Then & Now: 21 vs 26

3 Dec

(This post inspired by recent blogs from a few of my favorite people and the fact that I’ve slowly noticed some changes in myself and body. All things that I have no problem with, really. It’s kind of fun to see myself “grow up.”)

Then: I could wear four inch high heels until the wee hours of the night, even when dancing.
Now: I can get through the day wearing two inch heels… if I can kick them off under my desk here and there.

Then: Pulling an all-nighter to study or to party was a cinch. No energy drink needed. No bags under the eyes.
Now: Um, seriously? I need my beauty rest. Not to mention I will need an energy drink if I get less than three hours sleep and I will have (perceived) bags under my eyes.

Then: My idea of a casual night out was dinner and drinks followed up with a few shots at the local bar.
Now: Dinner. Maybe a movie. No shots. Probably not even a drink with dinner.

Then: Weekends were for sleeping in and taking endless amounts of pictures.
Now: Weekends should be for sleeping in but are instead reserved for laundry, errands, family time, organizing that can’t get done during the week and very low-key casual nights (see above).

Then: Going out until 1am during a 40-hour work week was no big deal.
Now: I’m usually in bed by 10, midnight if I’m engrossed in a book, movie, phone call or gchats.

Then: Hitting on a complete stranger was no. big. deal.
Now: My palms sweat. I’m afraid the hot stranger will want to shake my hand. And sweaty palms isn’t attractive. So he’d obviously not want to talk to me. And so I just don’t do it.

Then: I dyed my hair just for fun with such colors as cherry brown, blue/black, purpleish dark brown.
Now: Dying my hair is solely for the purpose of coloring my gray hair. It’s also the “natural,” color of my hair.

Then: I had no interest in running a 5k.
Now: I can and do run 5ks. I managed to run the “Gobble Wobble,” in 31 minutes which considering I wasn’t allowed to run for two weeks isn’t too shabby (doctor’s orders what with the bronchitis and all).

Then: I could drink four Blue Moons and not feel the slightest big hungover the next day.
Now: I pass out after four Blue Moons and wake up to find my stuff is all over the place (usually in a trail leading up to my bed), cell phone no where to be found and massive headache.

Any changes (good, bad or otherwise) you’ve noticed in the last five years?

24 Responses to “Then & Now: 21 vs 26”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa December 3, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    I love that you say you need an energy drink IF you get less than 3 hours of sleep. For me, there is no getting less than 3 hours of sleep. I’m getting at least 6 or I’m not functioning. =)

  2. butterflycharlie December 3, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Blue Moons sound good, what’s in it?!

  3. CLo December 3, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Yup, being 21 is awesome.

  4. Andrea December 3, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh, man. I so relate to this. I relate to this so much I might have to write my own version.

  5. Liz December 3, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    Chores. I have SO many more errands and chores to do. I thought life would be easier when I just have to go to work and come home – no homework – but I was so wrong.

    And the need to go to the gym. I’ve always been overweight but it’s creeping on more and more as I get older which means my need to go to the gym has increased tremendously.

  6. Little Fish December 3, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh sweetie, just wait until you hit your 30’s…

    A couple of months ago I left the following voicemail for my friend at 9:30pm:

    “Hey it’s LF. I’m sorry to call so late, I just wanted to let you know xyz and oh my God I just realized that we are so late that 9:30 seems really late to be calling someone.”

    When I talked to her the next day she said, “I was cracking up when I heard your message because when I saw that I’d missed a call from you at 9:30 I thought, ‘wow it’s late to be calling- I hope everything’s ok’, really when did we get so old. It was only 9:30!”

  7. Habbala December 3, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    Are you a blue moon girl?? They’re my favorite.. I will stalk up for your visit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 3, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Hahaha, love it. EXCEPT I am 21 and I totally relate to the “Now” parts. Uh oh.

    My excuse is that I started drinking legally at 18 up here in Canada and was technically “partying” since I was 16. Haha. Ya, that’s my excuse….

  9. Emily Jane December 3, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Did *I* write this?? LOL I can so totally relate (other than the running part, I haven’t reached athleticism yet :)). I’m all inspired to write a then and now post too :)

  10. AuburnKat December 3, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    I definitely was different 5 yrs ago! I thought I would soon be getting engaged and I was living in KS. Yeah, lots has changed=)

  11. tabithablogs December 3, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    LOVE this. And I definitely might steal the idea, too.

    Aaaand it just started snowing on your blog. Awesome! I was going to put it on mine, but my page is too “white” so it’s barely noticeable. Looks like floating dandruff. :-P

  12. Margarita December 3, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    I wish I was still 21, lol. I agree on every part of this post. Except the running, ha ha

  13. Rebekah December 3, 2009 at 9:33 pm #

    I was engaged when I was 21 and I was laaaaame. My 5-year post will have to be the madness of 23 compared to the staid old lady I am at 28.

    I used to be an alcoholic, make-out-with-strangers mess. I had a no-stress sort of job that basically just involved showing up, opening my eyes, and breathing, so I could pull off the party girl thing. But life demands more these days. More sleep. More sobriety. More anti-wrinkle cream.

  14. Lisa D December 3, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    These were fun to read – and all of them resonated with me. Except the 4 inch heel one. I am a disaster in high heels. Never have been able to wear them! My max is probably 2.5 inches?

  15. mandy December 3, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Oh so many of these are so true. No joke, a few weeks ago my best friend and I went to Target, to get coffee and then grocery shopping and called it fun. Its hell to get old.

  16. mandy December 3, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    Love the snow!

  17. barbetti December 4, 2009 at 2:41 am #

    This post is great, I love reflecting on the person you used to be. It really validates the whole “I want to learn who I am” thought that everyone has. It’s incredible how easily you can change. It inspires me to do my own.

  18. Megan/SomewhatVoluble December 4, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    So, I’m 21, and I go to bed at 10 (sometimes earlier!) … I guess that’s because I wake up at 5:30am for work, but still.

    Hmmm. Five years ago, I was sixteen. Heh. I could pull all-nighters. However, I couldn’t handle difficulties in life back then as well as I can now.

  19. Kyla Roma December 4, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    Ah!! I have blue moons in my fridge THIS MOMENT! lol Mister’s mom brought them back from the US for us. I love your comparisons- it sounds like you’ve grown up a lot, but that you’re still having a lot of fun.

    However I think that our slight age difference accounts for the 5k thing. That’s all yours! lol =p

  20. Amy --- Just A Titch December 4, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    I love this! We’re the same age, and MAN! I feel you on the heels and the drinking. I thought I would be able to stave it off ’til 30, but I feel it now!

  21. andhari December 4, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    I love it, I wonder if I get tired like that in 5 to 7 years. I think I will.

  22. Lollygagger. December 5, 2009 at 12:58 am #

    These are so true! Don’t you look at 21 yr olds now, and think aw, how cute. (Maybe that’s my 29 yr old speaking) But honestly, I love getting older, minus the aches. :)

  23. Lauren From Texas December 7, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    You are so cute! This is me already, and I am 3 years behind you. I am an old woman in a young woman’s body.

    To quote my husband (after whining to him last night about work, etc.): “It sucks to be a grown-up, doesn’t it?”

  24. Lauren From Texas December 7, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

    I adore you! <3 I need to do my November recap STAT. It's already the 7th. I am so ashamed.

Leave a Reply

