That’s What I Said

1 Feb

“I think I really do want to have a baby… someday.”
Said on Friday night and then again on Sunday thanks to seeing a mass amount of cute little newborn babies and then baby shower shopping for my upcoming trip to Florida. Shocked that I said. Shocked that it’s true. Some days totally shocked that I’m nowhere close to that fairytale. For now though, I’ll just spoil everyone else’s babies.

“I’m an adult and not ashamed to say I loved this book.”
Said on Saturday afternoon after attending a lecture by a local StL writer (Ridley Pearson, author of Peter and the Starcatchers series, The Kingdom Keepers series and many mysteries) on his book, the Kingdom Keepers. He autographed my book which made me all sorts of giddy and thanked me for reading the Keepers series since it’s not quite as well known (yet). I should also explain that his mysteries are for adults, the other books? Young adult fiction. I always feel slightly sheepish navigating into the young adult section at the bookstore but these books are just SO GOOD. I will even admit that Kingdom Keepers scared me a bit.

“Don’t eat me! I am NOT hay!”
Said on Sunday (early) morning as Darling and I started our first volunteer day grooming horses at the local Equine Assisted Therapy park. Note to self: Wearing a bright yellow jacket is not a good idea as the horses will think you are hay and constantly try to devour parts of your coat. Editor’s Update: I actually enjoyed working with the horses except for when one bit the other and caused the horse I was working with to freak the heck out and nearly run me over.

17 Responses to “That’s What I Said”

  1. Margarita February 1, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    LOL!! I think everyone wants babies when there’s newborns around! That horse thing is too funny, I’m very fearful of any animals eating me at petting zoos especially.

  2. Kyla Roma February 1, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    lol! AW I love when horses do that- they love some textures & tastes. And sounds. I used to have jackets that crinkled and ourhorses loved playing with them. My favourite was when my mom’s old horse would play with my rings. <3

  3. Kimwithak February 1, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    The last one was hilarious! I’m not hay! Ha.

    I’ve said the first one recently. It’s not feasible now, so I’m going to do the same thing you do and spoil the little ones I do get to see.

  4. SoMi's Nilsa February 1, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I want an upcoming trip away to celebrate a loved one’s upcoming baby! Even if I’m not making babies myself!

    So glad you had a better experience this time with the horsies. Maybe you’ll be able to share pictures next time!

  5. Liz February 1, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Maybe next time you should douse yourself in tobasco sauce. :)

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 1, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    LOL. I can’t believe the horse tried to EAT you. That’s kind of funny… Just a little bit :P

    I sometimes say I want a baby too. They’re just so cute. And soft. I don’t like it when they cry, though.

  7. mandy February 1, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Haha, I am probably one of the few people who says they DONT want a newborn when babies are around.

    I do however love young adult books and am not ashamed to admit that. Have you read Diaries of a Wimpy Kid?

    I

  8. Her February 1, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Babies really are addictive! I’m never really around horses, but I love them anyhow.

  9. CLo February 1, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Whoa whoa whoa, horses think that because you’re yellow, you’re hay? Can we confirm this? But I’m glad you enjoyed them this time.

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 1, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Great post – I agree on the baby thing. I think I actually said that this weekend as well when we were talking about babies. Of course everyone else is married so it’s normal for them to say, ‘I’m ready for kids.” Not so normal when the single lady is saying that. I did back it up by saying – obviously not any time soon. But in the mean time, spoiling my nephews & friends babies is just wonderful and they are always happy to take me up on my offers to babysit!

  11. Erin February 1, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Your volunteer work sounds great! I volunteered at a barn that did hippotherapy (therapy on horseback for students with special needs). It was such a neat experience.

  12. AuburnKat February 1, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I’ve definitely been struggling with the fact that I’m nowhere close to having a baby either, the more I think about it the more anxious I get. SO, I’ve been trying not to think about it=)

  13. sleepyjane February 2, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    Young adult fiction is the best…I’m not ashamed to say it. ;) lol

  14. Emily Jane February 2, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    LOL I loved the last one!! :) And being around small, well-behaved, cute little babies sometimes gets me saying things like that….(not the hay part, haha), but being stuck last week on more than enough flights with screaming, tantrum-throwing bratty toddlers definitely added an extra five years onto the thought :)

  15. Ally February 2, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Babies, a book signing and horses? Sounds like a great weekend!

  16. Manderz February 2, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I try very hard not to verbalize any thoughts about wanting a baby as I know they are only momentary lapses in judgment. :-p

  17. Lauren From Texas February 3, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    “Some days totally shocked that I’m nowhere close to that fairytale.”

    Just keep in mind that a) you are still so very young, & have so much time ahead of you, and b) things can happen very, very quickly. Nine months after shaking hands with Michael for the first time, I was walking down the aisle to marry him. I’m not saying that time frame is for everyone, I’m just saying that no matter where you think you are in your life, it can throw you a curveball & next thing you know, your plans have completely changed.

    You are such an amazing woman. Have a beautiful vacation!

    xo

Leave a Reply

