Love/Hate: Chocolate, Spring and Overachieving

3 Mar

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted some of my Love/Hate Relationships I’ve got swirling around in my  head…
(See previous Love/Hates here, here, here and here)

Love: That I’m likely five months away from finally finishing my Masters.
Hate: That suddenly it’s all I can think about and anxiety creeps into my brain, my stomach, my heart so quickly. I have to remind myself it’s just school and I don’t have to score perfectly on all exams and quizzes.

Love: That it’s so sunny outside this week.
Hate: That it’s not very spring like… yet.

Love: Daylight Savings is coming up! More time after work to run outside and feel productive.
Hate: Losing an hour of sleep. Seriously, it takes me a week to adjust.

Love: Having about 10 different ideas for blog posts.
Hate: Not really having the time to sit down and write them.

Love: Pandora during the work day. Best invention ever especially since I can’t use my MP3 player & headphones during the day.
Hate: That I get only 40 hours a month; that’s one work week! I’m learning to limit my usage so that it’s only one during super tedious projects when I really need the extra oomph.

Love: Getting involved with local charities and donation drives. My favorite one right now is a drive that collects shoes and turns the proceeds from the shoes into water pumps & filtration systems to provide clean water to Haiti.
Hate: That it never feels like enough.

Love: With Easter coming up, my favorite candy ever is in the stores: Cadbury Milk Chocolate Mini Eggs.
Hate: I can’t resist popping a handful into my mouth if they are in the house. However, I feel the need to stock up on them because in about a month, I won’t see them again until Christmas. It’s a slippery slope.

20 Responses to “Love/Hate: Chocolate, Spring and Overachieving”

  1. Emily Jane March 3, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Ack I forgot about daylight savings!

    Totally with you on the charity front. I just got all my income tax receipts and it still doesn’t feel like enough.

    I love that Easter is early this year – I gave up sweets and desserts for Lent so those chocolate eggs will be mine in t-4 weeks!! :)

  2. mandy March 3, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Good for you for signing up for the next few classes and being all that much closer to finishing your masters. I’m am convinced that I have never been so excited for Spring as I am this year. I stockpile cabdury creme eggs in the freezer so I have them year round “in case of emergencies.” You should do the same thing with the mini’s! As for volunteering and working with donation drives, you’re doing something and that in itself is making a difference.

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 3, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    I didn’t know you only get 40 hours a month of Pandora. Clearly shows how often I listen to it. But, I do like it a lot when I pull it up at work.

  4. Slamdunk March 3, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Congrats on being so close to finishing the Masters. It is a great feeling.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 3, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Ooooh love this post, I might have to steal this idea!!

    Love: Being SO CLOSE to finishing my undergrad degree.
    Hate: That there are still FIVE weeks left.

    Have a great day! XO

  6. Kyla Roma March 3, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I’m a little tired and I read that you work with a charity that turns shoes into water, and I was very confused and impressed. (going back for more coffee! lol)

    Good luck with finishing your masters! And you’re right- you don’t have to get straight A+’s to be doing a good job! It’s hard to remember but it can really keep you sane.

  7. Jennifer March 3, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    I’m lovin the Reese’s peanut butter eggs. Aaron bought me a pack last week and I ate all 6 in a couple days. No self-discipline!

  8. Amy --- Just A Titch March 3, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    OH GOD THE MINI EGGS

  9. Sarah March 3, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    I LOVE this post! In fact, I’ve kinda stolen your idea and used it today on my blog. Thanks!

    I totally understand how you feel about your Masters. Except that I’m at the starting out stage.

    We don’t have daylight savings here and I really miss it. To be honest, we don’t actually need it, but I used to like the clocks going back and forth in the UK. It marked the start/end of summer/winter.

  10. OG March 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Congrats on being so close to finishing your masters, that’s a big step. I am a huge cadbury creme egg fan – I buy them up on discount the day after easter and try not to eat them all in one week. If you like pandora check out slacker radio. I think it’s slacker.com.

  11. Margarita March 3, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Those eggs are gonna be half price the day after Easter. Stock up THEN! I know how you feel about the blog posts – I have a million flying around my head at any given moment… until I finally find the time to sit down and write them out. I need to write them the second I get them or I forget.

  12. katelin March 3, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    i am so excited for daylight savings and being able to drive home when it’s light out. it seriously makes me so incredibly happy it’s ridiculous.

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 3, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    I’m with you on Daylight Savings! I hate losing that hour of sleep but the extra sunlight is wonderful!!

    I love that my days fly by at work, but I hate that they fly by so fast that I need to work 50-60 hours to keep up.

  14. Her March 3, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    I know what you mean about feeling like the service you’re doing isn’t ever enough. I’ve been itching to jump in and get involved with something too.

    Good luck with finishing up with your school work! It’ll be so exciting to be DONE!

  15. ria March 4, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    i LOVE cadbury mini eggs! that is so awesome you are almost done with your masters! so impressive :)

  16. Charlie March 4, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    I’ve been waking so early recently and loving it, I’m not looking forward to daylight savings. On the other hand I am looking forward to mini eggs, although I think they sell them year round here, no one notices until easter.

  17. E.P. March 4, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I totally feel you on the Easter candy stuff! While I know I shouldn’t be eating it (and specifically make a point not to purchase my favorite candy), I kind of think I should be because I won’t see it until next spring…

    Happy Thursday, lovely!

  18. Jessica March 4, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Wait are the mini eggs the robin’s egg shell ones with chocolate inside? If so, holy shit those are amazing! I also love that the sun it out at 5 p.m but hate that it’s still cool. Bah.

  19. Little Miss Obsessive March 5, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    Congrats on being so close to finishing your Master’s!! That is so exciting :)

    And I ALWAYS get 100 ideas for blog posts…. when I have zero time to sit down and write! So frustrating.

  20. Jessica March 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Ahh, I love love/hate. Pandora is the best. Luckily, I’m not in the working world yet, so I only listen to it maybe an hour or two at night and definitely not every night. I’ve never used up my allotted hours…wish I could share some with you! My friend made a backup account for when his ends..do you do that?

Leave a Reply

