Nora Confessions, Part IV

1 Dec

You can view the first three installments of these posts  here and here  and here.

1. I have never, ever purchased a song through iTunes. I also do not have an iPod. (Fear not, I have an MP3 player, just not an Apple one.)

2. The first time I went on an upside down rollercoaster I was 23. My eyes were closed the whole time.

3. We had “Sadie Hawkins,” type dance at my high school, called King of Hearts which I didn’t attend my freshman year because the boy I asked turned me down. He wasn’t ready to “date,” yet. I was too gunshy to ask a boy my sophomore year.

4. I love movies like Center Stage and Step Up; so much so that I will rent the sequels when they come out though they aren’t nearly as good.

5. I had my first beer when I was 18. Coincidentally that was the first time I ever got “drunk.”

6. Any time I hear Usher’s “Yeah,” I crank the stereo up as high as it can go and sing as loud as possible. Even five years later I still love this song.

7. I’m looking for a new volunteer organization largely because shoveling poop for 5 or 6 hours straight isn’t as rewarding as one would hope.

8. I love the way acrylic nails look on other people. When I get them I love them for about a week forget to “Fill,” them and get annoyed with how they look which results in my popping them off one by one.

9. I am really bad about eating leftovers.

10. When I was in 5th grade I very much wanted to be a model so my fabulous parents indulged me and signed me up for a modeling class. I think my mom still has photos of my days as a mannequin and ridiculous walks down the runway. I didn’t give up that dream until middle school when I started getting hips.

11. I didn’t like tea at all until I was a senior in college. Even know iced tea disgusts me.

26 Responses to “Nora Confessions, Part IV”

  1. Kyla Roma December 1, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    I love dance movies too, a lot. It’s kind of silly.

    And I wanted to be a model too! I was going to say “I love that you waited until you were 18 to drink” and then I realized the drinking age is 21 where you are. You went from good girl to rebel in an instant!

  2. Habbala December 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    I love these!!!!!

    You should look into other volunteering opportunities FOR SURE. Great way to meet people, great way to keep busy.

  3. Matt December 1, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    ummm… I think I speak for the WORLD when I ask- where are the mannequin pics from when you were little?

    hmm?

  4. Jennifer December 1, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    I’m with you on the tea! I’ve wanted to drink green tea because of the health benfits, but I just can’t get it down!

  5. Liz December 1, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Oh man I love iced tea.

    I want to see these manniquin pics too!

    I heart Usher. Now that MJ is gone, I think he’s the best dancer there is.

  6. kilax December 1, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    We just watched Center Stage 2 last week and Step Up: The Streets last summer. I like those movies too :)

  7. Amanda December 1, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    I love dance movies. Probably because my sister got all the dance genes and I’m insanely jealous. Or not :) I don’t know what I’d do in the summer without iced tea!
    Step Up 2 came out while I was studying in France and there was a ton of promo for it – posters in the metro, that kind of thing. Anyway, it was titled “Sexy Dance 2” in France :D always cracked me up!!

  8. mandy December 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    Haha, I love you! I drove two hours after work on a Thursday to view a special screening of Step Up II with the best friend. I feel the same way about Usher’s Yeah and acrylic nails. I’ll show my Felicity hair pics when you show the mannequin pics. =)

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    TOO funny that you went to modeling school!

    And a bummer that your volunteering organization isn’t working out. I can’t imagine that shoveling poop would be very fun. I want to start volunteering when I’m done school next spring and I’m thinking either walking dogs at the SPCA or going to the old folks home and playing games with and reading to the people there. Maybe both!

  10. AuburnKat December 1, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    My cousin was one of the backround dancers in Center Stage! It’s weird for me to see her dancing in a movie!

  11. Jessica December 1, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    When you say really bad at eating leftovers, do you mean that you don’t eat them? Oh I hope not! And it’s okay not to have downloaded anything through iTunes. It’s cute.

  12. Lisa D December 1, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    I wish I liked tea. So much better for me than coffee – and cheaper than my lattes!

    I can’t believe you haven’t bought music on iTunes. Um, I think I spend enough for the both of us. i should make you some cds of the stuff I’ve bought recently!!

    I also love that Usher song!!

  13. E.P. December 2, 2009 at 3:11 am #

    I’ve never liked tea, though I wish I would. Somehow, I think that would be healthier than a Coke or a coffee.

    And I’m really bad at eating leftovers, too.

  14. SoMi's Nilsa December 2, 2009 at 8:16 am #

    Posts like this one are why I adore you so. Even though I feel like I know you, I don’t really know you until I’m through reading these posts. =)

    The first (and only) time I went on an upside down roller coaster was when I was 26; I screamed the whole time. I skipped most dances at my high school because I thought they were stupid (I’m pretty sure the same boy who asked me every year got tired of hearing me tell him I’d already scheduled babysitting gigs the night of the dance!). I had my first (full) beer when I was 18, too, though I got drunk as a toddler. Usher = awesome! I think I owe you a mix CD for your workouts… I’ll try to remember to do it this weekend!

  15. Emily Jane December 2, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Haha I’ve never bought anything off iTunes either! *High five* and I didn’t try a beer until I was 20 (!)

  16. rialeilani December 2, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    i love Yeah, it reminds me of dancing in the rain on the patio of a bar. haha

    there are only a few things i will eat as leftovers, otherwise it disgusts me :)

  17. Little Fish December 2, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Leftovers are one of my favorite things in the whole world. As far as I’m concerned leftovers are the bonus of a great meal!

  18. katelin December 2, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    when i first went on an upside down roller coaster my eyes were definitely closed the entire time too. and now i love them like no other, go figure.

  19. Erin December 2, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    I adore Center Stage! Seriously, it’s kind of sick how much I love that movie!

  20. brookem December 3, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    that song always reminds me of the movie hitch!

  21. Megan/SomewhatVoluble December 4, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    Um. I love sweet iced tea. And I’ve always loved that song!

  22. andhari December 4, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Can i see your old modeling photos please, please?:)

    And I love Step Up, especially Step Up 2. :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nora Confessions, Part IV « Walking through the Rain | acrylicnails - December 1, 2009

    […] the original post: Nora Confessions, Part IV « Walking through the Rain Tags: acrylic-nails, get-annoyed, love-the-way, off-one, people, popping, week-forget — […]

  2. Nora Confessions Part V « Walking with Nora - February 11, 2010

    […] February 11, 2010 Previous for installments can be found here , here ,  here and here. […]

  3. Nora Confessions Part VI « Walking with Nora - March 18, 2010

    […] March 18, 2010 Previous for installments:  here , here ,  here and here. […]

  4. Nora Confessions, Part VII « Walking with Nora - May 10, 2010

    […] May Previous installments:  here , here ,  here ,here,  here and […]

Leave a Reply

