NYE vs Nora

10 Dec

If you know me well, it’s no secret that I have a general disdain for New Year’s Eve. Perhaps it all started in 1999 when I hosted a Y2K Party and my HSB (high school boyfriend) refused to kiss me because there were people around.

Since then I’ve spent New Year’s Eve at a loud, raucous parties alone while my then boyfriend was at a farm party by his choice (we broke up the next day); finding out that a  different boyfriend was cheating on me when I caught him on the phone with her (in Chicago no less, far away from home and comfort; he broke up with me the next day); in a wedding watching my friend get married and getting hit on by every single guy in the room and occasionally at a decent party where I didn’t want to go home before midnight.

NYE: 6
Nora : 2

It shouldn’t come as much of a surprise when I shy away from getting excited about making plans on New Years. I try to find something safe and predictable as a general rule but it’s time for me to reclaim NYE. I have a score to settle, after all.

Places I’ve considered: LA (too expensive to get there this time of year); southern MO (I know, it doesn’t sound compelling but my BFF and her hubs are there, but this year in ChiTown); Florida and upstate New York.

What’s likely: ChiTown, StL or maybe upstate New York since I rarely get to see my family, or any place you suggest (I’m open!)

What’s gonna happen: I’m conquering my fear of NYE and all the dread it tends to bring me. New Year, New Nora!

What’s your best/worst NYE memory?

24 Responses to “NYE vs Nora”

  1. mandy December 10, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Most of my New Years aren’t anything crazy or fun and involve me at various friends homes watching the countdown in our pjs. I like to live on the edge like that.

    If you’re looking for a place to come, Pittsburgh! The cultural district has an event there called First Night. You buy some sort of button and it gets you into all the galleries, there are ballet shows, theater performances, bands ect that take place all night. I’ve always thought it sounded very fun but have never gone. Do I get bonus points for free lodging in the way of a couch or air matress?

  2. Margarita December 10, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    J & I went to NYC for NYE, the first time in new york city, and J got really drunk and we ended up going back to the hotel before it was midnight. ha ha. it was still fun though. and the next day he felt like complete shit.

  3. Liz December 10, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    NYE generally sucks for me. Well, not sucks, but is just rather boring. Last year sucked though, because Ryan and I got in a HUGE fight at like, 3 in the morning. He was drunk, I was tired, but it totally ruined the first day of the new year for me. I think I’m still a little angry with him about that.

    I had hoped we would do something really cool this year, since it’s 2010 after all, but I’m not so sure. Not to mention I have to work on NYE. So that blows.

  4. Little Miss Obsessive December 10, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    I guess it was two years ago now – NYE 2008, it was actually a good night up until the point everything turned awful. The ball dropped, I kissed The Ex at midnight but we had been kind of off all day, little fights all night, and then when we got back to the room around 1am we got in a blowout fight, broke up and he actually left me alone in the hotel room and I cried myself to sleep. Yea, so that sort of takes the cake as far as my bad NYE’s go.

    Still have no plans for this year though but I’m hoping it’s a good one!

    I hope you have a fabulous NYE this year – you deserve it!

  5. Emily Jane December 10, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    NYE has never been stellar for me either, my worst memory probably being a few years ago, when some rich guy rented out the art gallery and decked out the different floors with music, DJs and open bars (for a $75 ticket). Sounded like a great night but his hired coat check staff disappeared halfway through the night, leaving the masses pillaging the coats, running off with other people’s, including mine, which had my camera in the pocket. It was freezing and 2:00 in the morning and I remember sitting on the floor in the middle of the hysteria just sobbing, and unable to get a cab home. We hadn’t even really had anything to drink since the lines were ridiculous anyway – wasted night, lost camera, and one very sad girl!!

    Another one was about a week after I had a bad breakup, I was miserable and all my friends were doing coupley things so I went to a coffee shop with a couple of old high school friends, grabbed some beer and we all went back to my apartment and watched old episodes of BlackAdder. Then I remember feeling sorry for myself after they left just after midnight and calling my single guy friend up to come over after his NYE party to have someone to… cuddle with. I’m definitely not usually a one night kind of girl and regretted it immediately!!

    Last year I was in Palm Springs though, the only time I’ve ever gone away for NYE – David’s family came too, and we played board games and drank by the pool ’cause it was still warm out at midnight. I’d definitely recommend going away!!

  6. Mel December 10, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    I have always stuck to a quiet and comfortable NYE. We’ll be in Colorado this NYE. Come crash! What would be better than sitting in front of a cozy fire!

  7. ria December 10, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    oh wow yes, you definitely have reasons to hate NYE!

    worst: 1998 i had food poisoning from applebees. it was awful, i was so weak from puking that my dad had to pick me up off the bathroom floor

    best: hmmm nothing really stands out, maybe 1999 i was at a party with my 2 best friends and boyfriend.

  8. SoMi's Nilsa December 10, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    Well, if we’re in Chicago for NYE, you know I want you to head this way to celebrate!

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 10, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    I actually have NEVER done anything exciting/crazy/fun on NYE. I’m not a HUGE partier as it is and I HATE going to the bar when it’s super busy i.e. NYE. I’m also not usually near a bunch of close friends because I’m usually at home and all of my friends are in their respective hometowns. Maybe this year I will reclaim NYE, too!

  10. Megan/SomewhatVoluble December 10, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Husband’s birthday is on NYE, so we’ve spent it with his family every year since we’ve been together. I’d like to go to New York one year, though!

  11. E.P. December 10, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    You know, I’m indifferent about NYE. Since I didn’t really ever have a boyfriend on NYE until.. uh, my boy. And that NYE, he was on a train to Iowa for a trip. So yeah.

    I’d say come to visit me, but I’ll be in LA with the boy and his fam. But you should come to Nash soon!

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns December 10, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    I hate NYE. I think I’ve only had a boyfriend once on NYE and get this – he flew in on NYE and I was sick as a dog with a Sinus infection, but wasn’t contagious. So I thought that after I picked him up from the airport, he would be ok w/ us goign back to my place for the night. Nope. Instead he wanted to go back to his house since his roommate was having a party. He was like – ‘well, you can go home if you want…’ Yah, we hadn’t seen each other for about 10 days. But send your sick girlfriend home on NYE. Great.

    But being the stupid girl I am, I stayed at the house w/ him and hung out. I ate popsicles while everyone else got extremely inebriated.

    Oh, and this was like 2 or 3 years ago, so it’s not like I was dating a silly 21 year old boy. He was like 26 or 27. He shoudl have known better. I should have, too.

    Anyways, these days I boycott NYE. My family is always up at our lake cabin, so I go there for NYE and hang out with the fam. Sometimes I make it to Midnight, sometimes I don’t. I know some people think this is lame, but at least I know I am surrounded by people that love me!!

    Gosh I am debbie downer lately. I need a mood implant or something.

  13. Lacey Bean December 10, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    I taped my name onto my stapler so people can’t take it. :)

    We have an open office plan, and my one coworker has a bad habit of piping into conversations that dont include her. (She’s in a different departmet, but sits right next to mine.) It’s annoying!!

  14. Amanda December 10, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    I’ve never really celebrated NYE. My mom was always afraid for us to be out on the roads b/c of all the drinking, so we usually stayed home and watched movies! And then in college I was usually home anyway, so no wild shenanigans!
    Also, my birthday is January 1, so I usually tried not to get too tired out the night before.
    Best memory? My senior year in high school after I decided for sure to go away to college 2,000 miles from home we had a city-wide church youth group NYE party. My friend is an amazing musician, and his band was doing a concert. At midnight, instead of singing Auld Lang Syne he started playing Happy Birthday and had the entire crowd sing to me :) Then, they wheeled out a cake!
    Afterward, my sister drove me to a friend’s house to supposedly drop off belated Christmas presents. Instead? She’d arranged for all my friends to be there – surprise party! First and only one I’ve ever had.
    Best NYE ever.

  15. Habbala December 10, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I generally hate New Years… too much hype, rarely enough awesomeness…

    However, Ryan and I had our first kiss at midnight on New Years 4 years ago. It was pretty great, even with the way things ended.

  16. Little Fish December 10, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    Good for you for taking back NYE!! I’ve had mixed experiences with NYE too. NYE 2005 and 2008 were amazing. NYE 2009 was OK, most other NYE’s have been pretty crappy, but I’m sure that one day you and I will have one great NYE after another and sit back and laugh about how bad the holiday had once been for us!

  17. Becky Travels December 10, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    My NYE always suck too! This year is no exception since my original plans have fallen through. The kicker is that all my friends who live close will be with there boyfriends and I hate being some third wheel.

  18. Caz December 10, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    I know you asked about my NYE plans this week. Well here’s your (late) answer.

    Firstly, NYE in the middle of summer is 1000x easier than in the northern hemisphere. You can picnic in the park, camp, etc. and not have to worry about $100 tickets, dressing up or hanging out at another house party that inevitably ends up exactly like high school. So one, there’s that. Maybe move to Australia?

    Anyway, every year I’ve spent NYE in Australia we’ve gone to a 3-day music festival just outside of Melbourne. Yes tickets are expensive ($300-ish), but it includes camping, and three-days of non-stop bands. Right beside a gorgeous view of the ocean. Tickets go on sale in September, and our closest group of friends all grabs them up ASAP. From then on, we don’t need to give a second thought to NYE until the day before. There’s no stress of one person wanting to go to Bar X, and your BF not wanting to go to Bar Y. You either have tickets, or you don’t. It’s the easiest thing to not stress about because there’s really nothing that can be done about it. No last-minute changes of plans etc.

    Then we hang out in shorts and sunglasses, in 30+ degree weather drinking FAR too much, and listening to music until way too late at night. We’re dirty from the dust and sitting on a grass-field all day. We’re stinky from sweating too much. We eat fries and corn on the cob. Nothing fancy. But it’s the best NYE’s I’ve ever had.

    (And ok, yes there are showers if you really need, but with 30,000+ people you can imagine the lines, so sometimes the ocean suffices)

  19. katelin December 10, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    one of my craziest new years was in vegas with two of my best friends and some of our high school guy friends and it was one of the most ridiculous nights of my life. don’t think i’d be able to handle it again but i’m definitely glad i went once and experienced it.

  20. Jessica December 10, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    OMG YOU SHOULD TOTALLY COME TO CHICAGO!!! Chicago is so much fun (but freezing at NYE). It’s the place to be :)

  21. Erin December 11, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    NYE is always lame for me. I don’t really like wild and crazy parties, so we usually just stay in. I’m sure it will be the same this year, especially since I won’t be able to drink.

  22. Kyla Roma December 13, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    I think that of all the holidays with huge built in romantic expectations, NYE is the absolute worst. Who thought of this?? For people in a relationship, kissing is not a big deal so the whole premise is just to ramp up the stakes for people who don’t have someone to kiss- or to give creepy guys more excuse to hit on girls who don’t like them?

    /sigh

    I’m not a party girl, I don’t like showing off for people and I don’t like the flaunting the relationship side of things. I will be at home with Mister & probably a friend from out of town, drinking wine, eating home made apps (I make a mean caramelized onion crostini) and telling stories about our lives.

    And you are more than welcome to join ;)

  23. Rebekah December 13, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    Will road trip to ChiTown with you if you want to go for New Year’s! I haven’t been up there since BlogHer and I miss it :o(

  24. tabithablogs December 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm #

    Catching up on some comments I’ve been MEANING to leave, but sucking at remembering to leave. :-P

    I hear ya on the hit and miss NYE experiences. I had a four or five-year streak of totally crappy ones, then a good one here and there. The last few have been relatively fun but uneventful. Last year I tried shrimp for the first (and last — eww) time. I think my WORST NYE, though, would have to be the one at the end of ’03 when I was a big fat jerk to a good friend, and then three weeks later he was killed in a motorcycle accident. :(

Leave a Reply

