For Good

8 Feb

Happy Monday dear friends! I’m taking another day off from the blog writing world so today’s post is from the lovely, loyal Mandy from Knowing the Difference. If you don’t read, her you should. Her imagery and poetic posts will knock the breath out of our lungs, make you re-evaluate your life and if nothing else add meeting Mandy to your Life List. When she asked if she could write an “Ode,” to me, I nearly fell of my chair. And then when I read this? I wanted to re-route my plane from Florida to Mandy’s piece of the world.

If you read my blog, Knowing the Difference, you probably know that my friendships are a huge part of my life. Most of my friendships are the type of friendships that I can’t recall the beginning of; there is no definite starting point. I don’t remember whether one passed me a message in third grade math class, or I sat next to her in a college lecture hall, or who sent that first email kicking off a great conversation. These friendships just somehow happened and morphed into such a profound bond that I quite honestly can’t recall my life without certain people in it.

My friendship with Nora is one of the very few that I can pin point the absolute beginning. It was one of those moments in life that stands out; one that I knew my life was going to change forever, for the better, because of knowing this person. The first time I was introduced to the friendly spirit behind this blog, wasn’t actually through her blog but instead by way of a Fedex box with some fun items and a friendly note. I had no knowledge of who she was, but just reading her note made me feel as if she was a long lost friend. She just has that way about her, making people feel completely at ease and comfortable, even if you are just meeting her for the first time.

Over the past year, Nora has become one of my most trusted, dearest friends proving that you don’t have to know someone face to face to establish the incredible bond of friendship. We’ve shared numerous emails, phone calls, and heart to hearts. I often forget that Nora and I don’t have a long history behind us. She listens without judgment, puts others happiness before her own, and goes out of her way to make sure her friends are ok. I know that no matter where life takes us or if our blogs someday go to the wayside that she and I are lifetime friends.

Nora has changed my life just by being my friend. I’m guessing she’s done the same for most of you who stop by and read this blog day after day. Our friendship reminds me of one of my favorite songs from the musical Wicked:

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return…
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end I know you have re-written mine
By being my friend…
Because I knew you I have been changed for good.
~ “For Good”

Who has changed your life simply by being your friend? How have your friends changed you “for good?”

10 Responses to “For Good”

  1. Becky February 8, 2010 at 8:47 am #

    What a beautiful post! I love that people in the blogging community have these awesome friendships!

  2. Kyla Roma February 8, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Aw you guys are so sweet =)

    Those friendships are incredibly rare, not just in bloggy friendships but just in life. I’m glad you guys found each other and have connected like you have <3

  3. Emily Jane February 8, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    What a sweet and lovely post! Friendships like these should be treasured, and I’m so glad you found each other. It’s so true – I can count my real-life friends that mean that much to me on one hand, but the ones I’m finding through blogging mean the world to me! :)

  4. lbluca77 February 8, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    You know when it comes to blogging I so agree you don’t have to know someone in person to have an amazing friendship. That is why I think so many people blog, it really is a beautiful thing.

  5. Suburban Sweetheart February 8, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Love this post. Nora, you pick the best guest bloggers!

    The friends who have changed me the most, whose friendship has truly influenced my life, are the ones who have stuck by me through the worst – and not just stuck by me but whipped me into shape, telling me when I needed to shape up & stop being destructive. They stood by me by, essentially, walking away when I thought I needed them – but in a way, that was better for me than I ever could have imagined. I was angry at the time, but they made me change, & then they took me back. I’ll always be thankful for it.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Aww, LOVE this post Mandy and I 100% agree. Nora was one of my first blog friends and she remains one of my absolute favourites. She is just too sweet!

    Great post :-)

  7. mieletcannelle February 8, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Oddly enough, as we’ve grown older, the person that has become my best friend is my sister. She’s 7 years younger than me, and we grew up in different countries, different economic statuses.. we grew up in different lives! Even though our parents are the same, our lives were so different. Now that we’re older, we’ve become closer friends, not just sisters, and it makes me so … happy.

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Ahh, that was beautiful! I totally agree – I don’t know what I would do without you Nora, and I also don’t know what i would do without Mandy as well! I am so thankful that you ladies have come into my life!! Now we just need to meet up! :)

    I think one of the relationships that has changed me is my friendship with my little sister. We were not close growing up because I tried to be too much of a mother to her. When she got engaged, I had to ease off and realize that someone else was going to take care of her & catch her if she fell. My easing off has been the best thing and we are now so close & have that sisterly friendship that I always yearned for. She made me realize that I can be a bit over-bearing at times and that sometimes i need to wait until she asks me for advice. ;)

  9. Pam February 9, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    What a beautiful post Mandy – Nora, you are lucky to have her as your friend.

  10. michelle woo March 2, 2010 at 1:45 am #

    Wow, it’s amazing how your friendship formed and how it has blossomed. How lucky the both of you are!

Leave a Reply

