Overheard: Love, Pot and Cardinals

14 Jan

{Don’t forget to enter my giveaway! Deadline is tonight at midnight.
Also, if you haven’t already, please note my new URL is http://walkingwithnora.com. The old URL will be going away soon!}

We have a very unusual group of men in the office this week: a bold, loud, potty-mouthed group of men.

Some of the things they say is just wow.

Man (to girlfriend on phone): If I had loved you when it was your birthday I would have gotten you something nice. I feel bad that I didn’t love you then. You deserve something better than a fast food dinner on your birthday. But if you want to get me something cool for mine since you love me now, a Wii would be nice or a PS3 or all the Lost Seasons on DVD.
(Nora Thought: …..{there are no words})

Man 1: I don’t understand these people who want to ban cigarette smoke in bars, airports, sports pavillions, restaurants and outdoor events.
Man 2: Me either. And what’s with these people who want to legalize marijuana?
Man 1: They are probably the ones who wanted to ban cigarette smoke. Where the fuck do they think they are going to smoke it? Sure as hell not in the bars, airports, sports pavillions and restaurants. Crazy hippies thinking they rule the world.
(Nora Thought: Tell me how you really feel about it.)

Yet Another Man: I don’t care what anybody says. If I see a dead deer on the side of the road, I’ll stop and take it. Saves me from hunting.
(Side Note: This made it in the list because it just totally caught me off guard. Not being a hunter of knowing much about deer, if you take one from the side of the road, is it safe to process it as food and etc? Or is there another purpose my naive self isn’t aware of?)

Yet Another Angry Man: I don’t get what the big deal is with StL Cardinals. Everyone in this town is so obsessed with them. They fabricate rivalries. The Cubs don’t give a shit about the Cardinals. They are fairweather fans. This town just sucks. I hate it. And the Cardinals.
(It honestly took all my strength to not go yell at this guy for dissing my town and my Cardinals. I gave him the stink eye through the wall, though I doubt he felt it.)

15 Responses to “Overheard: Love, Pot and Cardinals”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa January 14, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    You have stronger will power than I do. I think I would’ve said something to each and everyone of those guys. hahaha.

    From what I understand, road kill is not unsafe (well, assuming it is fresh and hasn’t been rotting there for a while), but it’s not nearly as tasty. When an animal is killed, it’s traumatized and it freezes up. Stiff muscles don’t make a tasty bite to eat (or so I’ve been told).

    Also, you can tell that mofo complaining about St. Louis that the stupid ass Cubs fans most definitely do care about the Cardinals. As a staunch Cardinals fan who lives in enemy territory, I can say with a fact that Cards-Cubs tix are hard to come by and the most expensive of the season (next to Cubs-White Sox). Jerk face.

  2. mandy January 14, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    They definitely would have gotten on my last nerve. God bless you for getting up every morning for them.

    My grandfather hangs his deer for a week or so (outside if its cold enough or in a refrigeration unit if its warmer). Very rarely does he process it within a day or two.

  3. lisamorford January 14, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Yeahhhh sometimes, the things I overhear are just crazy! You just want to shake people, lol. And that first one?! Wow. Awful!

  4. katelin January 14, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    wow to just all of those, especially the birthday one, haha. i really wonder what her response was to that.

  5. E.P. January 14, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Wow. There really aren’t any words that I could say here… I would have snapped on at least one of these overheard conversations. And the deer one? Would have totally taken me off guard, too.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    Ummm, there are no words… HAHA!

    As for the dear on the side of the road? My first reaction is EWWW BUT I guess depending how recently it was hit it might still be OK. As long as it hadn’t started rotting or anything. And come to think of it, whenever I see a dead animal on the side of the road it’s usually gone within a few hours so I guess some people DO take them somewhere!

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch January 14, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I LOL’ed at the birthday guy—what an asshole!

    And the deer…wow. Just gross.

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    I love overheard conversations!! Love them! This post made me laugh.

    And the deer thing? GROSS!!!

  9. Jessica January 14, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Wow. I can imagine how awful it would be to have to hear that yet it’s SO entertaining to read :) Colorful conversations

  10. Emily Jane January 15, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Oh my gosh!! This kind of makes me want to start carrying around a notepad to catch all the weird things I hear on the bus sometimes. I think there used to even be a “Weirdos of Winnipeg” website where people would just submit the random things they heard around the city :)

  11. Liz January 15, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Oh wow…

    And I REALLY feel sorry for the girlfriend from #1. Or maybe not. Because any girl with a shred of self dignity would promptly dump him, right then and there.

  12. Andhari January 15, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    The first guy is such an asshole, I would’ve kicked him. There’s no way I’m getting a guy wii if he gets me a fastfood dinner. Try Louboutin shoes and I might be a bit generous

    LOL

  13. Kyla Roma January 15, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Leveraging birthday presents and stealing dead deer?? That’s all so gross I have no words. None!!

  14. CLo January 16, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    Alright, well this isn’t exactly fair. Not one MAN has commented on this, so I’ll be the first. Yes, we say and do tons of stupid shit. (However, you know that I’m not like these yahoos.)

    Let’s not forget that women are just as prone to saying and doing stupid shit as men. We’re all human. We all make mistakes.

  15. imerika January 18, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    that boyfriend guy totally takes the cake…sometimes you just have to wonder…

    and as for the last guy…eh. I lived in Boston for four years and bitched about it all the time about how everyone there was colder than the weather. Of course, it wasn’t true, but that was just my lame ass way of saying ‘i miss home.’

Leave a Reply

