Free

15 Feb

Sometimes you have to set yourself free.

{via Weheartit}

Free from the expectations of others, yourself.

Free from the daily schedule imposed by work, the gym, your day planner.

Free from the emails, google reader, facebook notifications that flow in day in and day out.

Free from the tunnel vision that so many of us fall prey to.

Free from the writer’s block that’s plagued you for two weeks.

Sometimes you choose to set yourself free, ignoring responsibility and running with reckless abandon. Staying up late instead of being a worker bee who goes to bed at 10 and gets up at 6. Choosing to go to the gym at 8pm even though you know you’ll be energized until midnight. Watching a movie guilt-free instead of thinking about the 100 things you should be doing. Getting lost in a book. Absorbing other cultures. Coming up with new challenges, hopes and dreams (thanks to watching the Olympics).


{Via Weheartit}

Other times, life happens and does it for you, telling you to slow the heck down, worry less, enjoy more. Maybe it throws a snow day at you, or you come down with the latest virus circulating the town.

Either way, it feels good. Refreshing. Reminding you that you have ownership of your life, your actions, your reactions.

If you don’t hear from me much this week, it’s because I’m busy living life … off the computer.*

{Via Flickr}

* I’m also recovering from the stupid virus that’s making it’s way around StL and that’s not fun to write about. And of course, when I say I’m going to live my life off the computer, I get 100 ideas for posts.

24 Responses to “Free”

  1. mandy February 15, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Being free is such a wonderful feeling isnt it? I hope you can move away from some of the every day constraints you have this week to enjoy life off the grid for a bit. And feel better!

  2. rachieannie February 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    This is beautiful! I could spout all sorts of cliches about life being a gift and all that … but I won’t. Instead I will curl up with my husband just a little bit longer tonight, close that laptop a little bit earlier and just enjoy being.

  3. Kimwithak February 15, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Jot the ideas down. We want to read them all…all 100!

    And feel better soon.

    This post was really beautiful.

  4. Erin February 15, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    This sounds lovely. Enjoy your freedom, and your time offline!

  5. AshleyD February 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    I hope you feel better soon, my friend! And thank you so much for being around on BBM/gchat. You’re a life saver!

  6. Holly February 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Beautiful post :) I try to plan for “free” days but when they come I always seem to find things to do to keep myself busy, like I’m afraid to just relax! Hope you feel better soon!

  7. Amy --- Just A Titch February 15, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Hope you are feeling better soon, Nora. Enjoy your time—may you feel relaxed and rejuvenated.

  8. Jessica February 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Beautiful as always. I swear you’re reading my mind lately. Feel better!

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Enjoy your break from the interwebs!!

    I need to feel a little more free than I do lately. I think going home & then going to Phoenix the following weekend will really help!

  10. Margarita February 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Well I hope you feel better and feel free this week! The Olympics are very inspiring, aren’t they? Always full of hope and dreams and rekindled fires. Love it.

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 16, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Lovely post, Ms. Nora. You go live life to the fullest. Get some shit done. Enjoy yourself. And we’ll see you on the other side, whenever that might be.

  12. Kyla Roma February 16, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Well feel a thousand times better, rest up, and I’m glad that you’re soaking up every little moment of life up at the moment. Sometimes its easy to get so wrapped up in the expectations that it feels a lot like you’re getting dragged behind life rather than keeping up with it- I’m glad you’re shaking that feeling =)

  13. Her February 16, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I hope the week off is just what you need for recuperating. Viruses are no fun, so I’m glad you’re doing right by yourself.

  14. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 16, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Hope you feel better and have a refreshing week! I miss your presence! XO

  15. Emily Jane February 16, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    This post was really wonderful, and taking some time off can do wonders. I hope you feel better PRONTO, and I can’t wait to have you back :)

  16. Jessica February 16, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Love this so much. Thanks for the much needed reminder. Enjoy your week!

  17. Lys February 17, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    i hope you’re enjoying your time away. you’re such a perfect reminder for all of us who find ourselves getting caught up in the whirlwind of technology and time, that we need a break too.

  18. sleepyjane February 19, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    I love that first picture…and I chose to stay up until 2 am this morning, rather than my normal bed time. ;)

  19. Rachel February 19, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    I’m going to try and do this this weekend.

  20. E.P. February 20, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I hope your week has been a good one and that you’re feeling a lot better. Nothing brings me down like being sick when I’m supposed to be out living my life…

  21. LiLu February 22, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    “Free from the emails, google reader, facebook notifications that flow in day in and day out.”

    I need to work on that one…

  22. Juliana February 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Feel better!! I think at times we all need to remember as much as we love our blogs, the bloggy friends and our keyboards that the internet is a THING and not a place.

  23. ria February 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    i go through periods where i have absolutely nothing to write about and then all of a sudden i have a billion ideas. i wish they came more evenly :)

  24. Lauren From Texas February 26, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I agree! Just let go & be free. Life is too short to be tied down & unhappy because of the way we “think” things should be. <3

Leave a Reply

