Inner Peace *

26 Jan

(via we heart it)

25 days into 2010 and work is beating me to a pulp. I’m not very good at pushing back at the office or saying no in my personal life which leaves me overextended and gasping for air.  I feel behind in my friendships, my emails, my cards, the fun projects I like to do and kind of feel like a bit of a disappointment to myself and to others. My brain reminds me of Times Square on it’s busiest day: never slowing, lights flashing reminders of projects to-do, chores to attend to, noise and anything but calm.  Overreacting? Maybe, but it’s just kind of how I feel. Maybe it’s the fact that we have had nothing but cloudy, gray days for the last two weeks, or maybe I just need more sleep.  

Times like this it’s important for me to recenter myself, try to slow down and find moments of Inner Peace.

Peace is resolving to leave work at work as much as possible, even if that means not reconnecting your work email to your Crackberry.

Peace is holding a six-week old baby for 15 minutes on a Saturday afternoon. The gray clouds disappeared as you hold a miracle in your arms. Double the peace when you smell the sweet baby scent. I literally could have smelled his head (that’s where babies smell the best if you ask me) all day.

Peace is allowing yourself to take a nap on Sunday afternoon, ignoring the gym, and the laundry pile for another hour or two.

Peace is settling in with another romantic comedy even though the plot is formulaic but alas, they make you laugh, they make you cry, they remind me that you are a hopeless romantic and to never give up.

Peace is hitting the treadmill hard, increasing the speed and distance, blasting the rap & heavy metal and pounding it out.

Peace is falling into bed, reading a good book for 10 minutes before falling asleep with the lights on, the book on your stomach, and your dog snoring beside you.

Peace is learning to shut out the noise, ignore the to-do list (both personal and professional) and just working on refocusing. A work in progres surely, but it’s always good to have a starting point. Next step? Reorganizing the tasks in my work day for maximum productivity, meditating a few times a week, and allowing myself at least one fun-only-for-Nora activity a day.

{via weheartit}

* (Special thanks to Kyla and the conversations we’ve had lately as she’s inspiring me to write what I really need to write lately, no matter the topic. )

What do you do when everything seems to be going a little too fast? I’m always open to advice or new ways of looking at things!

23 Responses to “Inner Peace *”

  1. Kyla Roma January 26, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    Oh sweetie! I’m so glad that it’s been helpful to chat, I’ve been loving our talks, as I always do =)

    What I do when things are going to fast is make a list of things that I like to do, and then I resolve to do one of them a day. So even if I’m running around like crazy, I’m still going to put on my headphones, listen to iTunes U about a topic that I’m crazy about and draw and write in my journal while I listen for a half hour. Or take a hugely decadent bubble bath. Sometimes that half hour can really make or break my day.

    My dad calls those “sparklers” and he builds one into every day.

  2. mandy January 26, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I’ve been struggling with my inner peace lately too (which is yet another reason we need to figure out group chats). When I need to seriously regain my balance I step away from things as much as I can (currently its my blog and twitter) and just spend time thinking, journaling, etc. Stepping away allows me to distance myself and get back to myself so to speak. I’ve learned that it really is ok to say no sometimes when you need to. Chats with great friend like you and Kyla always help too. =)

    I love that Kyla’s dad calls those little breaks in the day “sparklers.”

  3. Alesia January 26, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    I hear you. I hear you. Here’s to finding our centers in 2010.

  4. SoMi's Nilsa January 26, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Peace is learning to say no. Sure, your friends will be sad they don’t get to see you in the short run. But, in the long-run, they’ll be thankful when they get to see a positive, healthy, radiant you.

    My body used to tell me when things were going to fast. Now I have the People Hater, resident hermit, better known as Sweets to deliver the message.

  5. ria January 26, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    i’ve been having a really hard time with life moving to fast around me. too much work, too many obligations were keeping me up at night. i think the first step is admitting that i can’t do everything, all the time and it’s ok to take a break for some me time. i think you have a good start at finding your center.

    xoxo

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 26, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Loved this post. Lately, when I get home from school I’ve been leaving my blackberry out of arms reach, sitting down in my comfy chair and reading my book for 15-30 minutes. Just that little snippet of time where I’m relaxed and not stressed helps recharge me for a night of homework after spending all day working/at school. That’s my little moment of peace right now and after I’m done school I’m hoping to have a lot more of that!

    Also, love your new blog look :)

  7. Mandy January 26, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I struggle with this one constantly. But I’m learning that you have to make “you” a priority. Schedule in time to do whatever will relax you and make you happy in that moment. Everyday is different so it’s important to listen to your mind and body to see what will have the best effect – sometimes a nap, sometimes exercise, sometimes reading a book and sometimes just playing with your dog.

  8. Habbala January 26, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Ah yes, you KNOW that I am with you on this one.

    The greatest thing I have been doing lately is scheduling time on my outlook. I carve out my day, and I make sure the big projects are broken up. Then the little reminders pop up and tell me to switch projects– or if I’ve gotten off-track they serve to refocus my attention.

    It’s been working REALLY well.

  9. jen January 26, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    i TOTALLY understand and when i find myself moving too fast i literally, stop and smell the flowers, and if its cold and gray and just craptastic, i can be found in the closest supermarket, smelling flowers!

  10. barbetti January 26, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Your post reminds me how much I crave peace, especially in recent weeks. Even the littlest things, if I pause to appropriately appreciate them, can make a huge difference.

    By the way, your blog is BEAUTIFUL! Such “peaceful” colors! Spa-like.

  11. Little Fish January 26, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I totally relate to this. I’m definitely struggling for inner-peace lately and it’s taking it’s toll.

    I’m so glad that you’re finding small ways to bring yourself some much deserved peace.

  12. Chelsa Bea January 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Where has January gone? It seems like it just began and now it’s almost over. I, too, have been very overwhelmed lately with my work life and my personal life. Seems like I can never finish all or do all the things I want to. Finding ‘peace’ in the craziness of it all, is exactly what I need to remember. Lately, I’ve just had to let go and realize that I may not be able to do it all, and I may not be able to be everywhere. Letting go, taking a deep breath, and trying to ’embrace’ all the craziness and chaos that’s going on around me, is all I can do. Sending peaceful thoughts your way.

  13. Jennifer January 26, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    I like taking walks! (although it is cold out) I like to run outside, but when you walk, you really get a chance to think and process things or think about nothing at all and just listen to nature.

    I have also had so much more peace since I decided to turn off my work email on my phone. I might turn it on temporarily if I am bored sitting at a doctor’s office or waiting in an airport, but for the most part, my work email is not connected to my phone. I came to the realization that my job is really not THAT important that I need to be connected all the time.

  14. walkingonsunshine18 January 26, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    That Sunday afternoon you described sounds delightful!

  15. Brittney January 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Ohmuhgoodlord. You have put my brain into words: “25 days into 2010 and work is beating me to a pulp. I’m not very good at pushing back at the office or saying no in my personal life which leaves me overextended and gasping for air. I feel behind in my friendships, my emails, my cards, the fun projects I like to do and kind of feel like a bit of a disappointment to myself and to others.”

    And then I felt WORSE because I went – OMG ARE WE ALREADY THREE WEEKS IN!??! *EXPLETIVE* ;-)

    Even with my birthday coming up, it seems more like a chore than anything. I’m stealing your Sunday, fyi.

  16. katelin January 26, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    whenever things seem to be going a little too fast for me i curl up with a book to unwind or i just take a nap, because sleep is all sorts of wonderful :)

    hope you find peace and relaxation soon, because ummm you deserve it.

  17. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Another great post. :) I can totally relate to how you feel. I feel the same way. I thought this past weekend of relaxation would really help – and it did, but I am kind of back to my stressed and tightly wound self…

    For me, I find peace in running, reading, and knitting. Those activities help me re-charge my battery.

    As does spending time alone. Last Friday I actually took a lunch for the first time all week, picked up a book at the library, and then ate lunch at Chipotle. By myself. It was fan-freaking-tastic.

  18. Jessica January 26, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Oh man I’ve been beaten pretty badly by work too this month. It’s been so tough to really find that balance and peace too. I love all the things you listed for finding peace, I need to take your lead!

  19. AuburnKat January 26, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    I feel like my inner peace has been continually beaten with a bat lately. You are not alone in how you are feeling!

    BTW, we should take a trip! That would be SOO much fun and I really need a vacation!

  20. sleepyjane January 27, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    Oh I SO know what you mean!! When life gets too fast I always panic and get suuuuper stressed out. But when I reach a point where I can’t take it anymore I make a point of it to take a time out. Sit outside and read for an hour, make a great lunch/dinner, play with my puppies. And I always give myself a stern talking to. x x

  21. kilax January 27, 2010 at 5:55 am #

    I wish I couldn’t relate to the first paragraph! I have been in the same boat with work. I actually wrote a similar post today about putting myself first. That is what I have to do to slow down – remember my priorities come first! I have to take care of ME or I CAN’T get things done!

    Ignoring my to-do list always makes me feel guilty… even if I relax, I still feel tense! I need to work on this!

  22. Tabitha January 27, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I’m in agreement with pretty much every one of those peace-inducing items. Except i don’t have a Crackberry. I especially like the holding a six-week-old baby one…I would LOVE to do that right now.

    Hope you’ve been able to slow it down and feel a sense of calm this week!

  23. E.P. January 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Beautifully written post, lovely! Whenever I get stressed and overworked, I have to take a breath. A big one. I take some ‘me’ time and ignore some ‘responsibilities’ for a little while. Like you, I’ve got to find my inner peace during those times. It gets to be too much for me to handle if I don’t.

Leave a Reply

