Slice of Life

1 Mar

I had planned on one of those well-deserved relaxing Sunday evenings after a full weekend which was filled with friends, errands, checking things off the to-do list, lots of laughs, running, baking amazing cupcakes, real conversations, nerves over the earthquakes and tsunami warnings, but overall, positivity.

The Sunday evening would have been full of blog writing (which I hope to get to this evening) and reading, watching Boston Legal, putting my feet up and enjoying the weekend’s accomplishments.

Alas, life has other plans for you when you make your own.

Like, say, a flooded basement at your parents house which quickly throws everyone into crisis mode, making phone calls, assessing damage (thankfully the actual stuff  that was seriously damaged was limited to one room; the carpet did not fare so well and there’s a good chance that part of the walls will have to be removed and treated to prevent any mold growth), staying calm and pulling together. I passed out cupcakes to the servicemen who came out on a cold Sunday night, helped with dinner, handled the dogs, and got us blankets when the lack of heat (we had to turn off the furnace for safety reasons) started to chill us to the bone, offered whatever  I could to my parents feeling suddenly like a helpless five year old.

We wandered from room to room while the water restoration people did their thing: tear up carpet, rid of carpet, disinfect, repeat. Instead of doing the 1,000 things we had planned on doing last night, we were all shell-shocked, saddened and a bit frustrated. (Really, a tree root in the sewer line? Really?) At the same time, we know we are incredibly fortunate: blessed that it wasn’t worse especially during many international crises, to have amazing homeowner’s insurance, to have each other, neighbors who check in on us to see if they can help.

I feel a little disoriented, sleep-deprived, guilty (for what I don’t know) but all we can do is forge onward, be thankful for what we have, give what we can to those less fortunate than us, and move forward, to the next adventure, to the next slice of life.

24 Responses to “Slice of Life”

  1. Kyla Roma March 1, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Ugh, this is the worst!! I hope you guys didn’t lose too much, basement flooding is so profoundly awful, and I hate that feeling of ambient guilt- almost like instead of being at work or going on with your normal routine that there should be something you could be doing.

    I hope that the work day is at least a welcome intermission in between service people storming the house and that things get back to normal soon.

  2. mandy March 1, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    I’m sorry that life threw a wrench into you plans but am so glad that you were there to be with your parents and help in any way that could, I am sure they appreciated it. Thank goodness the damage was minimal (well removing walls isnt really minimal, but you’re right that it could have been so much worse) and that you all have amazing home owners insurance.

    I bet the service men were really glad that cupcake recipe made so many cupcakes. =)

  3. Manderz March 1, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I am so sorry to hear this happened. Giving cupcakes to the repairmen certainly shows your determination to make the best of the situation. I hope the repairs go quickly, for yours and your parents sake. If there’s anything we can do in the meantime, just let us know.

  4. Emily Jane March 1, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Oh my gosh I’m so sorry this happened! I really hope everything works out soon. I was thinking of your cupcakes this weekend, and I bet they were very much appreciated. And I always admire your knack for seeing the best in situations.

  5. Kimwithak March 1, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    We had tree roots in our lines just after we moved in. A horrible experience! I’m sorry this happened to you.

  6. Liz March 1, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Tree roots? Oh great. Cuz I have one big M’F’n tree in my front yard. How do you even prevent something like that?

  7. Margarita March 1, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I hope you sleep a little better tonight. Things like that always take us by surprise and shock us a little. Hopefully everything will be smooth sailing after this. Good luck!

  8. Nicole March 1, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    YUCK!! Well, I’m glad everyone is okay, and that they DO have home owner’s insurance. When I worked at a credit union, few years back ,there was this guy that his kitchen caught on fire ONE day after this home insurance had expired, and he hadn’t noticed that it was going to.. and yeah, that was NOT a fun thing to deal with! So I’m glad :)

    May you get all those fun Sunday things done this week.. because everyone deserves a Sunday, can I have another one please?

  9. OG March 1, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Damn Trees, always ruining things. Sorry to hear you had a rough night. Hopefully you have a better one this evening.

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 1, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Oh no! I saw your tweets yesterday about it, that really sucks love! For you and your parents. Hopefully everything gets fixed up as good as new!

  11. Sarah March 1, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Oh that’s horrible! I hope you somehow manage to make up for your lost relaxing evening during the week, although it’s not the same as when it’s on a Sunday. :(
    God! I hate it when major, plan-altering, hard-working-inducing things happen. Hope you have a better week!

  12. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    What a disaster! I’m glad to hear everyone is OK. We picked up Sweets parents from the airport last night after their trip to New Zealand. When we returned to their house, we realized their heat was out (for who knows how long). The thermostat read 41 inside. It was freezing. Brrr. (And grrr.)

  13. Ally March 1, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Wow, that sounds just awful! Thank goodness the damage wasn’t any more extensive.

    And cupcakes for the servicemen? You are too sweet. :)

  14. Charlie March 1, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    That sounds awful, hopefully most things there were safe. Good luck with getting things back together. On the positive side you were able to feed those who helped easily and better than they probably often are because of the situations.

  15. kilax March 1, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    I am so happy the damage was limited to one room! We have a lot of family who got flooded out two years ago… it is amazing what water can ruin!

  16. katelin March 1, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    oh man that is definitely not fun at all, but glad to hear that the damage wasn’t too horrendous. hope everything else works out well and the mess gets put back together soon.

  17. Her March 1, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    What a pain! I’ve never lived anywhere with basements until now, and had no idea that there were actually issues with them. Well, I’m glad you had cupcakes to sustain you…at the very least.

  18. Jessica March 1, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Oh my gosh! What caused the flooding? I’m so glad you were there to help and do what you could. Just doing the little things around the house make such a difference.

  19. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 1, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m sorry. :( That just sucks my dear. I know what it is like to go through that – it is so frustrating. I am sure your parents really appreciate you being there.

    We are lucky to have the support & infrastructure & insurance, etc, etc. But that said – it is still awful to go through everything you are going through. :(

  20. ria March 2, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    aw i’m sorry to hear about your basement. you are so nice to give cupcakes to the repairmen. i bet you made their day!

  21. sleepyjane March 3, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    Oh that’s horrible!! :(

  22. hannahkaty March 3, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    I am sorry for all the rotten luck! But you have the right attitude for moving forward, onto the next slice!

    Best of luck.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  23. E.P. March 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I’m so sorry that this happened to y’all! The downstairs of our house was once flooded because of a burst hot water heater, and that ruined a vacation when I was a kid. While the damage was kept to one room (like y’all!), it was a miserable experience.

    I hope y’all didn’t lose too much stuff and that you’ve continued picking up the pieces this week. Major hugs, friend.

  24. samdotcom March 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry to hear about this. I hope everything pulls together okay. You are such a sweet girl. The handing out cupcakes just screams ‘Nora’. <3

Leave a Reply

