfast in Maine.
    We did that this summer & it was magical!

  2. Lisa D November 12, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Great post. Here’s a short list of mine:

    I want to meet a man that restores my faith in my ability to fall in love.

    I want my heart to unfreeze a bit so that can happen.

    I want to figure out a way to better balance work, running, and seeing friends. I am doing a piss poor job of that right now.

    I want to stop being so dang hard on myself!

  3. Margarita November 12, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    What a beautiful post. I know this is geeky but on meetup.com you can find a bunch of groups in the same interests you have. It’s scary meeting new people, but I have to. Moving to a new city and having NO friends is tough. So I have to get creative.

    *HUGS*

    You’ll be okay :)

  4. Jessica November 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    What a great post and list of things you want to do. Really covers just about everything right?

  5. justatitch November 13, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    This post is so inspirational. I really love it! xo

  6. nicoleantoinette November 13, 2009 at 1:14 am #

    I would SO come to your happy hour.

  7. Ali November 13, 2009 at 2:29 am #

    Alaska is even cooler than you think and totally worth the trip.

  8. ria November 13, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    i want a lot of the same things too. beautiful post :)

  9. Sherri Frost November 13, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    What a wonderful post full of happy thoughts. So many people focus on what they DON’T want and they don’t really know what they DO want. The key to getting what you want is to know what it is and seeing it in vivid detail.

  10. fuchsiag November 13, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    Wonderful post!! I have an idea – you can conquer your fear of flying by hopping up to visit me and Kyla, and we can all sip wine and eat cheese and chocolate and just pretend we’re in Europe :)

  11. fritz November 13, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    Fabulous Post!!! and you should totally do the bed and breakfast in Maine, or any New England state really, and can you send out save the dates for your neighborhood happy hours?

  12. SoMi's Nilsa November 13, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    I’m pretty sure I’m not allowed to show my grays until my mom starts admitting she has them, too. Well, that’s what I keep telling myself each time I go to the salon. =)

    As always, I love this post. Now, about that writing class…

  13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 13, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    Beautifully written, as always.

    I have been DYING to take a cooking class, too. I think next year once I’m working full-time and no longer have school to fill every spare moment I will!

  14. Megan/SomewhatVoluble November 13, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    Love the list, dear.

    I want to learn how to knit. I tried teaching myself, but I have no patience with it.

  15. Kyla Roma November 13, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Um, I want to hug you, and I want to see London at Christmas once in my life.

  16. mandy November 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    I want all these things to come true for you.

    Such a lovely list.

  17. mieletcannelle November 16, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    Oh I want to learn to knit as well!
    Perhaps we should find an online you tube tutorial and do it together via skype.
    With wine. Definitely with wine. xo

  18. Walter Adena November 16, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    You can have all that you want by starting right NOW. Life is too short to waste on things that will bring us no joy. There’s much we can do in this life, we just need to act on it. :-)

Leave a Reply

