Beautiful Mess

4 Feb

Please welcome Habbala to my blog, one of those gals that is lucky she doesn’t live in the same city as I do because if she did? We’d be attached at the hip. If I ever move to California, I’ll have this girl to thank for it. 

 Hi.  I go by Habbala, and I blog over here. I am honored to be guest posting here at Walking with Nora and let me tell you why.  Nora?  She is the real deal.  She is a genuinely amazing friend.  She is supportive and funny, true and honest.  But you probably already know that… cause you’re already here. 

 Nora and I are in very similar points in life.  We’re still trying to figure it out; making the rules up as we go.  Faking it until this new life feels real.  We are learning more every day who we are and what we want… and we write about it.

 We write because it’s cathartic for us to get our thoughts out of our heads and it’s helpful to record the process.  We also write because there is a chance that one of you might learn something from our lives too.  So, on that note, I would like to share one of the things I have been thinking about lately:

I have noticed that my strengths can sometimes be weaknesses and sometimes my weaknesses can be strengths.  Let me illustrate:

I am passionate.  At my best, I feel things intensely and get ridiculously excited about most anything.
At my worst, I leap before thinking and overwhelm people with my energy (and lack of an inside voice).

I am emotional.  I am able to empathize and feel things truly with my whole heart.
At my worst I am viewed as weak and run the risk of being crushed by the propensity for the people to be so evil to each other.

I can read people.  At my best I make people feel heard and understood.
At my worst I be manipulative; knowing how to get what I want from the people closest to me OR decide quickly that I don’t think we’ll be friends.

I am selfless.  At my best I want to bring together people and make them feel loved, cared for, and valued.
At my worst I can forget about myself and be an avoider of conflict.

I am happy.  At my best, I see the best in situations and I bounce back from disappointment quickly.
At my worst I am terrified of letting myself slip into sadness.

All the time, I am a beautiful mess.

 What about you?

10 Responses to “Beautiful Mess”

  1. mandy February 4, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Great post! I think a lot of us are in that same place.

    At my best I am peaceful, balanced, and calm. At my worst, I am at hot mess of emotion and irrational.

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 4, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    GREAT post. I really relate to it. Especially the part about being emotional. I’m SO emotional and sometimes it’s a good thing but most of the time it’s not; it makes me look (and feel) weak.

  3. Habbala February 4, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Let the record show, I would LOVE to be connected at the hip with you dear.

  4. Emily Jane February 4, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I could say a couple of those for me, too – especially the emotional and selfless ones. I’m slowly learning to make time for myself, too – and to try and not have such extremes when it comes to emotions :)

  5. Kyla Roma February 4, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Very cool! I like your list, I will only at to it that I’m nostalgic and that I swear too much. lol

  6. ria February 4, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    I can read people. At my best I make people feel heard and understood.
    At my worst I be manipulative; knowing how to get what I want from the people closest to me OR decide quickly that I don’t think we’ll be friends. <— Me too

  7. Manda February 4, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Yep, I followed you over here. Woot.

    In brief, I am an eternal optimist, a problem-solver, an educator, an achiever, and a bridge between people and social groups.

    At my best, I am effervescent, motivating, gregarious, and confident.

    At my worst, I am superficial, scattered, hot-tempered, and unsure.

    Fun exercise.

  8. Amanda February 4, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    For a minute I thought I was reading the wrong blog, haha.
    Love this idea….at my best I’m compassionate, thorough, optimistic…at my worst I’m impatient, judgmental, and have absolutely irrational expectations.

    I also share your sentiments – I <3 Nora :)

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 4, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    She described you just as I would have!

    I am most definitely a beautiful mess. Mostlyl w/ the whole passionate/emotional thing. I’m also extremely hard on myself, which is good and bad. It pushes me to work harder & be the best, but I also mentally kick the sh*t out of myself quite often…

  10. Manderz February 5, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Great idea. At my best I’m always willing to help and trusting. At my worst I have demanding expectations and no patience.

Leave a Reply

