Snapshot

13 Jan

Yesterday I read Nilsa’s post on how we define ourselves and of course, my brain was off and running (which isn’t uncommon when I read her blog). While I can’t define myself as simply as she can, this what I came up with:

I am quick to love, but can be  slow to forgive.

I am that girl who will give, give, give and then give some more, even if it means leaving little left for herself. I’ve tried to “fix,” this as sometimes I wind up a burnt out mess, but I can’t right it.

I am the one who always has a shoulder to lean on, even nine years after I received this “award,” in high school. Complete strangers open up to me.

I am a lover of all animals, big or small. I’d adopt every single stray dog if I could (I’m allergic to cats otherwise they’d be on the list too.)

On a Saturday morning, if I have nothing else to do, I’m sleeping in. You can count on that.

I’m addicted to books, shoes, purses and Victoria’s Secret.

Some days I take on all the problems of the world and it really drags me down. I want to be that person who can wave a wand or implement policy and fix everything. No hunger, suffering, disease, conflict, hatred. I’m sure it sounds all idealistic and totally unreal but when other people hurt, I hurt.

I am that girl who will be at your house with a pint of ice cream if you’re going through a break-up, standing next to you holding your bouquet while you say your vows, buying lots of cute baby things when you’re expecting, and cheering for you from the sidelines the rest of the time.

I am that girl who doesn’t like to be crossed; I tend to live by the “three strikes,” and you’re out rule and sometimes I wish I didn’t even allow that many. Cross me three times and, well, that’s it.

I am learning to be in the here and now for both myself and those around me but I am always wishing, hoping and dreaming.

I am starting to resist technology: I don’t check voicemail for days on end, ignore Facebook and  lately don’t bother checking my email for days at a time.

I beat myself up over the silliest of things; I’m slowly learning to let that go.

I’m constantly striving to improve myself, my situation, my life and hopefully in the process will give back in some way.

I’m a bit of a hippie. (She hides underneath the professional exterior.)

As of learned over the last few months, I am who I need to be and right where I need to be, even if I struggle with that sometimes.

14 Responses to “Snapshot”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa January 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I love your version of definition, Nora! I think the whole point to my post is there’s more to us than jobs and kids (for those who have kids). We’re each dynamic in our own way and we shouldn’t hide behind the simplicity of this category or that one!

  2. Caz January 13, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    I loved this and after reading Nilsa’s had thought about doing one of my own. I’ll have to work on it though!

  3. katelin January 13, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    and this is why i heart you. we are so similar it’s a little nuts. but um love this and i may have to borrow this idea.

  4. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 13, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    This was so fun to read. And wow we are so similar! So much of what you said about you resonates with me. I guess that explains why we hit it off so well! You are definitely someone that is so easy to talk to. I feel like i can tel you anything and you’ll listen and won’t judge.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    So THAT’S why you haven’t accepted my Facebook friend request ;-) JK

    I loved this and think it depicts you perfectly from what I know of you. I can totally see how you give, give, give and give some more and I also see how you take on the weight of the world sometimes. But that’s what makes you, YOU! XO

  6. Kyla Roma January 13, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh my goodness, my life would be so much simpler if I had your three strikes rule, I’m taking that!! lol

    So muh of what you said jumps right into my heart- and I’m so pleased, lucky and blessed to know you. <3

  7. barbetti January 13, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    I’m lacking a lot of ideas on what to blog about, and found myself totally absorbed in your post. I guess that means I need to try it, too.

    You. Are. Awesome.

  8. jnyfritz January 14, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    i think i won an ‘award’ very similar to yours and i am still trying to find that magic wand to wave and make things better, maybe we could develop one together!! great post nora! you are an amazing person!

  9. Emily Jane January 14, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    What a wonderful idea! And we are so very similar it’s almost scary :)

  10. mandy January 14, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    I love this and adore you and the person you are. You have such a huge heart. I’m lucky to call you my friend.

  11. andhari January 14, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    “I beat myself up over the silliest of things; I’m slowly learning to let that go.”

    Me too :)

    And you sound like a person everyone can share and believe, it means you’re awesome :) and these people should be grateful and not cross you.

  12. Becky January 14, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    I love this! And we love you for being all of these things and more!

  13. Little Fish January 14, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    You are awesome!!!!

  14. E.P. January 14, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    I love this, lady! You are truly wonderful and a wonderful friend!

    Also? I’m a little bit of a hippie, too.

Leave a Reply

