The One where Doug Funnie makes an appearance

5 Feb

Today’s blog post is brought to you by Lovely Anomaly. Instantly bonding over our proximity to one another (only two hours up the highway), our love for hugs and hot chocolate and many other things, I can’t wait to meet her. (Ahem, Lovely, you hear that?) Enjoy today’s post which is a little bit educational, a little bit throwback and a lot of funny. Anything that mentions Doug Funnie is A-OK in my book and should be in yours too!

“You are a nerd.”

Oh man.  That was probably the WORST way to start a guest post.  I’m so sorry.  Geeze.  Nora counted on me to keep you guys entertained while she’s enjoying sunshiny bliss and I’m over here calling all her readers nerds.  Let’s try this again.

I am such a nerd.

(Better already, isn’t it?)

But, no, really.  I am.  Last semester I took a course covering parasitic plant nematodes. . .for fun.  And I know Doug Funnie bagged a neematoad when he first moved to Bluffington, but that’s not quite what I’m talking about.

 
If you ever start to think that your life is dull, at least you aren’t wandering through the soil looking for plant roots.  Because that’s exactly what these little worm-like creatures do.  They spend their entire lives squiggling and squirming through the soil searchin’ for roots to slurp on.  ENTHRALLING, am I right? 

[crickets chirp]

(I am pretty sure this is the worst guest post ever.)

Anyway.

The Super Bowl is coming up this weekend and it really only means one fabulous thing:  lots and lots of food.  More importantly, lots and lots of potato chips.  Because, let’s face it, there are few things better than a nice, salty potato chip.  But if you’re at a party, EVERYONE STEALS THEM.  Gah.  They disappear before you’ve even had a handful.  And it sucks!  Don’t tell me I’m alone in this.

I swear these two topics correlate…

Last semester we learned about the potato cyst nematode.  I mean, the name alone should tell you that it is AWESOME.  Actually, no.  It’s a huge jerk, just ask Idaho.  The female nematode spends its life cycle in the potato tuber and then turns into this teeny little cyst to just, you know, hang out during the winter and then lay all her baby nematode eggs in the spring. I told you it was exciting.

So these nematode cysts really don’t make potatoes look all that tasty.  You wouldn’t buy one of these infected potatoes at the store.  So what does the agriculture industry do?

Turn it into POTATO CHIPS, duh. 

The icky-on-the-outside potatoes are turned into DELICIOUS potato chips, and during the process the potato cyst nematodes are knocked off the potato, leaving little bitty holes in our potato chips.

When you’re at the Super Bowl party this weekend and your friends are hogging the Lay’s or the Ruffles, just tell them they’re eating nematode-infected potatoes.  I’m sure they’ll hand over the bag in no time.

Or they’ll just call you a nerd.

Which is okay, because you’ve already heard it from me, so it won’t even phase you.

You’re welcome.

5 Responses to “The One where Doug Funnie makes an appearance”

  1. Habbala February 5, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    I will never be able to eat potato chips again.

    Thanks. :)

  2. Erini CS February 5, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    that’s…. kinda awesome. :)

    but now I want chips and dip. gah.

  3. Tabitha February 5, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Oh, yuck! And yet, unlike Habbala? I’m still totally going to eat potato chips like my life depended on it. :-)

    Great post!

  4. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 5, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Who knew! And that is kind of gross. I love learning little tidbits like this, though!

    And I am a total nerd too, and proud to admit it!!

  5. mandy February 5, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    I hope this is a jeopardy final question one day, because I really like knowing random things like this.

Leave a Reply

