You are an Obsession, You’re my Obsession…

27 Jan

(title courtesy of Animotion’s 1985 song Obsession)

This month I’m kind of obsessed with:

* Man vs Food. Granted half of what he chooses to eat is really, really disgusting (in terms of fat content) it’s definitely amazing to learn about the various culinary tastes of different cities across the U.S. I don’t recommend watching this show after you’ve worked out because no matter what, you will be hungry. Mt. Vesuvius Ice Cream Sundae, anyone?

* Jeffrey Dean Morgan. How I forgot about him since P.S., I Love You, I have no idea. I watched the Accidental Husband over the weekend (feel free to laugh at me if you wish, but I liked it) and not only is he sexy, he plays an NYC Fireman. My favorite combination:

* My Nintendo DSi. Since mid-December I’ve been doing at least three crossword puzzles each night before I go to bed. It’s addictive. It doesn’t help that my parents have fed my addiction with some games that I’m itchin’ to get started.

* The Big Bang Theory. I can’t get enough. I introduced my family to the show by giving my dad Season One for Christmas which we plowed through before New Year’s Eve. We may or may not have finished Netflix-ing (is that a verb?) Season Two last week. So now it’s either Hulu or waiting until Season Three comes out on DVD.  Everything about the show… I just love it.

* Anything on HGTV, Food Network or Travel. These channels are the reason I don’t get to sleep on time. I’m glued to House Hunters International because I just have to know what house they are going to choose, while grumbling about these people who can live in Paris and Belize, I want their jobs. Or stare at Color Splash because the designs are so awesome and the host is hot. Don’t get me started on Iron Chef or anything including Paula Deen (she’s hilarious). I just can’t turn it off. Apparently I have a mildly addictive personality when it comes to all things TV/movie related.

* The Treadmill. Why oh why did I stop running? The energy burst, the sense of accomplishment, the physical benefits. I’m kind of in love with it (again). I also kind of want to be a personal trainer (again). Probably something I should look into.

* Naps. With it being winter and cloudy, naps are the thing. A 20-minute nap after work? Yes, please. A two-hour nap on a Saturday afternoon? Most definitely.

* The Usual Suspects: Books. Movies. Fuzzy socks (well, okay, not a usual, just a winter thing). Netflix. My dog, Jack. Bloggy Friendships.  The snooze button on my alarm and chocolate.

What’s one of your obsessions this month? Anything I must do, see, or check out in February?

29 Responses to “You are an Obsession, You’re my Obsession…”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa January 27, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Jeffrey Dean Morgan = hot! Wowzer!

    Sweets loves the whole CBS Monday night line-up, including The Big Bang Theory. I used to work Monday nights, so I’d miss out. Now, I watch it with him – his laugh is infectious during those two hours. It’s truly priceless to spend that time with him. hahaha. And yes, the show is damn funny, too.

    My personal obsessions: The Millionaire Matchmaker, my humidifier and peanut butter chips (versus chocolate chips) as a post-workout snack!

  2. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 27, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    The Accidental Husband will be arriving in my mailbox today. :) Can’t wait to watch it! I love Jeffrey Dean Morgan. I fell in love with him when I saw him on Grey’s Anatomy (back when I used to watch that show!)

    I am obsessed with peanut butter cups. I can’t seem to eat enough of them… which is not good. Err, maybe I am just obsessed with peanut butter in general – I’ve been eating a lot of it lately, especially on apples!

  3. Margarita January 27, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Oooh Jeffrey Dean Morgan is so sexy – I loved him in PS I love You. I adore any tv that has to do with homes, cooking or reality tv, but we don’t have a tv yet so I’m going thru major withdrawal!! I try to watch some shows online but it’s not the same as channel surfing and just wasting time watching house hunters or something!

  4. Kyla Roma January 27, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    I love that you’re a Big Bang girl too!! I’m a HUGE fan. And I hear you on the treadmill, it makes life just feel better.

  5. Ally January 27, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    I hear you about Travel Channel and HGTV. I used to be sooo addicted to Int’l House Hunters and had to wean myself off of it last summer.

    This month I am obsessed with Burn Notice and cooking. And also soup. Seriously.

  6. Habbala January 27, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    I LOVE Modern Family, The Good Wife, and Accidentally on Purpose.

    I am obsessed with Christian writers who are smart (and liberal). See C.S. Lewis and Donald Miller.

    I am obsessed with Indian food, and naps after the feast.

    Oh! And our project. I am obsessed with that.

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch January 27, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I am obsessed with soup, fuzzy socks, writing, Modern Family and 30 Rock, hot chocolate with lots of marshmallows and dreaming big. Good list, friend.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 27, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    I’m getting really obsessed with The Office. I’m on season five and I just LOVE it! I’m totally invested in the characters now. I’ll have to check out the Big Bang Theory. My dad and brother watch it – and love it. One of the nurses brought it to my dad when he was in the hospital and it really cheered him up so I will definitely have to check it out!

  9. Lys January 27, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    first off, love your blog layout. the colours are so springy and it makes me happy.

    as for the DSi, i am done with all the word-searches and all of the easy and medium crosswords. i’m about 40% done with the hard ones, but man, are they hard! i love them to pieces though and i’m hoping that my brain is getting smarter because of it.

    and naps. yeah, naps.

  10. Megan January 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    I’m obsessed with How I Met Your Mother. Husband and I watched the first four seasons on dvd the past couple of months, and now we’re catching up on season five. LOVE it.

  11. jen January 27, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    so i am a total dork! but i have recently discovered pawn stars on the history channel…its like east coast chopper meets antiques road show!

  12. Matt January 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    I love afternoon naps. Love them.

  13. Mandy January 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I’m obsessed with my Blackberry and finding new blogs (even as my Reader explodes).

  14. mandy January 27, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I am in complete agreement that Jeffrey Dean Morgan is completely gorgeous. There is also nothing better than a nap on a cold day. I’m currently obsessed with applying for jobs in warm climates, dreaming of spring, and playing with my dog.

  15. CLo January 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Careful with those long naps, sis. They can be a sign that you’re not getting good sleep at night. (If me telling you this upsets you, then you know what it feels like when you “mother” me!)

  16. walkingonsunshine18 January 27, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    I forgot about JDM… UM HOTTNESS!

  17. barbetti January 27, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Forgive me, but…it’s….DENNY!!!! Oh man, do i love my Jeffie. Except in the Watchmen, because he was an asshole.

  18. sleepyjane January 28, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I fell in love with Jeffrey Dean Morgan from when he played Dean and Sam Winchester’s dad on Supernatural the first two seasons. It was awesome, I was sad when he died. :/

  19. kilax January 28, 2010 at 5:33 am #

    You would make a great PT! I love the feeling after I finish a run too… like the world is mine to conquer!

    I am obsessed with fuzzy socks this month too. And being warm in general. :) And the normal workout stuff, and trying new hobbies.

  20. LiLu January 28, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

    You had me at NYC fireman….

  21. Her January 28, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I’m obsessed with apartment hunting as we prepare for our move, but I’m not so sure you want to jump on that boat this month!

    I’m also obsessed with Hershey’s Hugs. Again, probably not a boat you want to get on.

  22. bellerenee January 28, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    I DVR Man vs Food because it is THE BEST show to watch when there’s nothing else on. Did you see the one he did in St. Louis?

  23. Suburban Sweetheart January 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    It seems that all we have in common is napping & loving Jeffrey Dean Morgan… but that’s definitely enough. His voice is the best.

  24. Ashley January 29, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    I couldn’t agree more on The Big Bang Theory and Jeffrey Dean Morgan. I’ve just been rewatching the first season of Weeds and somehow he manages to be my favorite character even though he’s barely in the show and not alive.

  25. Mel January 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I am currently obsessed with Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations. :) Love him!

  26. E.P. January 29, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    I’ve been watching more and more of Man vs. Food recently, and I adore it. Probably too much.

    … I’m glad that I am not the only one.

  27. Jessica January 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Naps are always my obsession. Sigh, love them.

    I actually really enjoy HGTV. My parents recently became obsessed with it because we are redoing our kitchen and I keep making fun of them, but secretly, I find the channel fascinating.

  28. ria February 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    i love HGTV, Food Network and Travel channel. They are definitely my go to channels if there isn’t anything on. And Man vs Food fascinates and disturbs me all at the same time.

  29. curiousjessica February 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    Jeffrey Dean Morgan in supernatural = oh yeah! (does that make me really weird that I totally love Sam and Dean AND their dad?)

Leave a Reply

