2010: Bring It

4 Jan

2010.

I honestly can’t believe that Christmas and New Years have come and gone. It seems like just yesterday I was making my Christmas list, wrapping presents, soaking up the joy in watching my family members open their presents and of course, basking in my week long vacation.

My vacation, in a word: relaxing. In several words: disconnecting from all things technological and social, reconnecting with my family and myself, reading, and resolving for the new year.

Since it’s true that we are more accountable if we write down our resolutions:

* Read three books a month. Fun ones, not educational or work-related. I have re-ordered by TBR stack and can’t wait to dig in. Reading is one of my favorite things, falling into another world, getting absorbed in the characters and plot lines.

* This sounds mundane but personal fitness by way of the gym a minimum of four times a week and continued healthful eating. I’ve been on track the last two months with weightloss so I hope to keep it up.

* I was fortunate to receive two magazine subscriptions (Simpe & Delicious and Rachel Ray) chock full of recipes and fantastic dinner and dessert ideas. I intend to cook one new recipe every other week.

* Personal growth by way of fun classes such as ballet, yoga, wine education events and of course, volunteering. Darling and I have a beat on a new volunteer opportunities caring for horses that are part of a “riding for health,” program. (This particular program works with autistic and Down Syndrome children as a form of therapy.)

In the next three months I plan to reclaim all of myself, parts of me that have been distracted with work, parts of me that have been a bit lost in the last few months.
In the next six months I plan to walk across that stage and accept my MBA.
In the next twelve months I will make decisions that affect my career, my housing situation and more.
In the next twelve months, it all gets better.

20 Responses to “2010: Bring It”

  1. mandy January 4, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    I think your break sounds glorious adn I disconnected from a lot over the break too — people, events, some computer related things. I spent days watching dvds and reading, not going out. It was incredibly wonderful to just get reacquainted with myself and breathe.

    Your plan for the next year? Incredible. 2010 is going to be big for all of us.

  2. SoMi's Nilsa January 4, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    If you use this list of yours as a guidelines for 2010, it most certainly will get better. I’ll even forgive you for overlooking those trips to Chicago and that writing workshop as part of your 2010 goals. hee hee hee. I kid. xoxo

  3. Kyla Roma January 4, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    I’m glad you had a great break- but I’ll be honest! I missed you terribly!! The riding therapy programs are amazing, I have friends who used to coach them for a long time- you’ll adore it.

    Here’s to an amazing 2010

  4. mieletcannelle January 4, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    I think these sound like really great resolutions – it seems more and more people are focusing outside of themselves a little, and its so incredible. Bravo!

  5. jen January 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    That is absolutely perfect! Heres to a fantastic 2010!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 4, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Love you and love this post. 2010 will be YOUR year, I know it :) XO

  7. Habbala January 4, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Love love love your goals. I love doing the personal growth classes, and have always wanted to do ballet!!

    I can’t believe you’re getting you MBA in 6 months! This next year is going to be so freaking incredible, I can’t wait to share it with you.

  8. Emily Jane January 4, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I’m SO happy you’re back – I missed you over the holidays!! Those are some wonderful goals for the year – and I almost can’t wait til December just to look back and see how far you’ve come. :)

    Share some recipes? We can tackle this cooking resolution together!

  9. Little Fish January 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    I love your attitude and I know 2010 will hold many wonderful things for you!

  10. dailykp January 4, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    such great ideas! good luck with it!

  11. kilax January 4, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Great list! I need to work on reading books for fun too. I have a stack that people have loaned me :( It’s collecting dust!

  12. katelin January 4, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    yay for your mba, so exciting! and hello 2010 is just exciting overall, woo!

  13. brookem January 4, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    these are some great goals! happy 2010!

  14. AuburnKat January 4, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    It sounds like you had a much needed vacation! Hope you have a wonderful 2010!

  15. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 4, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    You have a big year ahead of you! How exciting that you get your MBA in 6 months! It will be the best feeling! :)

    Writing out resolutions is so helpful for me – and blogging about them makes you more accountable. I did so well w/ mine last year so I am hoping that is the case this year. Even though I really didn’t make any resolutions, besides the Starbucks one, since I made this 30 before 30 list that I’ll be posting soon. But I am uber proud of myself for making coffee at home & turning down an offer to get a latte at work this morning!

  16. Jessica January 4, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    LOVE the dance class idea. I’m all over that right now. I can’t wait to see your delish recipes too! Also, the baby dream you had about me cracked me up today. Triplets? Damn! But I do like the idea of us lunching while the boys play golf (or work).

  17. ria January 5, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    2010 sounds like it’s going to be amazing.

  18. E.P. January 6, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    The next 12 months sound like they are going to be incredible for you, and I cannot wait to hear all about them!

    I’m also so thankful that your holiday was relaxing. That’s such a huge thing.

  19. Little Miss Obsessive January 6, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    2010 is your year, girlfriend. Good luck! :)

  20. Mel January 9, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    That riding for health volunteering gig you’re thinking of? You should go for it! It is actually called hippotherapy and I used to help with classes, too! I volunteered to help lead the horses while the students were on them. It was a lot of fun and it felt so GOOD!

Leave a Reply

