Ask, and You Shall Receive

3 Feb

Greetings, friends! Today’s post is brought to you by the lovely Mandy from Manderz Musings. Like with many of my blog friends, I have no idea how we “meet,” but she’s quickly become one of my favorites. Her post today is a lovely view of what it’s like to be a newbie to the blogging community, how get involved and “meet” people and her take on the joys and benefits of this powerful group of people.

Nora and I met through blogging, as many of you can probably relate. A friendship starts so quickly, it often goes unnoticed. For us, a comment here, a response to a tweet there, and now, the opportunity to guest post. I am honored that Nora trusts me this much.

The timing of our relationship could not have been more meaningful to me. You see, I am a huge believer in the Law of Attraction. For those of you that may not have heard of it, the concept is that the universe responds to all your thoughts, wishes, etc and sends exactly what you “ordered” to you. I am horrible at describing something, so I’d honestly recommend a Google search if you want to find out more. Back to to the story though, I had forgotten to put this law to use for me for most of 2009. My negative thoughts attracted negative realities for me. I made the decision to make a change for the better in 2010, and to let the power of my thoughts lead the way.

I have never been the type of person to have a lot of close friends. Acquaintances, I have by the boat-load. A year ago, I followed my fiance away from my hometown and all of my friends and acquaintances. Meeting people I truly “like” has been an on-going challenge though. And so, as part of my goals for 2010, I set out to make some new friends through the blogosphere. To my way of thinking, is there any better place to meet people that share interests, thoughts, opinions with you AND are more than willing to communicate?

As I tried to figure out how to go about actually getting to know the people behind the blog, all of sudden I found posts everywhere on how to get involved. Recommendations to leave comments on blogs, respond to the people who comment on yours, send an email to someone to introduce yourself, join discussions on groups like 20sb. Now these may seem fairly obvious, but it was like a lightbulb going off in my head. A path was unfolding before my very eyes. And so I began to do what was suggested. I delurked through comments and emails, and was ecstatic when I received responses. Responses that encouraged further discussion. Twitter went from something all the cool kids were doing, to a way to follow other bloggers’ daily lives. Almost overnight, I felt myself become a part of the blogging community.

Anytime I started to stray from this involvement I so desperately wanted, a timely message or post would appear. Keeping me inspired and skipping along the path. I continued to read the blogs of those who commented on my favourite blogs. Lo and behold, I found more and more blogs and people with similar interests, or a story that captured my eye. And I made more friends.

The universe gave me exactly what I asked for: blogging friends. I did not know the “how” when I started on this journey, but the universe provided all of this knowledge for me. It just plunked everything I needed in front of me. I firmly believe that this opportunity to guest post was orchestrated by the universe. This is only the beginning of my journey. These new friendships need nurturing so that they will mature and blossom. My writing style is slowly emerging and evolving. I have no doubt that as it continues to do so, that many new blog friends will enter my life. If you want to follow along with me on this journey, I can be found at http://manderzmusings.com.

What has the universe given to you lately?

14 Responses to “Ask, and You Shall Receive”

  1. mandy February 3, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    The true honest to goodness friends I’ve made through blogging has been one of the best “gifts” the Universe has given me. I count some bloggers among my best friends, even though many of us have never met face to face. I’m glad that you’ve discovered much of the same. I’m fairly new to your blog and look forward to getting to know you better!

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 3, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Awesome post! I feel the same way. I stumbled upon blogging when I first moved far from home in September 2008 and it was EXACTLY what I needed. I don’t have a lot of super close friends where I live now, but I have my blog friends!

  3. Ashley February 3, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Beautiful post!

    Love the Law of Attraction bit as well.

  4. Kyla Roma February 3, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    This is such a sweet post! I hope you count me among those friends Mandy =)

  5. Sarah February 3, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    This was a very interesting post. In fact, you’ve just set off a whole lot of deep thinking on this subject.
    The one thing I’ve learned in life is not to worry about making friends. I make friends, really good friends, very easily. They just come. I consider it a blessing. The internet, however, is not the same. I honestly don’t know how to make friends online. I’m just stumped.
    As frustrating as that is, I actually appreciate it. I finally know what people mean when they say they have difficulty making friends, which (i hope) makes me more understanding.
    The tips you included, which may seem obvious to others, are not to me. I had to read that commenting was a good way of contacting people – it didn’t click that they don’t know I’m reading. Duh!
    Worse, I’ve been reading Nora’s blog since the summer and this is the first time I’ve commented. Sorry!

  6. Vanessa (Last Night's Leftovers) February 3, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Great post! Blogging is such an awesome way to meet like-minded people.

  7. krystal February 3, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Great post Mandy!!! Love it

  8. Chelsea Talks Smack February 3, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I love the blogging world because of this, it has given me many great friends!

  9. Nicole February 3, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Okay, this is quirkily ironic (no I don’t really believe quirkily is a word.. ) but, I was just thinking how I used to more involved in the blogging community, and then I got a retail job, so I wasn’t as involved.. but NOW I am really wanting to JUMP back into it! I have a new job, and more time to read blogs.. and THIS is what I decided to read.

    Maybe I do believe in that law of attraction stuff.. hmmmm

  10. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 3, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    I love the blogging world as well. I can’t imagine not being friends with Nora and all the other fabulous ladies I’ve met through blogging. They seem to know me differently than my other friends. I feel like I don’t have to hold back either, which is really, really nice.

  11. oh February 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Wonderful to hear your story…very cool to be a guest blogger, and excellent picture you put with your post, Mandy! Blog on!

  12. Suburban Sweetheart February 3, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    I’ve been trying to figure out how & whether to figure out how to tell my boss I want to look for a new job – in a new state – come summer. And today he asked me if I wanted to have a meeting to discuss my future at our office because he knows most employees my age don’t stick around past three years (my mark is coming up).

  13. Lys February 4, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    i’ve never had a lot of close friends, just a small handful of super close ones and lots of acquaintances, so the blogosphere is perfect for me in that same way.

  14. Emily Jane February 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Lovely post! I’ve never been a person to have bucketloads of close friends either, and I’m very grateful for the people I’ve met through blogging. I’m really glad I found you as a blogging friend :)

Leave a Reply

