Thankful GiST

23 Nov

(Thanks to everyone who’s commented on my last few posts; you’ve helped more than you can know! I should clarify that the actual break-up took place about 5 or 6 weeks ago but I’m just now in a place where I can write about all that I’ve been feeling. And I promise I won’t let the thoughts, feelings and emotions take over this blog.

Also, an update on my friend who was injured in Afghanistan: he’s back on U.S. soil now, undergoing many surgeries but he’s doing well considering all he’s been through. Your thoughts and prayers were and are much appreciated.)

Since it’s been a long while since I’ve done a Grace in Small Things post (GiST), I’m long overdue. That and it works well with the “be thankful,” theme this week.

* Friends who like Twilight as much as I do so that we all went to see New Moon together on Saturday afternoon. I’m not saying that I want a sparkly vampire to be my husband. It’s actually quite the opposite. I just want someone who possesses the Edward-like qualities (romance, handsome, intelligent, passionate, daring, sexy, funny and much more). The real attraction for me with regards to these books? It’s the idealistic romance that I see between Edward and Bella. And I want that for myself, no matter how unrealistic that may be.

* Mexican food. Back when I was a duo instead of an uno, we made Mexican or went out for Mexican at least once a week. Not having my weekly Mexican dose has been incredibly tough. Saturday night I cured this with a delicious chicken quesadilla and Mexican rice, both of which are to die for. So good.

* Amazing weather. It is November in StL, right? Because I can’t quite tell. We had sun and warmth all weekend which was the perfect environment for Darling and I to rake and bag over 40 bags of leaves and yard waste. The end result? Our house could totally be featured in Better Home & Gardens. It’s really amazing what a difference a lack of leaves makes on one’s lawn. I just hope the weather holds out for the 5k I’m supposed to run this Thursday!

* My brother is coming home on Wednesday for a few days. Enough said about that.

* Chatting via gchat, blackberry messenger. It’s great to have real conversations with so many of my blog friends turned real life friends. I can’t wait to get Skype up and running later this year, too!

* Nights spent reading by the fire, Jack curled up in the wing chair behind me, firewood crackling and popping. The only thing that could have made it better would have been a cup of hot chocolate or some freshly baked chocolate chip cookies.

13 Responses to “Thankful GiST”

  1. Emily Jane November 23, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I’m thankful for our weather in November too – we usually get snow by Halloween with the sub zero temperatures following for the next six months – Kyla and I went to a Christmas card making party this weekend; they pumped the holiday tunes but it just didn’t feel quite right with the sun still shining and not a snowflake in sight!

    I may have been known to make a mean chocolate chip cookie – remind me to make you some when you come visit us :)

  2. Jennifer November 23, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    I haven’t been eating Mexican as much either because Aaron is on a diet and has lost 15 pounds but wants to lose 15 more. We’ll have to get together for Mexican. Maybe make it a happy hour one day after work?

  3. Melissa November 23, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    I love Edward in the books, but not so far in the movies. As annoying as Jacob is in the books, I like him far better in the movies. Maybe because of his buff chest…That probably helps a little.

  4. Kyla Roma November 23, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    It sounds like you’re really digging into investing in yourself, Nora I’m so proud of you!! One of the things that break ups seem to really drive home is how much you can impact your own happiness.

    I spent last night pouting, and ten after getting a couple “oh, come on!”s on my blog I wrote a post very much like this for tomorrow & made plans to go to New Moon tonight.

    Teenage vampire wannabes are just so much more fun than being a grown up sometime.

  5. mandy November 23, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    I love your GISTs posts. I am so thankful for this weather too (and am hopeful it will hold out). On Saturday my mom and I were in Pittsburgh sans winter coats and it was so pleasant to just walk around in the cool but not frigid air. I love ghcats too and cannot wait until you get Skype up and running.

  6. Little Fish November 23, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    I’m grateful for awesome blog friends who indulge me in my whining!

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 23, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    Umm, can you BBM to different countries for free? Because, if so, BBM me chickie!!

    I’m totally craving Mexican right now.

    Even though I wasn’t a Twilight fan I’m going to see New Moon tomorrow and I’m kinda excited about it!

  8. Amanda November 23, 2009 at 6:29 pm #

    I have a Blackberry and I don’t know how BBM works!!

  9. katelin November 23, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    i am quite thankful for twilight obsessed friends like myself as well. it makes being a fan not so lonely and a whole lot more fun :)

  10. AuburnKat November 23, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    I have so much to be thankful for but sometimes I forget it! The rest of this wk my theme is going to be thankful=)

  11. Lisa D November 23, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Mmm. Mexican. Add it to the list of things we need to do when we have a meet up!! :) I love Mexican, quite possibly my favorite cuisine!

    Still can’t believe how many bags of leaves you raked!! That is crazy!!! Good for you – bet it was quite the work out!!

  12. Jessica November 23, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    I’m glad to hear you’re staying positive and keeping busy! Um we need to BBM chat together! And now hopefully you can come visit and crash with me. Girl time is necessary. Oh and going to see NEw Moon with the ladies is awesome too. Best company.

  13. Erin November 27, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    Hasn’t the weather been beautiful this Fall? Today was actually the first day I felt that “almost winter” cold.

Leave a Reply

