The Weekend of Smiles

11 Jan

The second weekend in 2010 found me…

… spending Friday night with my brother, clinging to last minute shreds of brother/sister bonding before he left for a new semester at college.

… devouring a chicken quesadilla at one of my favorite Mexican restaurants while debating with my brother where I see myself in one, five and ten years. (Answer: It’s all fuzzy, but all hopeful.)

… running through the Steak n’ Shake drive through to grab a few milkshakes to take home to the parents and laughing at the fact that it was about -2 F outside while we were ordering ice cream.

… playing Apples to Apples next to the fire with the whole family.

… de-Christmasing the house with Darling, an event that took much longer than expected.

… deciding to run a 10 mile race over Memorial Day weekend in Chicago thanks to some encouragement from one of my favorite bloggers friends. 

… hauling my butt to the gym to start getting my base miles up and feeling incredibly glad that I could run two miles with minmal effort considering that I’ve not been treadmill running in awhile.

… laughing, hard, at and with Eddie Izzard on Saturday night. Live comedy makes me happy and I have an even bigger celebrity crush on him, cross-dresser or not.

… finishing my first book of 2010 and starting another one. Neither is very deep but I have a few “tough” ones up next.

… rising early on Sunday morning to say bye to my brother and disguising the tears that started to fall when he left by looking busy moving Christmas boxes to the basement.

… enjoying an impromptu nap on the couch with Jack at my feet, “Something’s Gotta Give,” on tv and quiet in the rest of the house.

… loving “Sherlock Holmes,” at the movies and subsequent Sunday night dinner.

… cracking up at Jack as he fell in love with his new toy that my parents got him: a stuffed duck that honks. He slept with it right next to his mouth all night.

… resolving to conquer the busy work week ahead of me no matter what.

… jealous of all those people on House Hunters International on HGTV but it’s pushed me to decide that I will be going to France & Italy in 2011.

… ignoring my google reader and gmail account for just another day.

… smiling. A lot. Things are good.

25 Responses to “The Weekend of Smiles”

  1. mandy January 11, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    So glad that you got to spend some time with your brother before he returned back to school! Im glad that you two were able to share what sounds like so many great moments over these past few weeks. As for books that aren’t “deep” I am too ashamed of my literary choices these past few weeks that I dont even know if I can put them on GoodReads.

  2. Alesia January 11, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Sounds like a good start.

    I’d love some good book recommendations. Always on the lookout for a new read.

    Did you like Something’s Gotta Give? I’d be a much happier person if I never saw Jack Nicholson’s arse.

  3. SoMi's Nilsa January 11, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    That weekend? In Chicago? Is going to be so much fun. Seriously! I think I might need to host a pre-race pasta dinner at our place … and hire your dad to cook! =)

    We watch our fair share of House Hunters International in our house. Love it. It’s always great to dream. And to plan!

  4. Habbala January 11, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    JIGGING!!!!!!!!!

    I am ALMOST done with A Farewell to Arms… I really like it. Next is Great Gatsby followed by The Help. 2010 I am bringing the ability to finish a book back. :)

  5. Amy --- Just A Titch January 11, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Yay for Apples to Apples and family time—two of my favorite things, ever.

  6. Kyla Roma January 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    You smiling more pretty much makes my week- and I love that you and Nilsa are going to be running buddies! Have fun!

  7. Emily Jane January 11, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    This makes me very happy indeed :) Although you know what doesn’t? De-Christmassing. We did ours this weekend too :(

    But you are maybe the 200th person to rave about how wonderful Sherlock was, so it’s settled, I’m not waiting another weekend! :)

  8. Little Miss Obsessive January 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Yay to lots of smiles and good moments :)

  9. AuburnKat January 11, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    I was just thinking how I want ice cream, yet it’s freezing here!!! I could also go for a milkshake…YUM!

  10. barbetti January 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    If you need a buddy on your European vacay next year, I’ll be happy to accompany you. I can be your wine sponsor? Or something?

  11. Mel January 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    yum, I too, had a very delish quesadilla at my fave mexican restaurant this weekend!

    I think it is SO SWEET that you’re so close to your brother!

  12. katelin January 11, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    okay your weekend sounds amazing. anything with quesadillas and apples to apples is sure to please. love it.

  13. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 11, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    I love how close you and your brother are :)

    And, as I already told you, I’m SO EXCITED for your race! Can’t wait to read all about your training :) XO

  14. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 11, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    It’s so sweet that you & your brother are so close.

    Apples to apples is the best game! Love it. It’s become the family favorite in our house!

    I have never been to Steak & Shake – don’t even really know what it is, but when I come to visit, we have to go there! And we have to go out for mexican. And play Apples to Apples. And watch You’ve Got Mail. Hmmm, how are we going to fit it all in!!?!?

  15. Jessica January 11, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Sounds like a great weekend. Also, everyone is talking about Apples to Apples. I need to find this game and play it stat.

  16. jnyfritz January 12, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    ohh how i miss steak n shake…cheesy fries…yummm, and yay to a great weekend oh and holy crow Eddie Izzard is by far my favorite funny man!!!

  17. Matt January 12, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I’ve been wondering about that Sherlock Holmes movie. So it was good? you’d recommend it? let me know. Please?

  18. rachel January 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    there are no words for how happy this post makes me. sounds like a marvelous weekend my love.

  19. ria January 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    it always warms my heart to read about what a wonderful relationship you have with your family.

  20. Becky January 12, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    That seriously sounds like the best weekend ever!

  21. LiLu January 12, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Eddie Izzard is hilarious, and B and I have recently become obsessed with HH International as well.

    I fully approve of this weekend. ;-)

  22. jamie January 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    I’m jealous of your weekend. And all I can think about right now is a strawberry milkshake!

  23. Margarita January 13, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Sounds like such a good weekend. I love mexican food too, that should be something to do when we meet up!!

  24. CLo January 13, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    CoMo misses you, sis. Especially the 21-year-old in you. Thanks again for a great holiday. Love.

  25. E.P. January 14, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I love this all for you, friend. This list makes me smile, from Apples to Apples, to running a race with Nilsa… love it.

    I cannot wait for us to hang out!

Leave a Reply

