NY152

30 Nov

You’ve Got Mail.
One of my favorite movies of all time for a myriad of reasons:

1. I love Meg Ryan movies.
2. Tom Hanks, though not sexy, is great in his role as Joe Fox.
3. It’s a tradition for Darling and me to watch it each holiday season.
4. It is surprisingly insightful, or perhaps it’s just the time in my life at which I watch it… **

You are daring to imagine that you could have a different life. Oh, I know it doesn’t feel like that. You feel like a big fat failure now. But you’re not. You are marching into the unknown armed with…nothing.” (Birdie Conrad)

Too often we settle. Too often we simply “get by.” Sometimes I think daring to imagine a different life is just as brave as actual living it. And of course daring to live the life you’ve dreamed of? Kind of super-hero-esque if you ask me.

People are always saying that change is a good thing. But all they’re really saying is that something you didn’t want to happen at all… has happened” – Kathleen Kelly (Meg Ryan’s character)

It’s true. Most change, at least the unexpected kind, is the result of something we didn’t really forsee or want to happen. Is it a good thing? Perhaps, but when you are in the thick of the it, it hardly seems like it’s for the better. Until of course, you are on the flip side of the change where you can safely stand on the ground, gazing across the ocean at that time in your life and all you can do is smile and feel giddy for the change was a good thing after all.

“Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life. Well, not small, but valuable. And sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the void. So good night, dear void.” (- Kathleen Kelly, Meg Ryan’s character)

This kind of sums up what I’ve felt periodically as a twenty-something woman and that I’m likely to feel this way again. Times like this I remind myself that I’m a “small picture person,” that I keep a small circle of friends close to me, that I can be brave when I need to be and when I want to be and that sometimes leading a small life isn’t such a bad thing as long as there is a smile on my face, passion in my heart, and love coursing through my veins.

**(And I promise I watch other movie genres besides romantic comedies and I have tons of other movie quotes that I just love, but today these are the ones really speaking to me)

Do you have any quotes from a movie that really speak to you?

19 Responses to “NY152”

  1. Margarita November 30, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    I totally love this movie, me and my sis used to watch it on tv all the time.

    Go to the mattresses!!

  2. Liz November 30, 2009 at 6:00 pm #

    I sometimes think it would be fun to write my own screenplay – based on things that have happened in my own life, which in turn remind me of pieces of a number of different movies. But at least it would be my own movie.

  3. Matt November 30, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    “Everyone just relax, all right? Believe me, if there’s one thing Ron Burgundy knows, it’s women.”

    That quote really speaks volumes to me for some reason…

  4. Habbala November 30, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    I love this movie!!! And it’s like reading, things speak to us the way we need to– when we need it. Love it. Love you.

  5. kilax November 30, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    I agree 100% – I love this movie and how insightful it is! And it just makes me feel good :)

    I think about the small life thing often. I sometimes think the things that are important to me aren’t really part of the bigger picture, but if it makes me happy… isn’t that okay?

  6. Becky November 30, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    I love that movie! I think the movie “Keeping the Faith” (Edward Norton, Ben Stiller, Jenna Elfman) is chalk full of amazing quotes!

  7. Erin November 30, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

    I adore You’ve Got Mail! You totally hit on all of my favorite quotes. Well, except for, “This place is a tomb…I’m going to the nut shop where it’s fun.” :) I love Steve Zahn.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 30, 2009 at 8:37 pm #

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever actually sat down and fully invested my attention to that movie. I think it’s been on in the background before, but I’ve never really “watched” it. I think I’m going to have to!

  9. Kyla Roma November 30, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    I love that movie! I think in this world of the web our definition of what big is has been seriously skewed. What happened to making a big impact in other peoples lives? To being there for friends and family? How do you tally the value of that?

    I feel a post coming on…. lol

  10. nicoleantoinette November 30, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    I think there’s a lot of this going around lately. A lot of talking about the nature of change, I mean. I know it has been on my mind constantly, because it feels like there’s really nothing constant in my life right now and that every time I turn around something HUGE has happened to a friend or family member. Maybe it’s our age? Maybe it’s that we’re expanding our circles to let newness (new people, new experiences, etc) in? I think you’re right that most people don’t change on purpose- change happens and we adapt. Not sure if that’s good or bad, but you’ve got me thinking…

  11. Jessica November 30, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    Go to the mattresses! Great line from here. Great movie too!! I don’t know if there is one line that really speaks to me but some really make me laugh and that’s enough to distract me.

  12. Lisa D November 30, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    I adore this movie. I have seen it so many times and even though I own it, I will still watch it on tv – commercial breaks and all (makes no sense – I don’t know why I don’t just pop in the dvd…)

    Anyways, there is alot of wisdom in this movie, as you have pointed out. I love the scene where she is decorating her Christmas tree and she thinks of that Jonie Mitchell song w/ the words “I wish I had a river I could skate away on.” Ok, it’s kind of a depressing Christmas song, but it’s beautiful. I have a Rachel Yamagata version. Anyways, you should google it and listen to it if you haven’t heard it. The holidays are supposed to be this wonderful, magical time – and they usually are. But sometimes you kind of wish you could skate away from things you are facing…

    Ok, I am totally being downer debbie. Enough of that!

    I just really want to meet my own Joe Fox. :)

  13. Amanda November 30, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I have a post in draft that is titled after a quote from this movie. Indeed. I love it.
    I’m a big quoter, too. I love movies and TV!

  14. mandy December 1, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    Love this movie, love these quotes, and now I want to do a post of my own. Quotes always really speak to me, but especially quotes from Dead Poets Society.

  15. Chelsea Hurst December 1, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Favorite movie of all time, hands down.

    “I like to start my emails to you as if we’re already in a conversation…”

    LOVE LOVE LOVE it. It always gets me in the mood to write.

  16. Emily Jane December 1, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    I’ve never seen You’ve Got Mail! (Am I fired?)

    I love this post though, and you’re totally right – drastic change usually comes as a result of the unexpected, and though it may end up being for the better, it often doesn’t feel that way at the time. My biggest life change happened over the last year – I’d spent my whole life “settling” as a result of my lack of belief in myself – I settled for an okay job, crappy roommates and abusive a-holes of boyfriends because I figured I would never do better because I honestly didn’t feel I deserved to. It was easy to settle – but after the Biggest Breakup Ever, it really forced me to break out of my comfort zone and change everything. Now I’m trying to live the life I always wanted to – maybe not jetsetting around the world, but happier, more secure, and more comfortable in my own skin. Back then I never would’ve dreamed of being where I am now, and I was frightened of the change – but sometimes difficult change can be a blessing in disguise. :)

    I’m going to have to watch this movie of yours!

  17. AuburnKat December 1, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE You’ve Got Mail! That in Sleepless in Seattle are two of my fav movies!

  18. E.P. December 2, 2009 at 3:13 am #

    It’s been a long time since I have seen You’ve Got Mail, but the last quote you quoted? I feel the same way you do. It’s wonderful.

    And I adore Tom Hanks.

  19. rialeilani December 2, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    down to you, how to lose a guy in 10 days and anything that’s a romantic comedy. i’m sucker lol

Leave a Reply

