You are an (February) Obsession

24 Feb

The Olympics. It’s probably the first year I’ve really watched the Olympics, followed personal stories and medal counts and I have to say, I love it. (I do not love, however, commentators such as Bob Costas and Scott Hamilton… I don’t think they know the Golden Rule.) As a result of the Olympics, I’ve found my future husband. Tiny Detail: He has no idea I exist.

Cleaning Up & Cleaning Out. While Spring is probably another month (or two!?) away from my part of the world, it’s never too early for me to start cleaning out the clutter that I’ve amassed over the last few months. Along with that I tend to get really into cleaning (deep cleaning), leaving me with a sparkly, dust-free residence. Rather lovely if you ask me.

Glee Station on Pandora. I have no idea how or why it took me this long to find it but it has significantly improved my workdays. Whether it be a song from Little Mermaid or Glee, Michael Buble or Jason Mraz, I can’t get too stressed when these happy songs are streaming through the speakers.

Ingrid Michaelson. Her songs pop up on the Glee Station on Pandora and the combination of the music, her voice and lyrics stick with me. Specifically love this song:

Boston Legal. I know, I’m several years late on this one, but I happened to catch a few episodes on TVLand of all channels and as a result Season One has been added to the Netflix Queue. Can’t wait to start from the beginning! Side Note: James Spader is oddly… intriguing. And maybe a little cute in some sort of weird way.

What’s caught your eye in the past month? Anything I must check out?

(all of my February Obsessions are simply things I’ve fallen in love with over the last month. I was not approached by an person, company or entity to write about these things.)

22 Responses to “You are an (February) Obsession”

  1. mandy February 24, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    This month (ummm, how did it get to be the last few days of the month?) I’ve been obsessed with all things Olympics. The sports I’ve never really taken an interest in, the stories behind the athletes, the (hot, incredibly adorable) athletes themselves (and in the case of Askel, his incredibly attractive father). I’ve also been slightly obsessed with reading young adult fiction — Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief (buying the rest of the series tomorrow I think) and The Hunger Games!

  2. Nicole February 24, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Hahaha. I LOVE the Olympics! But I actually find myself muting the commentary quite often.. haha

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 24, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Good thing I’m a married lady. Because you and me? We’d be a fightin’ for Aksel Lund Svindal. He’s so very fine!

    Then again. I love me some Neal Cafferty (street name: Matt Bomer) on White Collar. OMG, so hot. Sweets even knows that we watch that show (a) because it’s a good show, but (b) because Neal Cafferty is a hottie and I’d be watching the show even if it were just terrible! hahaha.

  4. Akirah February 24, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I love the Glee Pandora station. It’s amazing. I also love the volume 2 soundtrack. It’s really good!

  5. Habbala February 24, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    The Glee pandora station is AMAZING.

    Love love love.

    Michael Buble’s “I Just Haven’t Met You Yet” is my theme song.

  6. OG February 24, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    February has brought me back to blogging and introduced me to some new blogs to read ;) I’ve also discovered words with friends on my Iphone.

  7. Kyla Roma February 24, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    I’ve never heard Ingrid Michaelson, I have to check her out when I get home!

    This month I’ve been in too much of a daze to have my eye caught by much, but I’m hoping that starting to slow down this week will change that =)

  8. Her February 24, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    He is SO hot, but don’t tell the Geek that, haha. Nothing’s really caught my mind–we’ve been so preoccupied, and I really can’t believe the month is almost over!

  9. Emily Jane February 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    This month was the month I discovered Glee the TV show – only 6 weeks til new episodes!! I’ve never really watched the Olympics before these ones, either :)

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 24, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    So that’s the man you want me to steal from Vancouver for you. Ooooh, he’s yummy!!! I will get on this operation immediately ;-) Perhaps I can lure him up to Kamloops….

  11. Mel February 24, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    The Way I Am…We were going to use that song for our wedding slideshow. We didn’t end up doing the slideshow after all, though. LOVE that song!

  12. kilax February 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I really love hearing the personal stories behind the Olympians too! Like the figure skater whose mother passed away?! Wow.

    My Feb obession has been trying to make processed foods more healthy at home. Wow… I am so exciting!

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I should burn you some Ingrid Michaelson CDs. Love her. She is so talented!!

    This month I have been obsessed with Amy’s Organic GF Mac n Cheese. It’s a microwave meal but I swear it is delicious. :) I’ve also been eating a ton of pickles, too.

  14. walkingonsunshine18 February 24, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I’m with you, I have never really watched the Olympics before and I didn’t realize on what I was missing out on – it is AWESOME!

    This month I’ve really discovered Regina Spektor… she’s amazing, just like Ingrid Michaelson! :)

  15. Jessica February 24, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Um I need to get on this Pandora thing because the Glee station would make my life right now. Must discuss!

  16. p.louise February 25, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Glad you discovered Boston Legal…this was my favorite show on TV for 5 years. Alan and Denny are just fabulous; James Spader and William Shatner had great chemistry together…who would have thought? To me James Spader is totally adorable…I just love him. He is currently on Broadway in David Mamet’s play RACE at the Barrymore Theatre. I have seen the show several times, including yesterday, and he is wonderful in the role. He also is very nice in person. Enjoy the silly ride that is Boston Legal…Lock and Load!

  17. ria February 25, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    he is a hottie! i adore ingrid michaelson

  18. Miranda February 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Hello—new reader here!

    I LOVE watching the Olympics every four years. It’s so fascinating, isn’t it?

    I haven’t seen/heard the Glee station on Pandora yet—I will definitely have to check it out! You can be sure I’d be singing along.

  19. Lauren From Texas February 26, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I’ll help you stalk your future husband. I’m good at that.

    I love The Way I Am – heard it right after I got married & to this day it still brings a smile to my face. :)

  20. Jessica February 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I love Ingrid! She is the best. I’ll have to try that Pandora station! :)

  21. E.P. February 26, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    All of these make me so happy! I didn’t know there was a Glee station on Pandora, and now I must check that out! And it makes me really happy that you like Ingrid and that song, too!

  22. Suburban Sweetheart February 27, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I love the Glee station, too. And am obsessed with Ingrid Michaelson. Have you been watching “American Idol”? One of my favorites sang “The Way I Am” the other night. It was great!

Leave a Reply

