13. Transported

13 Nov

The last six weeks I’ve spent time in Capeside (courtesy of Dawson’s Creek and my addiction to Netflix), back in the teen angst moments, back in a bit of comfort, and oddly enough seeing several episodes for the first time.

In watching the show and in spite of the angsty teen talk that is entirely too, well, annoying at times, I’m having a lot of flashbacks to high school…

Freshman Year. Marching band practice. Friday night football games. Continuing my incredibly huge crush on my neighbor who was on the football team. My first Homecoming dance, with a guy I could care less about. Lock-ins. Tripping up the stairs the first day of school. Surviving my first round of finals. Late night sleepovers. Moments of feeling totally boy crazy. Incessant crushes that wouldn’t end. Bad fashion choices like butterfly clips and ugly cardigan combinations.

Sophomore Year. My first real date. My first good kiss. My first Homecoming with a guy I liked. My first break-up. Making great strides in Marching Band which ulitmately led me to the decision to pursue a different fun activity. Branching out from my clique. Volunteering as a no-smoking advocate for middle schoolers. Getting my first job that didn’t involve babysitting. Finally being able to drive with a permit!

Junior Year. Starting with my yearbook career. Meeting my first serious boyfriend. Going to Homecoming with someone different because we weren’t “official yet.” Jumping for joy when we were official. Becoming really good at my yearbook responsibilities. Volunteering at sixth grade camp as a counselor. My first Sadie Hawkins dance. Prom! Attending football games as a spectator and not as a marching band person. Still harboring a crush on the boy next door.

Senior Year. College applications. Last Homecoming, Sadie Hawkins and Proms. Worries over what would happen to me and the boyfriend. Campus visits. Late nights working on Yearbook. Senior Lock-in. Another year of volunteering as a sixth grade camp counselor. On the executive board of NHS. Inducted into the writing honor’s society (which obviously meant so much as I can’t remember it).  Being voted as the girl who “always has a shoulder to lean on,”. A summer of graduation parties and goodbyes. A summer of uncertainty, nerves and excitement.

Do you have a TV show that transports you to a particular time of your life?

12 Responses to “13. Transported”

  1. fritz November 13, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Friends. started in high school and all the very fake cliquey people watched which made me not watch it, until i got to college and met genuine people who wanted to spend time with me and were real, and the rest they say is history!

  2. SoMi's Nilsa November 13, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    I’m not sure about TV shows, but you just transported me back to high school, where most of my outfits involved the combination of green and purple … and where I was severely disappointed when I was voted best dressed my senior year (looking back, I don’t wonder why). hahah.

  3. SoMi's Nilsa November 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    whoops, meant WASN’T voted best dressed…

  4. Little Fish November 13, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Feel free to giggle when I tell you what I associate Dawson’s Creek with… my mom! It’s one of her all time favorite shows and she watched it religously. A few months after it went off the air I was on the phone with her and she said to me, “I was just thinking; I miss Dawson’s Creek.” No, she was not kidding.

  5. mandy November 13, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    Felicity! On so many levels. I really need to do a felicity hair post. LOL.

    Dawsons creek does take me back to high school somewhat and this post helped too. IT was a fun time but college was so much more enjoyable.

  6. Kyla Roma November 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    Oh my goodness, Dawson’s for sure. Incredibly.

    I want to drink up your description of US high school. Sadie Hawkins!! Prom?? Be still my little Canadian heart, I wanted to have those things I saw on TV so badly.

    I mean, going to school with boys would have been a great first step, but still lol

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 13, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    One Tree Hill. Me and my girlfriends/hockey teammates used to watch it every Tuesday after hockey practice! So fun.

  8. Lisa D November 14, 2009 at 12:23 am #

    For me it’s Felicity. Just reminds me of various relationships & also my time in college!

  9. E.P. November 14, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Wow! I love how television or music or something like that can take us back to a specific time in our lives.

    Roswell takes me back to high school. (I know it’s totally lame, but gosh, I loved that show.) And That 70’s Show does, too.

    Sometimes, it’s good to reminisce. And I love what I just learned about you in HS!

  10. andhari November 15, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    That would be The OC for me, also One Tree Hill. A lot of scenes reminded me of high school, not to mention they’re really popular back when I was still in high school but isn’t all high school shows like that?:D

    I definitely remember all the dramas, catty fights, insecurities and boy troubles when I think of high school :)

  11. Jessica November 15, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    I would say Dawson’s Creek and 90210 (the original) are big time warps for me. I can almost remember taping them on my VCR and watching them countless times. Oh memories.

  12. Matt November 16, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    I remember watching the movie Kids and thinking about my teen years.

    Kidding, kind of. I wasnt that bad…

Leave a Reply

