The Visit

9 Feb

We went from twirling in our front yards while the sprinkler was on at age eight to celebrating her first baby.

{via weheartit}

We were next door neighbors for two years and then suddenly miles apart.

As much as I can’t believe it, Facebook is responsible for our reconnection.

A reunited trip, a bachelorette party, a wedding, a trip to Vegas, a visit to StL and finally, a baby shower.

We’ve been friends for 18 years.

She’s one of the few people I can talk to without filtering, thinking, worrying.

I fell in love with palm trees all over again.

I learned that I really can’t put myself before others, even if that’s what a vacation is for.

I felt her baby kick.

We stayed up until 2am talking about anything and everything each night I was there.

I helped throw a kick-ass baby shower.

I left without a single picture of the two of us, much to Darling’s chagrin (and mine, too).

I wondered if I really could up and leave my life as I know it.

We cried when it was time for me to leave.

I realized that some best friends really are forever.

My heart and soul finally thawed out over this trip thanks to the Florida sun and warmth, being around people who truly get me and renewing my sense of self.

 

24 Responses to “The Visit”

  1. ria February 9, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    sounds like a wonderful trip and definitely good for the soul. i can’t imagine now having a friend or friends like that.

  2. butterflycharlie February 9, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    wow that all just sounds incredibly lovely!

  3. Kyla Roma February 9, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    This sounds so amazing, I can’t believe you didn’t get any pictures at all though! lol I can’t imagine having someone so close to me being so far away, or having a friend about to have a baby!

    Wild. I’m so glad you had such a wonderful time.

  4. Little Miss Obsessive February 9, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful, much needed vacation.. glad to hear you had such a great time! xo

  5. mandy February 9, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    I am glad that you were able to enjoy your trip. It makes me happy knowing that you were with people who “get you.” You cannot put a price on that and yes, some friends really are forever. =)

  6. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 9, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Friendships like these pick up right where they left off, no matter how much time between. Glad you had such a lovely time visiting with a dear friend.

  7. Emily Jane February 9, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    This sounds incredible, and I’m so glad you had such an amazing time. I wanted pictures though!

    Facebook is wonderful for this sort of thing sometimes. For all the flack it gets, it’s 100% responsible for David and I reconnecting after many, many years!

  8. Amy --- Just A Titch February 9, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    That sounds magical, Nora. I’m so glad you had a great weekend!

  9. Liz February 9, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    So glad you had a wonderful time! You deserve it.

  10. Mel February 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Sounds like a fantastic time, Nora. And I know what you mean about Facebook! Who knew it would bring people together again!?

  11. samdotcom February 9, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    “Renewing my sense of self”

    That right there makes the trip sound so, so worth it. Glad you had such a fantastic time. You, more than anyone, deserved it. Oxo

  12. Suburban Sweetheart February 9, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    I cry every time I leave my best friend. She’s married now, & it feels so strange that he’ll be there – every time, for forever, from now on. But I guess it doesn’t matter – friendships change, but the good ones remain regardless.

    Glad you got to make the trip.

  13. katelin February 9, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    sounds like the perfect vacation with the perfect person. i love having friends like that, that just make life more fun when you’re together.

  14. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 9, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I know the feeling of taking a trip like that and not getting any photos! You’re just too caught up in the whirlwind of it all.

    I’m so glad you had such a wonderful trip to visit your dear friend! XO

  15. Kelly February 9, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Such a sweet post, you really made me think of my best friend :)

  16. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 9, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I love friendships like that where there is no filter and you say exactly what you think/feel. i feel that way with you!

    I’m glad you had a great trip! Now you need another one full of sun, sand, and relaxation!

  17. Jessica February 9, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Aww what a great post. I’m glad you’re back and that you had a good time!

  18. sleepyjane February 10, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    I’m glad that you came back refreshed and happier. :) It sounds like you had the best time ever, funny how just the right people make life so much more interesting and more colourful. xx

  19. Habbala February 10, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Glad you had such a great trip. I really love the picture you found AND I happen to think you have what is needed to make big changes. :)

  20. Nikolett February 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Sounds like an amazing trip :) I love friendships that can last for so long, even if you don’t talk for a while. I’m glad the Florida sun helped warm you up … crazy that you didn’t get any pictures, though!

  21. Megan February 10, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    I’m glad the trip was good for your soul. I love trips like that.

  22. Her February 11, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    The trip sounds like just what you needed. Some friends really are once in a lifetime, and are definitely to be cherished. I’m glad you’ve reconnected with yours!

  23. Sarah February 11, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Sounds like you had a perfect time in Florida. I love those friends who, no matter how long it’s been since you last saw them or were in touch, you instantly reconnect with them. The ones with whom time is utterly irrelevant, both in terms of how long you’ve been out of touch and how you can forget the time and chat until all hours.
    I’m glad you had such a lovely time with someone so special.

  24. Erin February 11, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Your trip sounds so sweet and amazing. Lifelong friendships are so precious.

Leave a Reply

