Happy Friday Indeed

11 Dec

In the last week I was awarded this fun award from two fabulous, fierce girls and because it’s Friday and I’m oh-so-glad to see it here’s the deal:

I’m supposed to list 10 things that make me happy and try to do/experience at least one of them today, which really shouldn’t be too incredibly hard, right!?

1. Rocking out to Christmas music on my way to work. Yes, I am that girl who turns the music up as high as it can go and shouts at the top of her lungs. I’m currently rocking out to A Very Special Christmas 2 which is incredibly old. So old we used to have it on cassette tape. Remember those?

2. Pseudo-fingerless gloves to get me through winter. I detest having to fumble around in my gloves if I need to answer the phone or grip things tightly. These allow for the thumb and index finger to be “fingerless,” if need be while keeping the other fingers toasty and warm. (Mine are in black.)

3. Sending cards. Not just at Christmas, for birthdays and other special occasions, but just because. I’ve stocked up on some great cards with wild art and can’t wait to send them out. I still have a few more Christmas cards to send out and it makes me so happy to send cards. No idea why, just does.

4. Attempting to make a difference. In the last six months I’ve ramped up my donation/volunteer efforts donating everything from used books, pencils for school children, shoes all for various drives as well as money and time more to give back to my community and hopefully make someone’s day brighter. While it’s not as much as I’d like to do, it’s a place to start.

5. This is totally dorky but playing my Crossword game on my Nintendo DS.

6. Coming home at the end of a long day. Mundane, maybe but so true. The warmth of the house, the dogs greeting me at the door, the promise of time to myself with family or friends, it literally warms my heart.

7. Blogging. This whole entire experience keeps getting better and better. I can’t fathom my life without it.

8. Running. It’s my release. My “me,” time. I can collect my thoughts, think freely and resolve some of those pesky life problems that affect so many of us when I’m running. It’s definitely an addiction.

9. Baking. I love that when I’m cooking or baking I have to focus on the recipe, the mix, the output and nothing more. It’s therapeutic in ways I never thought possible.

10. Hugs. Doctors recommend touching someone you know and love at least once a day. The physical contact is important for the brain and the soul, they say. I’ve always been a big fan of hugging and have no qualms about hugging my family members, close friends and even my dog, Jack.

What’s making you happy today (besides the fact that it’s Friday!?)

18 Responses to “Happy Friday Indeed”

  1. Emily Jane December 11, 2009 at 8:06 am #

    I don’t think I’ve ever been called “fierce” in my life!!! lol :D

    Happy Friday lovely lady!

  2. SoMi's Nilsa December 11, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    Dog hugs are the absolute best. Especially when they don’t up and walk away mid-hug, landing you in a face-plant. OK, so no, that didn’t happen to me, but it did happen to a friend’s 2 year old when trying to give SoMi a hug. SoMi is a people hater, too. hahaha.

  3. mandy December 11, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    This post makes me happy because I can tell how happy you were while writing it! I love doing things for others and helping out when I can, even though its not as much as I would like, just knowing that its helping someone else is a great feeling. Coming home to my dog is the best, shes always excited to see me. Sidenote: I totally need a pair of gloves like that.

  4. fritz December 11, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    the simple way my dog will curl up next to me in the morning and look for attention before going off to work, so. damn. cute!

  5. Amy --- Just A Titch December 11, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Awww, I love this. I’m a card-sender, a baker and a hugger, too. Love it!

  6. Amanda December 11, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    candy canes :) and a sweet little note from SOMEONE I got in the mail!

  7. barbetti December 11, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    I can’t remember if I’ve said this before, but you are easily one of the warmest bloggers I’ve had the privilege of reading. I, too, love sending cards, holiday cards, whenever cards. And I feel most in my element when I bake. Which is probably how my husband gained 20 pounds in three months. :)

  8. Elizabeth December 11, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Is it lame that the overcast day is making me happy? It is sunny so often here, so when the clouds come out, I just love looking out over the lake!

    I really want to bake, but it’s probably just not going to happen this year. Luckily I have tons of people who love baking in my family.

  9. Little Fish December 11, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    Thinking about you running while sitting on my couch watching TV and eating a snack makes me happy. ;-)

    Have a great (and happy) weekend!

  10. walkingonsunshine18 December 11, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    That list sounds like a whole bunch of happy things! :)

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 11, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    Yayy, great list. I LOVE hugging :)

  12. Margarita December 11, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    I adore baking, but that’s obvious. I am also screaming out christmas songs in the car. And people catch me. And it’s embarassing. But it’s christmas!

  13. Lisa D December 11, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Ha – I also have never been called fierce – but I love it! It makes me think of Christian from Project Runway. :)

    Great list – I agree w/ everything on it! Esp the hug thing. That’s maybe the #1 reason I am looking forward to babysitting the nephews tomorrow night. I am sure I’ll get some hugs out of them. That is the crappy part of living alone. Unless i make plans with friends, no one touches me all week. :(

  14. Erin December 11, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

    Unexpected kindness, puppy cuddles, pizza and wine.

    Happy Friday!

  15. Kyla Roma December 13, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    I love that running is your release, I need something like that in my life.
    Only not running, because I think I would freeze to death. Maybe endurance sewing? lol

  16. Rebekah December 13, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    So I’m not reading this on Friday, but this past Friday I was VERY happy to find out that an order of personalized Christmas gifts I’d ordered for my boss that came in WRONG was actually the company’s fault and not mine.

    I pretty much died of relief and was resurrected by peanut butter cups.

  17. Jessica December 13, 2009 at 8:42 pm #

    I need to take your line about the hugs and tell that to friends who hate hugging. I swear, I only know one other person in Chicago who is a hugger. Just wait until we’re together!

  18. ria December 14, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    i love my fingerless gloves! i wish you lived closer so you could come over and bake with me. sometimes i can’t get in the mood to do it by myself :P

Leave a Reply

