Cake or Death?

22 Jan

I have a slight addiction.

An addiction to merchandise sold at concerts, plays or other live events I attend. (I buy shirts, occasionally environmentally friendly tote bags, and rarely a sticker. Shirts are perfect for the gym, sometimes going out… DMB shirts have the coolest designs ever… and sleeping in.)

When the doors finally open and I can go into the venue, I make a beeline to the “merch booth,” to peruse the wares. Depending on the event I may be able to find presents for the family (like a “Killers” t-shirt for Darling, or a sticker for my brother to put on his bass case). Other times it’s purely selfish, all for me.

So, when my whole family went to see Eddie Izzard earlier this month, I told myself it wasn’t necessary to buy anything. Sure, I’ve seen his stand-up on DVD but never live, I don’t know all his jokes, so it would be pointless for me to buy something.

And then I saw it. A t-shirt that says “Cake or Death?” I had to have it. Partially because the question is obviously ridiculous and who would choose Death over Cake? Partially because it was a cute fitted black tee with a glorious looking cupcake/cake logo. I bought it.

Then my family teased me for not having a single clue as to what the message on my shirt means. After the show I promptly used “the google,” to find out what I’d be displaying proudly when it’s finally warm enough to wear the shirt:

Another reason to like Eddie, in case you didn’t already? He ran 43 marathons in 51 days. 43 FULL marathons, in 51 days. They showed a video after his show about his journey and I must say it’s incredibly inspiring.

I also can’t wait for this movie to be available in the U.S. It’s a documentary all about Eddie Izzard, his path, his life, but what struck me the most? The quote that is woven throughout this trailer, all about believing in yourself. “You’ve got to believe.” Plain, simple, but so true.

17 Responses to “Cake or Death?”

  1. Little Fish January 22, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    I am so anti-clutter that I never ever buy anything at concerts or shows. When I go away on vacation I have to force myself to try and buy something to bring home as a memory. I love to travel and I love the photographs, but I never know what I would do with a souvenir mug/shot glass/baby spoon!

    Glad you had fun at Eddie Izzard. I’m not a big sweets person, but, if given the choice, I suppose I’d take the cake too.

  2. Kyla Roma January 22, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Oh that doc looks amazing! I need to know more about him, I know his name and his look but I haven’t ever paid too much close attention, and that is just… totally fascinating.

    I would take cake too.

  3. Daria January 22, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Wow. I didn’t think it would be healthy to run 43 marathons in a YEAR, nevermind in less than two months! lol!

    I do love Eddie, though I have only seen part of his stand up on tv. He has a way about him that makes me laugh. (I guess that’s why he’s the comedian and I’m the receptionist, eh?) Glad you enjoyed the show, and I think you should put up a picture of the shirt. =)

  4. Mandy January 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Cake for me, without question. The marathons is pretty intimidating – I couldn’t even do one half marathon.

  5. Ben January 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I pushed and shoved down to the shop at the Kelly Clarkson concert in hopes of getting the sassy black My Life Would Suck Without You tshirt with no luck. Lousy tweens and their quick little legs…

  6. jen January 22, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    i LOVE Eddie Izzard and as soon as i saw your title i heard his voice in my head and then him repeating it…and then i had to laugh! enjoy that t-shirt and wear it proudly! i used to be that way about merch tents, but somehow somewhere i decided it wasn’t totally necessary…

  7. Tabitha January 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Ah! I love that Cake or Death clip. He is a hilarious man. :) And I am absolutely IN AWE about the 43 marathons thing. Holy. Freakin. Crap.

    Thanks for sharing!

  8. Brittney January 22, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Oh no, humor AND an accent? I’m so all over this! <3

  9. butterflycharlie January 22, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I love Eddie! Very jealous of your t-shirt. Mmm cake.

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Holy cannasta. I can’t imagine running tha tmany marathons in that few days. That is crazy and so impressive. When I ran my first marathon, I had no idea what to expect, and I kind of miss that naivete. Now I know how much it will hurt the next day and I wish I could block it out! ;)

    I only have one shirt from a concert – it was a Ben Folds concerts that I attended in Australia. now i have no idea where that shirt is… it might have gotten thrown out in one of my post-break up cleaning binges!! I threw out so much stuff in an effort to minimalize my closet!

  11. brookem January 22, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    my manfriend loves this dude! i never really got him- but this video is funny. and holy hell, he ran 43 marathons in 51 days?! crazy!

  12. Habbala January 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    So funny. I buy mugs when I go places and do things. It’s what I collect… I hate matching mugs.

  13. mandy January 22, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    The answer is always cake.

    I’m not a big concert merchandise buyer but I think its all fun and what great memories you must have every time use wear/use something from a concert.

  14. Margarita January 23, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    I have never bought anything at a concert before – it seems so overpriced.. but I am part of the Killers fan club… so I get my Victims shirts that way.. ha ha.

  15. barbetti January 23, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    I feel so out of the loop! I have no idea who Eddie Izzard is, I don’t watch Glee and I didn’t really like 500 Days of Summer. I need to be kicked out of blogging, I guess.

    And I’ve only been to one real concert in my life. Brooks and Dunn, 1995. Bad-a-bing!

  16. Jessica January 24, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Cake or Death on a T-shirt? I would have to buy it too. When I’m at events, I usually splurge on a program. I never have to worry about it fitting and never fades :)

  17. SoMi's Nilsa January 25, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    If you wear that Cake or Death shirt for the race in May, I’ll wear my I’ve Got A Culinary Boner shirt. I’m pretty sure we’ll get a few laughs from that one. hahaha.

Leave a Reply

