The Things we Forget

6 Jan

When I first read this post from Just a Titch, I immediately wanted to write a post just like this. (And truthfully most of her posts move me and inspire me because she’s a gifted and talented writer. You’d never guess she was “new” to blogging.)

So I started thinking about what in the heck happened in the last decade and honestly there were a few years where I kind of blanked.

And just as quickly as I had no idea what to write about, a flood of random memories came rushing back to me…

Like how in the year 2000 I had my first real boyfriend and we made out for hours and hours on end. Which also makes me miss  making out. It’s very underrated if you ask me.

Or how in 2001 I managed to have an emergency appendectomy and miss my senior spring break and instead spent it laid up on the couch with pain meds and chick flicks. Or about the time I nearly got into a fight at my high school Prom (not instigated by me), I graduated high school and three months later started college 120 miles away from my parents. I considered leaving school and joining the army. I battled with body image and weight loss thanks to the break-up with the high school boyfriend. This was also the first year I had a beer, I kissed a guy named Cricket, and did 13 shots of Captain Morgan.

In 2002, I danced on a bar. Yes, I was that girl. And yes, I blame the shots. I also quickly realized that working in a restaurant was not a good part-time job for a college kid, or at least this particular restaurant and left six months later. I also learned the art of tailgating at football games, mastered the art of dating, the joys of studying in our fabulous campus library and fell in love with my independence.

2003 was a bit of a blur. I gave up drinking for Lent and quickly became known as Nurse Nora because the very first day of Lent one of my dormmates slipped and sprained her ankle at a party while drinking so to the hospital we went. That same night my roommate came home at 2 am and passed out in the hallway, half-naked. It was a long 40 days but totally worth it. I met my college boyfriend, a sweet, quiet country boy who showed me nothing but kindness for almost two years.

Darling and I took my Gram to England for her 80th birthday in May 2004.I turned 21 and managed 14 shots in one night. I adopted Jack, the best dog and cannine love of my life. Six months later I graduated from college, early and with honors, prepared to start my life as an adult. I moved back to StL ready for the grand adventure. College boyfriend and I broke up but it was one of those “good,” break-ups.

March 2005 I started working at the company I’m with now. (I can’t believe it’s been almost five years.) I didn’t want to admit that I was an adult and stayed out until 1 am even on the weekdays yet was thrilled to have a regular paycheck. I dated an Australian. I randomly met and dated another country boy. I moved out of my parents house and rented my own apartment. I had sinus surgery.This was the year I became responsible. It was also the year of the worst New Year’s Eve ever which is a shame because I loved that outfit but it was poisoned by the evening’s events.  

I spent the first half of 2006 in a fog, figuring out who I was, learning how to be truly independent, finding my inner strength. I dabbled in online dating and amassed a ton of batshit crazy stories. (Ask me about it sometime, I promise they are pretty darn incredible.) I was a Maid of Honor for the first time. I went to the gym six days a week. I flew to Florida to visit my best childhood friend that I hadn’t seen in 13 years.

2007 was a slew of bridesmaid dresses, champagne, of  learning how to live with a boy who isn’t family or your boyfriend, had my tonsils removed, flew to St. Thomas to be in my Florida best friend’s wedding and went on even more crazy dates. I found out that I have about 25 different food allergies and my eating habits changed drastically. My brother graduated high school and I couldn’t have been more proud. Somewhere in there I started grad school.

2008 was the year I realized that no matter who or what else is in my life, I live for me. I got healthier: hired a personal trainer, learned how to eat healthfully despite the allergies and really fell in love with myself. A few months later, I met Irish. It was a whirlwind few months, we went to Canada, fell in love and I had to learn how to be a couple again. I took two semesters off from grad school to enjoy my life, was a bridesmaid for two of my very best friends and reveled in sheer joy 99.9% of the time.

2009: Love. Vegas. School. Moving. Family. Heartache. Adjustment. Growth. Introspection. Running. Independence. Loving myself again. Inner peace.

I wouldn’t trade the events of the last ten years for anything. I hope I can say that in the next ten.

25 Responses to “The Things we Forget”

  1. mandy January 6, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I love this post Nora! Its fun to read peoples recaps of their past decade, this is one of the best I’ve read yet. Isn’t it funny the things we can remember when we sit down and think about it?

  2. SoMi's Nilsa January 6, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    While I can’t muster the strength or focus to do one of these decade reviews for myself, I absolutely love reading others. Yours is no exception.

    BTW, want to run in a 10-mile race over Memorial Day weekend along Chicago’s lakefront? I’m signing up next week!

  3. jen January 6, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    its amazing how if you just think about it for a few minutes many random thoughts come rushing back! sounds like a great decade full of growth, heres to another fabulous 10 years! i am sure they will be great!!

  4. Matt January 6, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Great post. Cheers to 2010!

  5. E.P. January 6, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    This post just brought a HUGE smile to my face. Look how far you’ve come in the past ten years, and I know these next ten will be even better!

    I’m kind of tempted to look back and think where I was ten years ago!

  6. Kyla Roma January 6, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    I so wanted to do one of these posts too! I wonder if next week is too late… lol Probably.

    Sounds like it’s been a huge 10 years, I’m excited for what next year holds for you, never mind what the next 10 have! =)

  7. Maggie January 6, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    It’s amazing to look back and think of what we’ve accomplished in 10 years, even if sometimes it feels like a whole lot of nothing.

    Cheers to the next 10! xoxo

  8. Mandy January 6, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    I think my resolution to find new bloggers, and get involved in the community could not have been timed more perfectly. These posts show such insight into people, their lives, and how events have shaped them into who they are today. Yours is no exception.

    I find it inspirational to see how your views about body image and being healthy have evolved.

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 6, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Love this! What a wonderful, crazy, whirlwind of a decade you had. I’m definitely going to do this on my blog.

  10. Liz January 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    It’s been a helluva decade, huh? Here’s to the next 10 years!

  11. Amy --- Just A Titch January 6, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    You are so sweet and cute, Nora. Thanks for the love. Also, what a decade! It’s amazing how much things can change in 10 years. Here’s to the next 10!

    P.S. Making out *is* underrated, for sure. Sigh.

  12. Emily Jane January 6, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I TOTALLY left my emergency appendectomy and tonsil removal out of my decade in review, lol. :) I’m excited to follow your next decade!

  13. Little Fish January 6, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    OK I’m still trying to master that art of dating. Any chance you give lessons?

    I’m sure the next 10 years will hold wonderful things for you!

  14. Little Miss Obsessive January 6, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    I love these decade recaps.. I started doing one weeks ago and then I never finished.. maybe I’ll get around to it tonight. :)

    Your decade was quite eventful! Sound like you learned a lot and had tons of fun also!

  15. walkingonsunshine18 January 6, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    So it’s 2010 and I still dance on bars… no worries ;) Happy New Year!

  16. Megan January 6, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    I absolutely loved this post! I wish I could remember each year in detail.

  17. katelin January 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    okay this is awesome, i loved looking back. i don’t know if i’d want to do it myself but i love that you did. and i think you summed up 2009 quite well.

  18. AuburnKat January 6, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    It truly is amazing when you look back over the past ten years about everything that you have been through. I was shocked that so much had happened to me in the last ten years…good and bad!

  19. nicole antoinette January 6, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Vegas. Vegas. Vegas.

  20. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 6, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Great re-cap! I thought about doing this as well, but I am just not sure if I can come up with anything interesting for every year! Maybe I can, we’ll see.

    I think I also did 13 shots of Captain, and I think it was in the spring of 2000. I have not drank Captain since – the smell of it makes me cringe. Not a good decision!

    You are come so far in the last decade. As I have been reading these posts, I’ve thought – wow, what will we say when we re-cap this coming decade? Our recaps will likely include marriages and babies and all sorts of other things like that!

  21. Habbala January 7, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Loved it. And I agree that making out is TOTALLY underrated. Dating Spencer this summer was fun because he was the boyfriend that I would make out with for hours on end back when I was 16.

  22. Chelsea Talks Smack January 7, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    I LOVE THIS, this is a fantastic blog idea…..sigh, i forget so much really.

  23. Jessica January 7, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Amen! What a great recap and I’m so glad that after everything you wouldn’t change a thing. And hopefully at the positives way outweigh the negatives.

  24. larissa January 8, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    this was just wonderful to read! i love the new site! i’m amazed at all the trials and tribulations you’ve been through, yet combined with all the wonderful things… i’ve discovered like you have i’m sure, that life will always come with the good and the bad, its what we make of it that ultimately matters. even though my 2010 isn’t quite starting out the way I wanted it to, its still going to be a wonderful year- i’m going to follow your example and finally do things for me… this is my year and i plan on making it count. :D

    ps- i know i’ve been up and down with the writing, but maybe its time to get back on the bandwagon. i’ve missed reading your stuff, i’ll try not to disappear again. sounds like you’ve been doing wonderfully and that makes me happy :D
    …sorry this ended up being a novel. my bad. giggles

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. & that’s the way life goes » you are an inspiration - January 7, 2010

    […] Nora […]

Leave a Reply

