Beatin’ the Monday Blues

22 Feb

 

(via)

It’s not secret that Mondays are a bit, um, dreadful for a lot of America.
We have to break oursevles away from the cocoon of our home, our family, our loved ones, our pets, or projects and march out into a world where most likely the co-workers and customers have little regard for our stress levels, workloads, and “i’d rather be doing,” list.

I definitely fall prey to the Monday Blues or “Case of the Mondays,” but in the last few weeks I’ve learned to pump myself up. You know, like listening to my favorite song(s) on my way to work, singing at the top of my lungs. Planning a few “treats” for myself during the week like happy hour with friends, a different workout, or even a classic dinner and movie night chez moi.

I’ve also started bringing a book with me to read during my lunch hour, which I do so away from my desk. (I’m terrible about working through lunch or eating it at my desk, while working.) And making sure I have  a few extra (healthy) snacks on hand in case I get the afternoon munchies.

The little things really do make a difference. I find that as a result, Monday isn’t so horrid, I have a week’s worth of fun to look forward to, yumalicious food to keep my stomach happy and waist trim, and the stress, while present, doesn’t dominate my workday and bring me down. Besides, work is a means to an end, not one’s life.

Do you have any beat-the-Monday-blues techniques? Or do you love your job so much that you go leaping and bounding to the office each day?

22 Responses to “Beatin’ the Monday Blues”

  1. Habbala February 22, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Hooray for beating the blues!!!

    I treat myself to a latte Monday morning. I know a lot of people do it on Fridays, but Fridays are already pretty great. Monday’s need the extra love.

  2. LovelyAnomaly February 22, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Aw, singing in the car is definitely a great pick-me-up.

    I loved my summer job and anticipated another full week of playing outside with kids, teaching them about plants and bugs.

    But grad school Mondays? Not-so-much. I hate ’em. The only way I survive is cherry Coke and 5 minute breaks to catch up on blogs. =)

  3. mandy February 22, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    I am not a fan of Mondays. I view them as one day closer to Friday. I believe in treating myself on Monday whether that be a chai from my favorite coffee shop, lunch out, plans with friends, a night in reading, something to make the day/week better.

  4. Matt February 22, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    So what book are you reading?

  5. Margarita February 22, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    I honestly don’t really suffer too much from the Monday blues (*shies away in the corner*) but sometimes Wednesdays can blow ;)

  6. Erin February 22, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I definitely try to listen to favorite songs on my way to work on Monday. It really does help. I also put a special treat in my lunch.

    Today, I got to hear two tiny heartbeats…so that made for a good start to my Monday.

  7. Jessica February 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    I don’t always have case of the Mondays but lately I have. And with traveling this weekend, I was half asleep today. I try to get up and walk around during the day to keep me energized or get a treat.

  8. Becky February 22, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I completely agree about Mondays! Planning things is definitely a good thing to help get through the week.

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 22, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I need to work on making my Mondays not so awful. I def get the blues when Sunday rolls around. Although today was much, much better than the last couple of Mondays so that is a move in the right direction.

    I always bring a book w/ me to read on the bus rides, but should start taking a little lunch break to do some reading. I am sure it will help improve my mood!!

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 22, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    While I certainly don’t go bounding and leaping to my desk on Mondays, I really don’t mind work once I get there. It’s the getting out of bed thing on Monday mornings that I hate.

    Things I look forward to; twitter and google reader being lively again, my morning coffee and oatmeal combo and it always helps to pack a delicious lunch!

  11. Amy --- Just A Titch February 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I find that if I get everything ready to go the night before, it makes me less frantic in the morning, which makes any morning—but especially Mondays!—easier.

  12. OG February 22, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    I read blogs all day on monday. I also do that on Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It’s really a miracle I accomplish anything at all while in the office.

  13. Her February 22, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    I always feel like a jerk answering these questions because I work for myself! My work is mainly on the weekends, so Mondays feel like a day of rest to me. Shockingly (not) people don’t exactly clamor to have photoshoots then, so I take a leisurely day to catch up!

  14. sleepyjane February 23, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    I usually just try and not think about the fact that it’s Monday and just push on through. haha

  15. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 23, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    You know, I don’t get down that much about Mondays. Of course, I always wish my weekends were a little longer, but getting up on Monday mornings is no more or less difficult than any other day of the week.

    Though, I absolutely do agree with you when you say, work is a means to an end, not one’s life.

  16. Kyla Roma February 23, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I don;t get too down on Mondays, but I work a short week now. Mondays used to kill me! My favourite way to ramp myself up, honesly, is having a standing Monday afternoon lunch date. It was one of the only things that got me through my awful job last year because it gave me something completely concrete to look forward to every Monday.

    Beyond that, having fresh podcasts or audiobooks for my commute, snacks throughout the day, and taking breaks to read e-mails and blogs from friends are the main things that get me though =)

  17. Holly February 23, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I don’t get too down on Mondays either, but I DO treat myself to a hot chocolate on Monday mornings. I al so take frequent breaks to read e-mails/blogs, since my google reader seems to be a lot more active on Mondays than other days :D

  18. Emily Jane February 23, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    I’m with Amber, I don’t mind it too much once I get there but it’s the getting up early and getting out of bed I have trouble with. I do look forward to catching up on blogs, warm oatmeal and BBC radio first thing though :)

  19. Akirah February 23, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Mmm. I feel the same way about Sundays. I work an odd shift because I work for a youth residential program…so my workweek is Sat at 3PM until Monday at 11PM. Saturday isn’t too bad because it’s only half a day. Monday isn’t that bad either because the kids have school. But dammit Sunday…that’s a hurtpiece. Trying to occupy three special needs kids for twelve hours can be quite the challenge. Just sayin.

    But when I worked in the corporate, normal world, I would dread Sunday evening. Every week, without fail.

  20. Ashley February 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    My work week actually starts on Sunday, but Mondays are still rough. It’s my first day of the week on not enough sleep and everyone else is back to work so there’s so much more to do and it’s the day I realize there’s no more time to procrastinate on school work. I try to make it better by getting everything in place before the week starts and then there’s always podcasts to cheer me up during the day.

  21. kilax February 24, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    You have great tips! I think getting away from your desk is so important! I make my Monday better by exercising in the am or during lunch. It always makes me feel good!

  22. Jessica February 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    That picture is seriously so cute. I wish Monday’s really could be canceled!

Leave a Reply

