Giving Thanks, Seriously

25 Nov

After yesterday’s whimsy and yumalicious post, I thought perhaps I could and should be a tad more seriously thankful for all the good in my life of which there is a lot.

{via weheartit }

Jack, my faithful dog who follows me around the house and lies on my bed, often on my computer or book to get my attention. He loves me unconditional no matter what clothes I’m wearing, how crappy my hair looks or how busy I am. He’s always there and ready to give love.

My parents who are steady as a rock, who make me laugh, make me cry (in a good way), encourage me on whatever path I have chosen, who distract me when I need to not think, who guide me when I need a little direction. They are my guideposts for what I want in a relationship, for what I want in a marriage, for who I want to be as a parent. Without them I surely wouldn’t be where I am today.

My brother who is a bright, shining star in my life. He’s creative and a free-thinker. He pushes my buttons and my envelope but I love him for that. We’ve grown infinitely closer in the last few years and I wouldn’t trade him for the world.

My friends. Gosh, my friends. Where would I be without them and you guys? Probably crying in a forest or something equally as lonely. I can’t thank you all enough for challenging me. For telling me to go to Vegas. For putting up with my silly memes when I have nothing to write. For the sweet words, letters, emails, snail mail, gchats, presents and overall knowing that I have a huge friend network. For taking me to happy hours. For letting me cry on their shoulders. For letting them cry on my shoulders. For inviting me into their life and for me emerging a better person.

My passion. I know that probably sounds odd but my passion for life, to make people happy, to be in love and to be loved push me forward. It has given me hope. It has provided a foundation for my faith, my personality, my ideals, where I’ve been and where I’m going. I don’t do things “just a little bit.” I go all out, full of passion and ready for whatever comes my way. It’s allowed me to be courageous when I feel I have nothing left to give. It’s allowed me to look at situations with honesty and truth.  It’s allowed me to find the next door to open even in darkness. It’s allowed me to be okay with my own thoughts. Above all, it doesn’t let me give up.

17 Responses to “Giving Thanks, Seriously”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive November 25, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    This is wonderful and I especially LOVE your last paragraph about being thankful for your passion. I feel the same way about myself and we SHOULD be thankful! You are fabulous and I heart you big time. :)

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 25, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Great post, Nora. I am so thankful for all of those things as well. Your passion for life and love is AMAZING and you set a great example :-) Hope you have a very Happy Thanksgiving! XO

  3. Emily Jane November 25, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    Wonderful post! With all these Thanksgiving posts I totally just wrote one for tomorrow (even though we already had Thanksgiving up here) because it’s nice to recognise all the good things we have in life sometimes :)

    I’m thankful for YOU and having found your blog and a new friendship :) You’re wonderful and I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!

  4. Kyla Roma November 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    Happy thanksgiving miss, we’re all thankful for you and your amazing determination =)

  5. kilax November 25, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Great list, especially passion! I have found that my passion is what gets me through the day, and also makes me stand out :)

  6. Lisa D November 25, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    Great list! I feel the same way about my parents – we are so lucky to have such a wonderful example of what love should be! :)

    I am thank for you!

  7. AshleyD November 25, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    I like this list, especially the passion part. I think a lot of people forget that and how important it is to making life that much more amazing. I hope you have a fabulous Thanksgiving!

  8. walkingonsunshine18 November 25, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    Don’t you love great parents!?!

  9. mandy November 25, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    I’m thankful for you! I love this post and all that you are thankful for. I am in the process of writing my own. I am so thankful for great friends like you who have brought to much into my life. Happy Thanksgiving, friend!

  10. Jamie November 26, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving, lovely. Hit me up on gchat if you ever feel the need to chat. You’re awesome xoxo

  11. andhari November 26, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    This is amazing :) and you have such wonderful family. Happy thanksgiving to you!

  12. Becky November 27, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    Just wanted to let you know I left an award for you on my blog if you’re interested! (Post should be going up sometime around 6 AM).

  13. Erin November 27, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving! I think your passion for life is a wonderful thing to be thankful for. You are such a loving and thoughtful person…and I am thankful for that!

  14. Little Fish November 28, 2009 at 11:51 pm #

    You rock! I hope you had a great holiday.

  15. LiLu November 29, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    Awww, love this! Happy belated T Day, missy!

  16. AuburnKat November 29, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    I want to find a man like your dog…one who loves me no matter what! =)

  17. E.P. December 2, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    I love this. Seriously. Lucy lies on top of my laptop and/or book to get my attention, too, and it’s amazing what a few wonderful friends and family members can do in your life. I consider myself lucky to know you!

Leave a Reply

