The Weekend: Merry, Cherry Christmas

28 Dec

(Before I go any further, please take a moment to read Brandy’s post and request for positive thoughts and prayers posted at over at Nilsa’s blog. )

The past weekend was four days of love, relaxation, laughter, family, sharing presents and memories. It was four days of hope, of hugs, of reading next to a fire and snuggling up with Jack at bed time. It was braving the bitterly cold winds to have a few moments to myself while I walked Jack, letting my mind go blank and enjoying the Christmas lights, the season, the reason and my many blessings.

The past weekend involved more food than anyone should consume (risotto, beef en croute, baked macaroni and cheese, fudge, chocolate covered pretzels, cheese plates, wine, wine and more wine, breakfast casseroles and more).

It involved furthering Christmas traditions like wrapping presents with my dad, making a gingerbread house with my brother, and general merriment in the kitchen.

We stayed up late and ignored alarm clocks.
We played with our Christmas presents, started our new books and expanded our musical horizons thanks to my brother.
We called family and friends to spread the love and to hope for an all-family Christmas next year.
We sang. We danced. We laughed. We loved. We Christmased.

8 Responses to “The Weekend: Merry, Cherry Christmas”

  1. Habbala December 28, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    Yay! Love it. So glad you had a good Christmas. So so so glad.

  2. Little Fish December 28, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    That sounds wonderful (especially the food!)

  3. mandy December 28, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    It sounds fantastic. I did a lot of that myself.

  4. kilax December 28, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    What a wonderful 4 days! We definitely stayed up too late too. It’s funny how that happens when you are having fun!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 28, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    I love it. I did a lot of this as well, especially the consuming A LOT of food (and chocolate) part!

  6. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns December 28, 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    What a fun holiday recap. Sounds like you had an amazing weekend – and ate some delicious food!! I am now craving risotto after reading this!!!

  7. Daria December 29, 2009 at 11:10 am #

    I loved the part about staying up late and ignoring alarm clocks. That has always been my favorite part of Christmas Eve (and Christmas, some years!)!! It’s just a nice feeling – enjoying company, watching movies or football on tv, and being with family. I’m hoping that next year is just as wonderful for you, and everyone reading this!

  8. Emily Jane December 30, 2009 at 6:03 pm #

    It sounds like the perfect few days. I also ate way too much over the last week (and have no idea how I’m actually going to start paying attention to a 6am alarm clock in five days’ time!!)

Leave a Reply

