The Weekend: Pups, Being an Adult, Dancing

19 Jan

Last weekend was spent getting up at odd hours with the 16 year-old beagle that was left in my care while my parents were off jet-setting around South Beach Miami for a few days. It was doting on him, making sure he ate his food, rejoicing in his tail wags as he jauntily pranced along next to Jack on mile-walks.

It was getting slightly annoyed at having to wake up at 6 am on a Saturday morning but giving into sleep on the couch with some cheesy movie on in the background.  

It was treating myself to dinner (pizza) and a movie (Iron Man) on Friday night, followed up with some Big Bang Theory Season Two, follwed with falling asleep on the couch at the hour of 11pm.

It was pushing myself at the gym, feeling the pain, but seeing results. It was going back for more.

It was watching old movies like Sex and the Single Girl and newer movies like 500 Days of Summer. (Side Note: I’d like to look like Natalie Wood in my next life. And I still have a few mixed emotions about 500 Days of Summer but overall, I’m glad I watched it.)

It was venturing out into the foggy evening to see a best friend and her hubs and enduring some crazy talk from another friend. It was being an adult and calling it a night when I knew my heart wasn’t in the mood to head to a bar. It was curling up with the pups, watching Sex and the City and indulging in some ice cream.

It was skyping with a best friend and my brother. It was blackberry messenger chats and phone calls with other besties who sadly live entirely too far away.

It was doing some cleaning because, well, it makes me feel better. It was dancing to Latin-infused music all around the house, making oatmeal chocolate chip cookies at 8pm on a Sunday night because I can, it was waiting for my parents to come home.

It was a weekend that somehow left me feeling slightly less rested than when the weekend started but as usual feeling content, excited and hopeful.

13 Responses to “The Weekend: Pups, Being an Adult, Dancing”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 19, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    We’ll have to talk about 500 Day of Summer next time we chat!

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. I know what you mean about being more tired at its conclusion… I have a love/hate relationship with weekends like that! This upcoming weekend, I have zero plans and I am so so so glad. I just really need a plan free weekend, esp since I have something going on every weekend from now until March. It’s all fun stuff, but I know many of those weekends won’t be restful, so I need a restful one to re-charge my battery!

  2. Kyla Roma January 19, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I’m glad that you had such a good weekend, even in spite of the crazy talk =)

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 19, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    I have to admit, I was giggling at your tweets about babysitting the beagle. Aren’t old dogs JUST LIKE old people? Haha so cute!

    Your weekends seriously always sound SO divine to me Nora. I can’t wait until I’m done school and I can succumb to naps and cheesy movies without feeling guilty.

    I also had mixed feelings about 500 days of summer. While I enjoyed the movie overall the end left me feeling really sad (not hopeful like some people said) and I’m not sure why!!

    Have a great day, love! Let’s plan that skype chat soon! XO

  4. SoMi's Nilsa January 19, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Sounds to me like the perfect mix of socializing and alone time. I love weekends like this … yay you.

  5. mandy January 19, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    I think it sounds like you had a great weekend minus the crazy talk and the 16 year old beagle, but even he is pretty cute. Talking to you was great as well and we must have a bi-weekly skype or something like that. How did the cookies turn out?

  6. Andhari January 19, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I would love a quality time with movies and cookies alone like that :) your weekend sounds divine!

  7. Jennifer January 19, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Your weekends always sound so full of fun!

  8. Habbala January 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    It sounds like a weekend we should have been together. We could have stayed in our PJs, taken the pups for walks, and probably laughed a lot.

  9. katelin January 19, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    sounds like a lovely weekend even if you were a little less rested.

  10. Jessica January 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    I think a young Natalie Wood is one of the most beautiful women (still) I’ve ever seen. Her eyes are stunning. 500 Days of Summer. Hmm, I’m still mixed on it but loved the music.

  11. Emily Jane January 20, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Natalie Wood is lovely, but not as lovely as you. :)

    How WAS Iron Man? I heard it was fabulous but it kind of fell off my radar. Rent-worthy?

    Also, I want to get a webcam/landline. I would *love* to talk to you, lady :)

  12. Little Fish January 20, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. if it will make you feel better, you’re more than welcome to come clean my apartment :)

  13. Matt January 21, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    pizza, Iron Man and the Big Bang Theory?

    I like your style.

Leave a Reply

