Angelou

17 Nov

Quite some time ago, I confessed that I have a thing for Tyler Perry movies. As in, I kind of love them. While I realize I’m likely not his target demographic, the messages are strong and the movies are funny, insightful and enjoyable. Last night I watched one I had not seen before and lucky me, Maya Angelou was in the movie, playing, I suspect herself and her character at the same time. So today’s post is all about Maya Angelou and a few of my favorite quotes from her because everyone needs a little inspiration and uplifiting, right?


 

“Love is many things. It is varied. One thing love is not, is unsure.”  – Maya Angelou

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”  – Maya Angelou

“If you have only one smile in you give it to the people you love.” – Maya Angelou

 

Do you have a favorite go-to quote that makes everything a little bit better for you?

21 Responses to “Angelou”

  1. Habbala November 17, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    So, a while ago, Hallmark stores had a Maya Angelou series that I was OBSESSED with. I have a bunch of her cards and pen cases and other beautiful things. You would love it… I will look up some and send them. BTW, I was wrong.. don’t have your address. Would you mind sending it to me?! Thanks! Hope you’re having a good day. You’re an amazing, incredible woman. In case no one has told you yet today…..

  2. Becky November 17, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    I love love LOVE quotes by Maya Angelou! The “how people make you feel” is one of my favorites and I actually have another by her on a post-it at my cubicle. “I can be changed by what happens to me. But I refuse to be reduced by it.”

  3. SoMi's Nilsa November 17, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Though I haven’t seen any (?) of Tyler Perry’s movies, I’m quite certain I’d like them. I adore Maya Angelou – that woman can write!

    One of my favorite quotes is from Tennessee Williams. He writes through the voice of Blance DuBois in A Streetcar Named Desire:

    “Physical beauty is passing … but beauty of the mind, richness of the spirit, tenderness of the heart … aren’t taken away but grow!”

  4. tabithablogs November 17, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    Love these quotes! And I’m a closet Tyler Perry fan, too. Haven’t seen a lot of his movies, but the few I’ve seen, I’ve secretly loved.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 17, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

    I LOVE that one the most and completely agree with it!!

  6. Melissa November 17, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    I love this post!! Uplifting quotes are my favorite! =) My go-to is “Everything happens for a reason.” When I’m feeling overwhelmed, I stop, take a breath, and remind myself of this…

  7. ria November 17, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    thanks for sharing those, they are truly inspirational.

  8. mandy November 17, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    That first one is one of my favorites. I adore Maya Angelou, always have. While in college I had the amazing opportunity to attend a lecture she gave in Pittsburgh with a small reception afterwards. Having the opportunit to speak with her was undoubtedly one of the highlights of my collegiate career. She is such an amazing, gracious individual.

  9. Amy --- Just A Titch November 17, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    I teach 8th grade and part of our curriculum is teaching about Maya Angelou’s story, I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings. I sneak in a bunch of her poetry and a movie about her life—it’s fascnating. She is a phenomenal woman.

  10. Mel November 17, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    I had to laugh at you for loving Tyler Perry movies. Sorry. I had to! :D Hehe…

  11. bellerenee November 17, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    It’s cheesy, but I loved Rent before the movie was even a rumor. So my go-to is “Forget regret or life is yours to miss. No other road, no other way, no day but today.”

  12. Erin November 17, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    I adore Maya Angelou. Such an inspiring writer.

  13. Lisa D November 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    I love Maya Angelou. She is so talented!! Love all these quotes.

    Ok, this isn’t necessarily a feel good quote, but it’s something I do reflect on quite a bit:

    ‘when someone shows you who they are, believe them.’

  14. AuburnKat November 17, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

    Wow, I absolutely love these quotes! While I don’t have a favorite quote, I do have a book that I read when I’m going through a rough patch. It’s called the Language of Letting Go by Melody Beattle that really helps put things in perspective for me.

  15. fuchsiag November 18, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    Aw, thanks for sharing!

    Who’s Tyler Perry?

  16. bodeloublogs November 18, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    maya angelou is one of my inspirations. the first quote you listed is my all time favorite. i was lucky enough to see her read poetry/talk a few years back and it truly was an amazing experience. she is someone everyone should hear sometime in their life.time.

    last week i finished her most recent book, letter to my daughter. its a great read. fast and chock full of advice, great quotes, stories and poetry. i highly recommend it.

  17. Rebekah November 18, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    “God does not play dice with the universe.”
    -Albert Einstein

  18. Little Fish November 18, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    Love me some Maya!

    “The world bursts at the seams with people ready to tell you you’re not good enough. On occasion, some may be correct. But do not do their work for them. Seek any job; ask anyone out; pursue any goal. Don’t take it personally when they say ‘no’ – they may not be smart enough to say ‘yes.” Keith Olbermann

  19. Matt November 19, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    Tyler Perry?

    Tyler Perry… I may need to write an email.. I dont even know where to start on this one.

  20. Matt November 19, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    I joke.

  21. andhari November 20, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    I really love those quotes :) And what’s so wrong about loving inspirational things, no?:)

Leave a Reply

