Chocolat & a Journal: A Giveaway

8 Jan

Two years ago after spending my New Year’s Eve in a college best friend’s wedding, I came home to emails from a guy I briefly dated shortly after I first started blogging apologizing for not being “the man for me,” and sorry that he kissed like a lizard. (No, really he did. Darting tongue combined with licking my chin in all seriousness. Great guy, not so great kisser.) I never used his name, my location or any identifying factors but somehow he managed to find my blog on Blogger. (And yes, I know that posting things on the internet means that someone might find it  but I have no idea at all how in the world he found my blog.)

At once I was startled, embarassed but above all, it was time for a move. I deleted the old blog with all it’s charming dating stories and made the switch to WordPress. It’s been a lovely two years because I embraced and joined the community accepting it for all that it is and making friends across the globe.

As a thank you to all my loyal readers, I’m celebrating with two giveaways!

Giveaway #1: A book, a movie and chocolate. To be exact: Chocolat by Joanne Harris, Chocolat the movie with the smoldering Johnny Depp and a Cadbury chocolate bar.

Giveway # 2: An artisan journal,  a set of my favorite Thank You notes and  G2 pens (my favorite ones ever)

Three ways to enter:

* Leave a comment telling me why you started blogging, why you love (or hate) Johnny Depp, or what your favorite writing utensil is.
* Blog about this giveaway & leave a comment letting me know you did.
* Tweet about this giveaway & leave a comment with a link to the tweet.

Giveaway is open to anyone, regardless of location. If the winner of Giveaway #1 happens to be from outside the U.S. I will make every effort to but the correctly zoned DVD or substitute the DVD for something different.

Contest ends on Thursday, January 14th at midnight. Winners will be chosen by the Random Generator and will be posted on Monday, January 18th.

Good luck and thanks for your loyal readership.

** I was not approached by any authors, individuals or companies with regards to this giveaway. These products were chosen by my own accord and I’m not being reimbursed or compensated in anyway. If Johnny Depp ever contacts me and asks me to promote one of his movies I’ll probably be too star-stricken to talk or blog for at least two weeks. That or I’d be making out with him somewhere.
63 Responses to “Chocolat & a Journal: A Giveaway”

  1. SSG January 8, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    Hello
    Again I see to be first commenter when there is a giveaway, oh well!
    So,
    – I started blogging to get out some pent up angst about a bad time in my life, inspired by a colleague at work. And then I moved on to enjoying it and getting my own URL.
    I love Jonny Depp cos he’s just so Indie, and cute, and great at acting.
    I love writing with a fine tipped pen, like the ones you get in Muji, I love writing with them on new stationery, I love that they come in all different colours. I’ve kept some pens and pencils from my youth as when i look at them they remind me of birthdays and christmases, first days at school, exams, writing to pen pals, trips out. Ooh I do love my stationery.

  2. SoMi's Nilsa January 8, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    How on earth do you and Kyla have a giveaway starting at the same time and ending on the same day – are you two in cahoots?!? =)

    My favorite writing utensil has to be pens at work. We have Zebra Jimnie Gel Rollerball pens … and they rock. The only downside is they actually do run out of ink before you lose them!

  3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 8, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Great giveaway!!!! :) I hope I win!

    Oh, and great story about the guy finding your blog! Wow – he must have had some serious searching abilities to find it!

    I started blogging when I went to Paris for 3 weeks in June of 2008. I knew I wouldn’t be able to call home so I blogged to keep my family up to date on what I was doign over there. I love it so much, I started my current blog when I got back. I am so glad I found blogging. It’s such a great writing outlet for me & I have met such wonderful people – like you! :) I am looking forward to meeting some of my bloggy friends in 2010!

  4. Emily Jane January 8, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    I started blogging in… 2003, 2004 maybe? Gosh that’s a long time – I remember, at the time, I knew only one person in the world who had a blog, so I joined LiveJournal, and for the next few years filled it with just-out-of-high-school angsty drama, mostly about boys. I made the move to WordPress when I wanted to start writing more seriously – to really “blog” and not just keep an online diary for myself. I knew I’d always loved creative writing, and though I’d stopped writing stories I wanted to continue to write, talk about my thoughts, and develop my writing skills – and the making connections part of it only came a few months ago, really, when I started exploring other people’s blogs, too. Now I write to continue to get better, to be creative, to document my progress – I’ve found writing out my goals and then actually achieving them is incredibly rewarding! – and to network and keep up with wonderful friends I’ve made like yourself!

    I LOVE Johnny Depp because he’s incredibly talented and versatile – the man can play ANY role in the world and still be fabulous. I love that he seems to have that dark side that makes him so popular in Tim Burton movies – he seems to have an appreciation for creativity that isn’t so apparent in other Hollywood actors, and he’s never really been in tabloids or sleazy gossip magazines, so he’s got some real class. And I just adore a man in eyeliner :)

    My favourite writing utensil… would have to be just a plain old biro! We used to write with cartridge pens in England when I was at school, and after moving here, as much fun as it was to be able to buy actual cartridges and have the ink change colour, biros were everywhere and they’re just easy to write with.

    Happy friday :)

  5. Alesia January 8, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    I started blogging because my thoughts were taking up too much room in my head, knocking over the furniture, and generally being a nuisance. What I didn’t expect, and was happily surprised to find, was community. I learned I wasn’t the only crazy person out there.
    I love Johnny Depp because he’s lovely to look at and funny and loyal. A winning conbination.
    My favorite writing utensil is a super-sharp #2 pencil.

  6. Liz January 8, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    I started blogging soon after I got engaged to document the whole wedding planning process. Then I realized it was a great way to vent and make friends as well.

    And what ISN’T there to love about Johnny Depp?

  7. Akirah January 8, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    My favorite writing utensil is a computer. Does that count?

    I started my blog because I wanted to share my thoughts about the quarter-life. I didn’t know if anyone would want to read them…and I don’t think loads of people do, but I’m having fun. I dunno. I guess I started my blog because I wanted something to be mine. I’m not having any kids anytime soon, so this is the option laid before me.

  8. Kyla Roma January 8, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Love this! I started blogging as a way to showcase my old etsy shop and wedding planning, then it morphed into a wedding blog and finally, to my surprise, it turned into a personal blog.

    But lets be honest, I probably just have an undiagnosed histrionic personality disorder lol ;)

  9. Lauren January 8, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I started blogging when I moved to Cambodia and really started getting involved in the blogger community after I moved to NYC and had a boring desk job.

    And now I don’t blog but I love reading all of yours! Great giveaway. I’m with Nilsa – you and Kyla both in the same day? Daaang!

  10. RootsAndRings January 8, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    I started blogging a year ago in an effort to make myself write. I had no idea I’d love it so much!

    Great giveaways!!

    My favorite pen is the Pilot V5!

  11. Sara Lang January 8, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    My favorite writing tool is a fine tip sharpie, I use them to write almost everything!

  12. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 8, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    What a fabulous giveaway. I’m SOOOO happy we’re blog friends, love :)

    I LOVE Johnny Depp. In some movies he’s hilarious (Pirates of the Caribbean) and in others he’s just damn sexy (Public Enemies).

  13. mandy January 8, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I love giveaways!!

    I stared blogging because I needed an outlet. I have always loved to write keeping journal after journal. After reading some different blogs, I though “I can do that” and thus my blog was born.

  14. Tabitha January 8, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Oooh yay! Both of those giveaways sound ahhhmazing. I’ll definitely get on the tweeting/blogging parts soon, but for now here’s my first entry:

    Why I love Johnny Depp: Because he is an incredible actor who can fill just about ANY role perfectly. Because he is ridiculously sexy (and will always be — even when he’s 70, I’m sure). Because he brought us What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? and Pirates and Finding Neverland.

  15. ria January 8, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    oh no! that would really stink to have someone you wrote about find your blog and email you to let you know!

    i started blogging because i needed to write and i’m always in front of a computer :) i never thought in a million years i’d find a community.

  16. Little Fish January 8, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    (or hate)?!?!? How could anyone hate Johnny Depp?!?!? He’s not only stunningly good looking, he’s supposed to be one of the nicest people in Hollywood.

    BTW- if Johnny calls you I won’t tell your blind date, Diego Luna, he might be too jealous!

  17. clairesuzanne January 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I started blogging late in the game (read: 1 month ago-ish) and am trying to learn from more experienced bloggers (like yourself) how to avoid such situations of awkward blog-life interactions.

    Great story, great give-away. I started blogging because I wanted to write about things other than work required me to write about. And as for Johnny Depp – not only is he beautiful, he seems genuinely nice.

  18. Jennifer January 8, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I started blogging because all of my friends were doing it and I liked to be able to vent and share my successes!

    Am I going to be penalized for saying that I don’t like Johnny Depp? He’s just not my type. Too scruffy and dirty. Please don’t delete my entry. :)

    Favorite writing utensil…that is tough. But I will say that I prefer blue ink over black ink. I like to add a little color.

  19. Nahl January 8, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I’m a peoples person! I love connecting to people-thus,the blogging. :)

  20. jen January 8, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    What a great idea!! i started blogging three years ago when i was up and moving from my favorite job ever to live with boys in a new town…i think it worked out alright;)

  21. Kerri Anne January 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I started blogging back in 2004 (holy crap), as a way to keep consistently writing (quasi) consistently. Five (holy crap) years and many grand adventures later, and I’ve made some of the best friends of my life doing this silly thing called “blogging.”

    Best use of Johnny Depp, ever: Captain Jack Sparrow.
    Second best use of Johnny Depp: Edward Scissorhands.

    Once upon a time I would only write in blue ink (crazy pen lady, much?), but now I love to write with fine-tip black uni-ball pens.

    (Thanks! for the giveway.)

  22. Mandy January 8, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I started blogging in high school as a way to share my thoughts with my bestie when we weren’t together. Apparently e-mail wasn’t an option. It’s evolved in various ways from there, on multiple blogs. Now I blog because I enjoy writing and being part of the blogging community.

    Johhny Depp always wins me over with his looks, and the roles he plays.

    My current writing weapon of choice is the Sharpie pen. If only they’d offer their full spectrum of colours, I’d be in heaven.

  23. imerika January 8, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    I started blogging because I was bored at work one day. A year later, and holy crap, I’m like a real blogger! : )

  24. imerika January 8, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    I tweeted about the giveaway too! http://twitter.com/imerikablog

  25. Kathleen January 8, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Johnny Depp is one of my top celebrity crushes. I have had several dreams about him, and I’m not ashamed of it. Also, Chocolat is one of my favorite movies but I’ve never read the book.

  26. kilax January 8, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    It is amazing how much you can find on the internet!

    What a fun giveaway. I was excited when I read this becuase the G2 is my ABSOLUTE fave pen. I won’t use another. And I totally prefer 05.

    We asked for Chocolat for Christmas but did not receive it ;)

  27. kilax January 8, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Oops, I forgot to answer why I started blogging. I started blogging in July of 2005 as a way to keep in touch with family when I went to Rome the following winter. It stuck!

  28. bellerenee January 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Nora, this is such a cute giveaway!! Firstly, I started blogging the internet was new to me and seemed like a logical step from my paper journal into the Big Kids World. (I started blogging when I was 13 – when it was still called an open diary.) Secondly, I actually don’t like Johnny Depp. I hope this doesn’t sway my chance to win the giveaway! I just don’t get what the big deal about him is, I think he looks like a bum. BUT, I do recognize his talent and think he was wicked in the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory remake. Thirdly, my favorite writing utensil is a good ol’ standard Bic pen. Black or blue ink, I’m not picky.

  29. brookem January 8, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    i think we dated the same lizard! i don’t mind johnny depp. love or hate? neither… he’s just meh for me. and my favorite writing utensil is nice feeling pen.

  30. Habbala January 8, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    I started blogging because it was a good way to keep my family updated on my life… I still blog because of people like you Nora. :)

  31. Ali January 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I started blogging this past spring to let people know about my adventures around Europe. My blog became a great place for me to post both travel stories and photos.

    I’m not a huge fan on Johnny Depp, but maybe Chocolat will change my mind.

    My favorite writing utensil is bic mechanical pencils, with G2s being a close second.

    Fabulous giveaway and congrats on your two years!

  32. Kate January 8, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Hi! I started blogging in order to share my recipes and tips on eating healthy, because it’s so important! By doing so, I’ve met many wonderful people in the world of blogging! =)

  33. Mel January 8, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Chocolat was the last and most recent movie I had seen with Johnny Depp! Love him. So sexy and rugged!

  34. katelin January 8, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    can i just enter giveaway two since i already own both chocolats because the movie is one of my favorites?

    but um i love johnny depp so much in the movie because he makes a pony tail look good and he plays guitar, oh le swoon oh swoon.

  35. Kori January 8, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    I love that Johnny Depp can look so sexy all the time, even when he has eyeliner on! Any other man would look like a complete fool!

  36. Allie O. January 9, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    I know that it’s strange to get excited about pens, but Jeff has these awesome pens that I ALWAYS steal from him (no idea what brand they are because I never have to buy them). There’s something about writing with the right pen that makes everything so much better.

  37. Margarita January 9, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    I started blogging as a way to get all my feelings out and I have always loved writing. It’s so therapeutic for me. I ADORE Johnny Depp and if he wasn’t married and I was single I’d be stalking him. My fave writing utensil is my PILOT black ink pens. Fine point. Perfect.

    Also, I have never seen Chocolat but have always wanted to. This might be a good time to watch it ;)

  38. Margarita January 9, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    I tweeted: http://twitter.com/fabbrunette/status/7548299832 ~~

  39. mieletcannelle January 9, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I originally started blogging to let my family know I was alive! *laugh* I was traveling across India, looking into little tiny internet cafe’s and such to type tiny and eventually full updates of where i was. It let them know i was ok no matter what I was doing.. Travelling through India, diving off the coast of Burma, treeplanting in BC… It was many moons and many blogs ago, but it makes me smile to this day. xo

  40. E.P. January 9, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    OK, first off, that is TOO funny about the ex-boyfriend finding your blog. It’s a shame that you deleted all the stories, but I can completely understand why you would. (To this day, I am terrified about a few certain people finding StyHand.)

    I started blogging because I was bored during my last semester of school. I was taking one class (thanks for screwing me over, mass comm school!) and I didn’t have anything better to do with my time, so I figured ‘why not start a blog?’ And then Stylish Handwriting was born. And I’m now here today.

    The Internet… so cool how it brings folks like us together!

  41. barbetti January 9, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I started blogging because I had so many unsaid things in my head, especially when I was dating a major asshole. And he belittled my opinions and thoughts so I turned to the Internet for a better place. So, while I am NO FAN of that ex of mine, I am a fan of blogging so at least he was good for SOMETHING.

  42. Amanda January 10, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    For some reason, the only movies I like Johnny Depp in are the Pirates movies, and he’s the only real thing I liked about them. I can’t explain it. He’s hot in eyeliner!

  43. Caz January 10, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    1. I started blogging back on livejournal doing the angsty-16 year old thing. I started this blog because it was my last semester of college and I wanted to share with the world all the crazy and insane things that happened to me on a regular basis. Those stopped happening so much once I graduated but I’ve kept blogging my experiences of life overseas.

    2. Johnny Depp is the ultimate be-all-end-all of my celebrity crushes. But believe it or not I have yet to see Chocolat. Would love to.

    and 3. hilariously enough, while I’m not too attached to writing utensils, the G2 07 is the pen I always steal from my boss at work.

  44. Caz January 10, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    http://twitter.com/C4ZZ4/status/7590129043 Here’s my tweet!

  45. Becky Travels January 10, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    I started blogging as a way to express myself and to be part of the 20sb community.

    Johnny Depp is a dream boat! That is all there is too it. What I would do for 10 minutes alone with him…

  46. Erin January 10, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Chocolat is one of my all-time favorite books! And Johnny Depp is amazing. His performance in Finding Neverland makes me swoon every time.

  47. AuburnKat January 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    First of all I love G2 pens too!

    I started blogging because of my ex, weird huh? He saw an article in the newspaper in Wichita about a blogger and he told me he thought I would enjoy blogging. That’s how it all started…

  48. Tabitha January 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Took me long enough, but here’s my tweet in support of this awesome giveaway! http://twitter.com/probablytabitha/status/7613661570

    (And the blog post is coming sooooon…)

  49. Tabitha January 10, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Here’s the post where I mention the giveaway. Ohh man, I’m gonna be crossing my fingers ALL. WEEK.

    http://probablytabitha.com/2010/01/10/sunday-scatterbrain/

  50. mandy January 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    I tweeted!

    http://twitter.com/MandyKTD/status/7614016322

  51. LovelyAnomaly January 10, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Swooooooon. This is by far the best blog giveaway I’ve seen.

    My favorite writing utensil is, not even kidding, a purple Crayola fine-tip marker. It makes to-do post-its so much more cheerful.

  52. Jessica January 10, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Great giveaway girl! Way to go. I LOVE that movie and the journal/pens are very cool too. I started blogging because I wanted to have an outlet for my creativity. I loved to write and had nowhere to go with it. So I just decided to start a blog. And I decided to because I was working more with blogs at work too.

  53. sleepyjane January 11, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    I started blogging because of the interaction. Since then it has become something I do for me, with the interaction as a major bonus. :)

    Oh and Johnny Depp? What’s not to love? He’s incredibly hot but the real kicker is…he’s actually talented too! :)

  54. andhari January 11, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Awesome giveaway, Nora.

    I started blogging because I need an outlet where I can write my feelings and rant, I’m a pretty quiet person in real life and I’m afraid nobody will listen to me if I really open up. My favorite writing utensil would be a mechanic pencil :p I’m a kid like that.

    I love Johnny Depp because he’s the sexiest pirate EVER. :D

  55. Tonya January 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I just ran across your blog (randomnizer on nablopomo) and you interested me chocolat… so here I am.

    I have been a blogger since 2006, most of my content is simply crap that goes in my own life. I started on Livejournal and made a switch a few months back to Blogger. I just liked some of their options better.

    My favorite writing utensil would be a gel pen… but I like the ones that click, not the ones with lids…. I live to annoy those around me (hehe).

  56. brenda helgeson January 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    i started blogging to talk about movies and books i love’ i love johnny depp because you always know he’s going to make an interesting acting choice and my favorite writing tool is a ball point pen

  57. oh January 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Whew! You do great giveaways, lassie! And the above comments are hilarious, personable, fun and winners all! good luck to everyone. I’m not entering; I’m just cheering for all y’all.
    signed,
    Darling

  58. Darcy B January 12, 2010 at 1:32 am #

    Yes please, I love Chocolate!!! I love Johnny Depp and Chocolate is one of my favorite movies. Why I love Johnny Depp–he is a fabulous actor and he chooses interesting projects.
    kakihararocks@gmail.com

  59. ShootingStarsMag January 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    oh wow, that’s such an odd thing to happen. I love blogging though. I’ve been doing it for over two years now and it’s just very rewarding in a lot of ways. I like talking to people and finding new blogs to read. I don’t always LOVE it, but overall, I’m so glad I started and now I can’t imagine stopping forever.

    As for Johnny Depp. OMG. I just love him. Nuff said really. He’s such a brilliant actor.

  60. Mia J. January 13, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Well I certainly love Johnny Depp. He does such a wide variety of interesting films and has such talent. He is also so darn good looking.

  61. Little Miss Obsessive January 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    I started blogging mostly to have an outlet to get over the breakup with The Ex… and seriously, best. decision. ever!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Overheard: Love, Pot and Cardinals « Walking with Nora - January 14, 2010

    […] Snapshot Overheard: Love, Pot and Cardinals January 14, 2010 {Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! Deadline is tonight at midnight. Also, if you haven’t already, please note my new URL is […]

Leave a Reply

