The Weekend: Choirs, Cookies and Cards

7 Dec

There are some weekends that are ending just as soon as they started.

They involve fabulous nights at the Cathedral Basilica while your ears are amused by a children’s choir, an adult choir, handbells (which sound much better than they did last year), a mini-orchestra peppered with a few trumpets and of course, my favorite percussion instrument ever: the Timpani. There’s a pat on the back for yourself as you tread into a territory (this particular concert, perhaps) that you went only as a duo and never as an uno. Slowly but surely you don’t feel quite so lost at sea.

These weekends involve assisting your 85 year-old Gram out of the church and laughing about the old man who offered her gum when she asked him if he had enough room.

Occasionally these weekends involve staying up until 1 am watching Chri-Cheesy(see origin of the word here) movies like The Perfect Holiday and maybe a few episodes of The Nanny because while it’s totally obnoxious it makes you laugh and sometimes you really need to laugh. It may also involve a late night gchat with this lovely lady and excessive amounts of  squeeing over Vegas 2010.

The days are consumed with baking an insane amount of cookies like Oatmeal Peppermint cookies, traditional chocolate chip cookies, Peppermint fudge, Holiday Rice Krispie treats and Chocolate Covered Pretzels with one of your best friends.

Evenings are spent as the Event Planner for your parents’ holiday party, last minute-cleaning and decorating, food prep and making sure the parents are ready for their Couples Holiday Party. Blue Moons are consumed at a local restaurant with a friend, someone you used to (gasp!) baby-sit but now have enough in common to enjoy a few drinks and appetizers while discussing how complicated dating and relationships can be and pondering the idea of marriage being a generational concept and how we fear our generation of men may not be up to the task.

The Lazy Sunday is spent finishing up Christmas cards, purchasing the “slouchy boots,” that you’ve wanted for ages, a yummy breakfast prepared by your dad, walks in the c-o-l-d with the dog, Christmas decorating and holiday merriment, talking to your brother and getting so excited for him to come during the holiday season. Part of the day is spent ignoring the nagging, empty feeling left in your heart but you take a deep breath and move forward, at least for the moment. The snow will begin to fall from the sky and for just a moment you’ll feel like little kid, hoping for a snow day, or at least a lovely blanket of white until the adult steps in and reminds you that the commute will be awful in a winter wonderland. Sleep is fought until the very last second because when day breaks it’s Monday and you’ll have to start the work week all over again. This silver lining, however, is that there are only 13 business days until an entire week of vacation.

21 Responses to “The Weekend: Choirs, Cookies and Cards”

  1. Kyla Roma December 7, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    I want a snow day, I live it an extremely snowy place and I don’t think I’ve ever had a snow day- isn’t that backwards?

    I love your weekend, it sounds so full of love and of finding your feet. I’m so happy for you Nora, really- this has been such a brutal time and I love hearing the joy seeping back in, slowly and steadily.

    So proud of you. It’s silly =)

  2. Liz December 7, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    Did someone say slouchy boots? I must see!

    And, it’s snowing on your blog! How cool is that?!

  3. mandy December 7, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    I agree with Kyla, I am so proud of you for finding your happiness even when it would be easier to stay in bed with the covers pulled over your head. As always this is such a lovely post. Your weekend sounds like it was all sorts of wonderful.

  4. Margarita December 7, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    It sounds like such a lovely weekend. I really wish you lived closer so we can hang out and eat Blue Moons together – since I have no idea what these are ;)

  5. Amy --- Just A Titch December 7, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    You are so brave, Nora, and I love that you are doing so well despite the holidays and everything else. Your weekend sounds lovely. And…YOU are going to Vegas?! ME TOO! YAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!

    P.S. Emailed you.

  6. Lisa D December 7, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    Great post – as usual. What a fantastic weekend. It’s good to stay busy – helps keep those lonely feelings at bay (most of the time). Great comment about the generational thing and men maybe not being up to the challenge.

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 7, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    I love your weekends. I want to have one of your weekends, you always make them sound so wonderful and magical :)

  8. Jessica December 7, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    That sounds like a really great weekend. I think I got mail from you too :) I need to get on my cards, seriously. No more stalling, I love doing them!

  9. Lauren From Texas December 7, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    I love the way you write. Also: THANK YOU for my Christmas card, it pretty much made my week! xoxo

  10. nicoleantoinette December 7, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

    Vegas Vegas Vegas Vegas Vegas!

  11. Andhari December 8, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    That sounds like an awesome weekend to me. Cookies, tv shows, families, friends, and drinks? Count me in..they make me happy :)

  12. Emily Jane December 8, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    What a wonderful weekend! Can I come next time? And I’m totally counting down the 13 days until a glorious week off too :)

  13. Katie December 8, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    Thank you so so much for commenting :) And THANK YOU for the congrats on the pregnancy. I’ve found this blog world to be really accepting of my faults and challenges, and for that, I’m so grateful!

  14. SoMi's Nilsa December 8, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    Your weekend sounded full of love and fun! Now, how will you be able to accomplish all that next year when you’re up here celebrating with me?! =)

  15. Matt December 8, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    is it too late to get a christmas card from you?

  16. Habbala December 8, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    Dear Nora,

    A. I love you.

    B. Keep breathing. Keep moving forward. Even if sometime you don’t feel like you’re making enough progress you are.. and you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be. And you heart will heal when it’s supposed to. That’s just the way it works, this I know to be true.

  17. tabithablogs December 8, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    Delightful post! Sounds like a truly fulfilling weekend, and I’m (as always) completely jealous that I don’t live near you so we can do this kind of stuff together! But…VEGAS!!!

    Yay.

  18. Little Fish December 8, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    Sounds like heaven!

  19. barbetti December 8, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    You are so warm, I can totally tell through your writing how lovely you are. I wish I had met you sooner! I will have to add you to my Christmas card list next year.

  20. ria December 9, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    sounds like a wonderful way to spend a weekend. and all that baking? mmmmmmmm

    i really hope i can go to vegas, i want to meet all you lovely people!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Weekend: Pedis, Pine & Presents « Walking through the Rain - December 14, 2009

    […] this a semi-permanent feature on my blog. If you want to see a few other similar entries you can go here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

