Nora Confessions Part V

11 Feb

Previous for installments can be found here , here ,  here and here.

* I’ve never seen Titanic. Or The Terminator. I don’t know that I ever will.

* My first “real” kiss happened when I was 15.

* I haven’t ever “tee-peed,” someone’s house, nor was it done to my house.

* The day of my high school graduation, my best friend and I decided we should try smoking cigarettes. We bought a pack, a lighter, and sat outside the graduation party at my HSB (high school boyfriend) house. We eached smoked two cigarettes and coughed our way through it.  

* I’ve only smoked twice since then, both times in Vegas.

* Also while in Vegas my friends convinced me to get a lap dance (from a guy). I took a shot, chugged a beer and laughed the entire time.

* I can’t have more than two glasses of wine without feeling hungover the next day. Somedays I miss “Party Nora.”

* Thanks to the few episdoes of the “West Wing,” that I’ve seen, all throughout high school and my early college days I wanted to be the Press Secretary to the President.

* These days I’m not really sure what I want to be when I grow up; I’m largely okay with that.

* Dave Matthews Band is coming to StL in June. I will be going and it will be my 10th time seeing him in concert. Excessive? Maybe, but the way his music makes me feel is worth the price of a ticket.

* I’m starting to like country music which is a huge deal since I used to have a physical reaction when I’d hear it on the radio.

* I don’t dread Valentine’s Day anymore, boyfriend or not.

What do you want to confess today?

27 Responses to “Nora Confessions Part V”

  1. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 11, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Awwww, I love Nora’s confessions. You know, I don’t mind country music. I wouldn’t say I seek it out all that much, but with some of the artists really crossing over to pop (Carrie Underwood, Dixie Chicks), I’m finding I can tolerate it. Sometimes.

  2. Kyla Roma February 11, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    I love these too- I’d never seen the terminator movies until I decided one week that I was going to watch ALL of them, right that moment. It was hilarious, I’m a fan of the cheesiness =)

    Today I want to confess that this has been an awful week, and I need to find a way leave it behind me. Pronto.

  3. Nicole February 11, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Haha. I love this!

    You HAVE to see Titanic. At least, I think. But it was such a part of my 7th grade experience, that I’m not so sure how I would feel about seeing it, for the first time, as an adult. Weird.

    I loved the West Wing. But wouldn’t want to be the press secretary yuck.

  4. Erin February 11, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    You must watch Titanic. So good!

    I’m in the middle of Season 4 of the West Wing, and I want to be CJ so bad it hurts.

    My confession: I’m not nearly as excited about my pregnancy as everyone expects me to be. It’s just not real to me yet.

  5. mandy February 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Your confession posts are always so much fun.

    Seeing someone 10 times is not excessive, its dedication. I’ve never seen the Teriminator movies in their entireity either. I dont like Arnold Scwartenegger.

    My confession: After the past few weeks I have absolutely loved all the snow we had. The thought of NOT having it, made me enjoy it so much more, same for all the family time.

  6. Amy --- Just A Titch February 11, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I would go see DMB with you—I’ve seen him 8 times :)

  7. Kimwithak February 11, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I don’t think you’re missing that much by not having seen Titanic or Terminator.

  8. Little Miss Obsessive February 11, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    I had my first “real” kiss at 15 too :) oh and I also miss “Party Allie” sometimes also… I’ve definitely noticed that hangovers these days are a lot more brutal and like you said – occur after only a couple drinks!! Just one of those things about growing up I guess.

  9. CLo February 11, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Yeah, Valentine’s day wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t advertised so much. Every show is interrupted by unrealistic romance scenes packed with attractive, white people. Whatever you do when you grow up, don’t be a marketing or advertising whore. Those people have no souls.

  10. Ben February 11, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    No one prepares you for the hangover sensitivity as you grow out of your party days. So rude.

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 11, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Great confessions.

    I smoked for about 2 weeks at the ripe age of FOURTEEN because I thought it would be cool, of course. The thing that turned me off it? The way my fingers smell after. SO DISGUSTING. I will occasionally smoke cigars if I’m really drunk, but I haven’t even done that since high school either.. Haha.

    I was a little wild in high school.

  12. Suburban Sweetheart February 11, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Ohhh, YOU’RE ONE OF THOSE DMB PEOPLE. I both loathe & admire such people; the former because I’m not into him enough to understand why so many people love him so much, but the latter because DMB devotees are so darn loyal.

    I can’t believe you’ve never seen “Titanic.” I want to pop it in now! Though I’ve never seen “The West Wing,” so perhaps we’re even.

  13. Doniree February 11, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    What Ben said. I had… some beers and wine last night and woke up this morning wanting to crawl into a hole.

    I can’t believe you haven’t seen Titanic. Like, whoa.

  14. katelin February 11, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    you’ve never seen titanic!??! ah! come on over and we’ll have a titanic party! please? :)

  15. Ev`Yan | apricot tea. February 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Not seeing The Terminator is okay. But I think you owe it to yourself to see Tiatnic, AT LEAST. That movie makes me cry every damn time, & it truly is a beautiful story. But then, maybe I’m biased because I’ve always been really intrigued by Titanic (the actual event, not the movie) in general.

    You should see it, Nora! I think you’d really like it.

  16. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 11, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Oh my we are so much alike! Although I have seen Titanic, I have never seen the Terminator – and probably never will. I did love the Titanic, though. :)

    I also can’t drink much w/out feeling it the next day. I also miss my days of being able to shake it off!

  17. Jessica February 11, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Vegas is a great place to relive your smoking memories. I coughed my way through my first cigarette too. Oh memories.

  18. Jessica February 11, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    So funny! On most Thursdays, I do confessions too!

    I loved all your confessions. I’m the same way with John Mayer that you are with DMB. It’s just worth it to me!

  19. Emily Jane February 12, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    Oh you must see Titanic! I saw it 4 times in the cinema with my nan :)

    My first kiss was at 15 too!

  20. brookem February 12, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    fun confessions! i can’t believe you haven’t seen titanic. neither has my manfriend.

  21. jen February 12, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    i confess that i am jealous that you get to see DMB in StL!! my brother in law saw that show last year and it was by far one of the best! i also have to confess that we have not purchased our dave tickets yet…

  22. Habbala February 12, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I am TOTALLY looking forward to this V-Day. It’s going to be… different being single.. but so great. I like the idea of celebrating love even if we’re not in it. I can still celebrate that he’s out there. They guy who is going to light my world on fire. :)

    P.S. I love you. And friend love is better than any stupid boy love anyhow.

    P.P.S. Seriously Titanic? I am making you watch it when you visit. Don’t argue with me.

  23. Matt February 12, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Never seen Terminator?

    Nora….

  24. rachieannie February 13, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    I know its not on this confession but I read through all of your old ones and instead of commenting on a post from August, I thought I would just tell you on this one that I also own all of the Gilmore Girls DVDs. Once I became a fan (season 4) I started pre-ordering the DVDs. Love them. I always bring them out in the fall. Something about that time of year screams GG to me.
    And I have seen all 10 seasons of Friends. I had an amazing friend who would mail me 3 seasons at a time until I finished them all. It didn’t take me very long.

  25. Her February 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I don’t think I could watch Terminator if I tried! I love your confessions–they’re wonderful tiny windows into your world.

  26. E.P. February 20, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Here’s one for you, to match one of yours.

    My first “real” kiss wasn’t until 19. I used to be embarrassed by that. Now? It just makes me laugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nora Confessions Part VI « Walking with Nora - March 18, 2010

    […] March 18, 2010 Previous for installments:  here , here ,  here ,here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

