November Recap

4 Dec

Current Book(s):
Work in Progress: Up In the Air , Walter Kirn; 
Finished: The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold; Second Chance, Jane Green; Vampirates, and a handful of magazines

Current Music:
Christmas music; I prefer the crooner days: Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, throw in a bit of Harry Connic Jr, Michael Buble and I’m a happy girl

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Trader Joe’s dark chocolate after dinner mints.

Current Colors:
Black & White

Current Obsessions:
Working on my running speed
Reading during lunch hour
Reconnecting with old friends

Current Drink:
For fun: Blue Moon
Everyday: Water, Ginger Ale
To relax: Peppermint Tea

Current Songs:
“This Christmas,” no matter the artist though I really like the Chris Brown version

Current Movie:
The Holiday
You’ve Got Mail
Love Actually (my personal holiday trifecta favs)

Current TV Show:
The Nanny. Yes, I’m a dork but for whatever reason I like the show.

Current Wish-List:
A snow day.
For my sleep to be more restful.
A huge blogger meet-up.
That I could hug everyone I wanted to when I actually want to hug them rather than having to send virtual ones.

Current Needs:

A tan. Ok, well not really but I do feel quite pale.
More energy after work.

Current Triumph(s):
Never giving up.
Believing in myself.

Current Bane(s) of my Existence:
The fact that I feel the need to be asleep before 11pm. I miss my night owl-ness.

Current Goal(s):

One more pound to my first weight loss goal
Find a 5k to run in December and not freeze my a** off.

Current Indulgence:

Extra long hot showers in the morning after I hit the snooze button about four times.

Current Blessing:
Jack. Love that he’s happy to see me all the time. And all of you who read this blog.

Current Slang or Saying:
Chri-Cheesy. Darling and I made up that word. It means “Christmas cheesy.”

Current (Fav) Outfit:
My black & white small checked work pants, patent leather Red Chinese Laundry shoes, black cardigan and a scarf.

Current Excitement:
I have the last week in December OFF from work.
Christmas because I love giving my family presents.
Planning a bunch of trips in 2010 on the list so far for weekend trips: Nashville, Chicago, New Jersey. On the list for at least three days: San Fran, Florida for a friend’s shower, Seattle for work, Washington DC for work. I have three weeks vacation in 2010 so I figure I might as well use ’em up!

Current Mood:
Extremely hopeful

Have a lovely weekend!

24 Responses to “November Recap”

  1. Megan/SomewhatVoluble December 4, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    Let me know when you make it to Nashville. I live about 2.5 hours from there!

  2. mandy December 4, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    I have the enire last week off of work too and cannot wait. 2010 is going to be our year — we’re meeting and living it up (we might be all partied out by 11, but psh, whatever). You’ll be happy to know that my plan for the evening includes a glass of wine and The Holiday. Have a great weekend Nora!

  3. Kyla Roma December 4, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    Oh a whole week off, that’s amazing! I still don’t know when I’m off, the office manager doesn’t want to ask! How dumb.

    My wishes are the same as yours. <3

    ps – if you like musicals you need to watch Dr. Horrible's Sing Along blog, you can stream if for free online (http://drhorrible.com) but I can't stop singing it. Just on an unrelated note =)

  4. Little Miss Obsessive December 4, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    OMG, if you come to New Jersey, we need to meet! I would die of happiness. :)

    My places to visit in 2010 so far: Chicago, San Fran & Boston! Oh and Florida :) Lots of the same as you. heh

  5. Chelsea Hurst December 4, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Ahhhh You’ve Got Mail. I think I’ll watch it this weekend.

    I love that its snowing on your blog. I want my blog to snow!

  6. Habbala December 4, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Thank you for publicly admitting your love for The Nanny. In turn, I will admit that I used to know every time slot for the airing of The Cosby Show. Love it.

  7. Amanda December 4, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    I might be able to help you with that blogger meet up when you come to San Francisco ;)

  8. SoMi's Nilsa December 4, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    I just had a cup of peppermint tea this morning – I love that stuff! And errrr, Chicago in 2010? Dates, please!!!! =)

  9. Emily Jane December 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Okay I am TOTALLY watching You’ve Got Mail this December. I refuse to be a YGM noob any longer!!

    What’s a Blue Moon? Sounds delish. And remind me to send you THE best Frank Sinatra Christmas video ever – we stumbled on it the other day and it seriously gives you the biggest smile ever. :)

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 4, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Wow, you read a lot of books lady! I need to catch up on my reading in the month of December. I think I’ll be able to do it since I have no school (yay!)

    Can’t wait to hopefully meet you in 2010!! EEEEEEE!!! *squeel of delight* :D

  11. Akirah December 4, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    A blogger meet-up is on my wishlist too. We’ve gotta make it happen!

  12. Mel December 4, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    You’re my Christmas music twin! :)
    My pandora is filled with crooners!

  13. Maggie December 4, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    way to go on the weight loss goal, that’s awesome!

    I love The Holiday, now that you mention it I want to netflix it. Jack Black is so endearing in it.

    And you have to come to Chicago before I moveeee! or if not, add Pittsburgh to your weekend trips :-)

  14. andhari December 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    I love the holiday! And your trips you planned :D

  15. Lo December 4, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Nora,

    I found your blog through Amber at Girl with the Red Hair. I really love you recap. I was wondering if I could make one to reflect me, or if that conflicted with your license? Just let me know. Thanks! Great stuff.. I love peppermint tea as well. Just refreshes your mouth.

  16. Lisa D December 5, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    You have some fun trips ahead of you in 2010! So far I plan on going to Phoenix if Feb (hopefully), Tucson in May, and then maybe Vegas is May for the meet-up if it’s not the same weekend as my Tucson trip for my sister’s graduation party!!

    I am glad you mood is hopeful!

    I love the outfit you describe – esp the shoes! :)

  17. Jessica December 5, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    First, I love the snow on your blog. SO festive. I’m glad to see you’re feeling hopeful and I also recommend Bruce Springsteen or the Rat Pack for holiday songs too. Classic.

  18. barbetti December 6, 2009 at 2:24 am #

    I have to agree with your crooners comment. I’m listening to some Dean Martin right now. Oh, love.

  19. Erin December 6, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    I adore Love Actually. It brings a smile to my heart every time I watch it.

  20. ria December 7, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    i love peppermint tea. it’s really good when you tummy feels gross too :)

  21. Lauren From Texas December 7, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I left this comment in the wrong place before… eh, it’s Monday.

    I adore you! <3 I need to do my November recap STAT. It's already the 7th. I am so ashamed.

  22. olf1 December 7, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    I hate snow storms, but your wish for a snow day got me thinking how lovely it would be to get a blizzard that would force my office to close (but there would be no tragedies caused my the snow). That’s going to be my wish too!

    I kind of hate Love Actually, but I have a very good reason why. As far as I’m concerned there are only two good stories in the whole movie. The second best is Liam Neeson and his step son who is in puppy love and the BEST is Hugh Grant and his gorgeous assistant. I wish they had just made a movie with those two stories (or two seperate movies). Whenever it’s on TV I only watch scenes that involve those two story lines and switch to another channel for all the rest.

  23. AuburnKat December 7, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    I am in the middle of Lovely Bones…it definitely has me wondering what’s going to happen next!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Weekend: Choirs, Cookies and Cards « Walking through the Rain - December 7, 2009

    […] through the Rain A Happy Girl's Blog « November Recap The Weekend: Choirs, Cookies and Cards December 7, 2009 There are some weekends that are […]

Leave a Reply

