Tidbit Tuesday

9 Mar

* I spent the weekend visiting my brother at school, traipsing around campus, stocking up on college gear, finding new restaurants and cafes that I wish I had existed when I was there, having drinks with my brothers friends (a few whom I used to baby sit!), laughing, talking, sharing, confiding, bonding. My brother is an excellent host: he made me brunch after my long run on Saturday, bought me a few rounds of drinks on Saturday night, and always introduced me by saying “this is my sister, she used to go here.” For some reason that just made me super happy. When it was time to leave on Sunday I held in the tears until I was 30 miles away. I’m fortunate that we’ve grown so close over the last few years but it makes it *that* much harder to leave him each time.  I’m turning into quite the softy in my rip old age of 26.

* Last week was the first “official,” training week for the 10 mile race I’ve got coming up in May. I logged 17 miles for the week in just four runs; I have to say that I’m glad I started increasing my base miles in January and February because the 5 miler (first long run) on Saturday really wasn’t so bad and I really think I could have kept going. The idea of  a fresh made brunch courtesy of my brother was reason enough to stop. I’m thrilled with my running shoes (Ariel from Brooks), love my various running playlists, and the high I get from running makes me feel invincible. I know I have a long way to go but I feel good about it so far.

* School. As I mentioned last week I have only four little classes left to finish my MBA. Two of them start this Friday. They are both (thankfully) online classes so I don’t have to endure four hour classes after a nine hour work day but that does also mean they are a bit more intense. I’m up for the challenge, have the books ready to go and only need to purchase my favorite notebooks because, well, I’m that girl who takes notes even if she’s not going to a lecture. I’m so ready for school to be done and a thing of the past because as much as I like learning, I like my freedom a little bit more.

*  Lately I feel like something is missing, like a piece of me perhaps, which is odd because everything is on the up & up. I’m doing things I want to do. I’m reconnecting with old friends and trying to make new ones. I’m running, reading, baking, socializing, writing. But every other week or so I feel lonely and a little bit lost. I know I don’t need a man to make me whole and yet I miss having a special someone in my life. Someone to rely on. Someone to hug me after a rough day. Someone who will be coming home to me (and I to him) every day, day after day, after day. Someone who is always on Team Nora. Someone to share this amazing journey with. I know I’m young and have plenty of time but that doesn’t change what the heart wants and the soul craves. All I can do is keep on this path I’ve created for myself and hope that someday my path will intersect with someone else who’s ready for the journey of a lifetime.

* I seem to have lost my reading mojo the last few weeks. I’m reading two books that I really enjoy but by the time I have a chance to read them (the whole reading during lunch thing I mentioned a week or two ago hasn’t been happening thanks to a crazy work schedule) I’m usually asleep after a few paragraphs. This weekend is so far relatively low-key so I hope the weather continues to be gorgeous so I can take Jack for a walk, sit outside and read the fabulousness that is “The Dirt: Confessions of the World’s Most Notorious Rockband… Motley Crue.” I think I just need a few hours to really get involved in a book again and I’ll be back.

 Lastly, I confess I marked “all as read,” in my reader the other day. I tried to read at least one post from each of the blogs I subscribe to so that I’d feel a bit caught up so if I missed anything big, no matter what it is, let me know. Now, fill me in on a few of your tidbits from the last few days!

24 Responses to “Tidbit Tuesday”

  1. Slamdunk March 9, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    Best wishes with your running.

  2. oh March 9, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    You are a far more eclectic read than I. I need to do that, read more stuff, different stuff. I may have to borrow Kate Hepburn’s book from you.

    On a completely different note, I haven’t been here in ages (shame on me!) and I am DELIGHTED by your blog design! Who did it? I love it. Maybe I should step it up, too. What a difference to have a custom appearance! Bravo! (looks like it’s gonna be a !!!! day!)

  3. mandy March 9, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I’m thrilled that you had a wonderful time with your brother. Its good to go back to your old stomping grounds every once in a while and even better when you have a brother who can be such a fabulous host. Your running sounds like its coming along as it should and I know you will totally rock your classes. =)

  4. Kimwithak March 9, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Sometimes you just have to hit all as read and move on.

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks March 9, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Look at it this way: you’re halfway there with training for that race! And you’ve got months to go to catch up on the second half. You’re in great shape to be ready for that race!

  6. Kyla Roma March 9, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    You’re doing so so well! And I’m glad that you’re not letting blog reading become a stress or a chore =)

    Also, this? “But every other week or so I feel lonely and a little bit lost.” I’ve been feeling so incredibly lonely lately that it’s not even funny. I don’t even know what it’s about, but if you ever need to talk or text or e-mail or gchat just send up a flare in my direction, I’m here and I get that feeling <3

  7. Kathleen March 9, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    You are really making me want to get out and run, only problem is I need to let my body rest awhile longer. I ended up in the hospital over the weekend because I couldn’t stop throwing up; it was terrible. Maybe in a week or two I can get back out there.

  8. Margarita March 9, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I’m on Team Nora :)
    Darling, your life sounds fabulous and I’m so proud you can run so far now!! That’s astounding. Seriously. I run out of breath running around the corner. I need to work on the physical part of me.

    Good things will come to you soon. I feel it :)

  9. Liz March 9, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Ha! I read that book about 7 years ago. What do they call one of Tommy Lee’s hook-ups? Bullwinkle? LOL!

  10. Emily Jane March 9, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I will always be on Team Nora too :)

    I get that feeling sometimes as well, and lately (I guess as a result of lots of crazy happening in my life) I kind of wish I had something like a group of friends with a standing martini night or something who’d always be on Team Emily and make me laugh and forget all about everything that’s happening. Like that I’m more than likely getting laid off in 3 weeks and my dad just had a huge health scare that’s kind of not going to go away. :(

    I thought of you this weekend when I got on my new treadmill though (look at me go!). I did APPALLINGLY and did half a mile in about 11 minutes lol but I’m definitely going to keep trying :) Good luck with your running!!

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair March 9, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Aww I’m so glad you had such a wonderful weekend with your brother. I’m jealous of how close you are, I hope I am that close with my brother one day!!

    I feel like a piece of me is missing sometimes too. Maybe it’s because I’m far from home/Eric. Maybe it’s something we all go through?

    Yay for getting school OVER with. I predict myself completing a masters at SOME point in my future. But hopefully not for a long time. I’m anxiously awaiting that freedom that you speak of. 4 more weeks….

  12. Amy --- Just A Titch March 9, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I hope you know how many of us are on Team Nora, sweet girl. But I understand what you mean. I am so pleased to read that life seems to be going along so well! Your list completely impressed me :)

  13. Sarah March 9, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve been really busy lately!

    I understand what you mean about feeling a bit lonely, like something’s missing. It’s not always, but sometimes I do feel that it would be nice to have someone that was there just for me. And that I could be that to someone else. I’m ok on my own, but it’d be nice all the same.

  14. kilax March 9, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    You’re not doing the Soldier Field 10 miler, are you? :)

    I know you will find someone who wants to join you on this journey… I really think it is great that you are spending this time defining who you are and doing what you enjoy. I know so many women who DON’T do that, unfortunately!

    You didn’t miss much with me… I ran a 5K. Think you saw that? Have been doing a lot of BS blogging. ;)

  15. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns March 9, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Well, you know I totally understand the feeling of ‘something missing’. I know we are enough on our own, but that’s doesn’t stop us for wanting more. And wanting a partner in life. I love my independent lifestyle but I definitely wish I could walk in the door at night and say, ‘honey I’m home.’ Some day. :)

    Well done on the training! I am sure you will rock this race!! Wish I could run it with you!!!

  16. Jessica March 9, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Aww I’m so glad you had a good visit with your brother! Sounds like you guys had fun. Way to go on the runs too!

  17. AshleyD March 9, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    It sounds like you’re doing all the right things to be happy (weekends with your brother, taking time for yourself, learning, running, etc), so I know how hard it can be to still feel that something is missing. The feeling will pass though; they always do. In the meantime, you know I’m always around if you want to chat!

  18. E.P. March 9, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    I’m super excited about your running, and I wish we lived in the same town because I would go running with you. (AKA make you force me to run with you to get my fat ass in shape.) I cannot wait to hear about the training and everything pertaining to it because I have a feeling it will inspire me to be active.

    And I know that feeling of just wanting someone to give you a hug and be on your team no matter what. And while I know we’re all different than a boyfriend, you know we’re all here ready to give you a hug and cheer you on and tell you that you’re amazing, right? Because we are.

  19. Her March 9, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    I am definitely on Team Nora (just like all these other wonderful ladies!), and would love to gchat with you sometime–anytime! I’m always hesitant to initiate chats, because I feel like I might be interrupting something more interesting, but if you ever need a cheerleader, I’m your girl.

    It’s so wonderful how close you and your brother are. Mine is coming to visit in June, and I’m really hoping to get to know him better.

  20. OG March 9, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    I know how you feel, I feel the same way sometimes. Very busy, and involved in what you have going on – but still wanting somebody to share it with. Luckily we always have friends, and it seems like you have a lot of people who are on your team. The main thing is not to force it.

    Glad you had a good weekend.

  21. sleepyjane March 10, 2010 at 5:07 am #

    “Mark all as read” is one button I’m sure no one is stranger to. ;)

    And also, like all the other commenters I am SO TEAM NORA! WHOO HOO! :)

  22. Lys March 10, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    i’ve been the same way for the past two weeks. i can’t bring myself to sit still in front of the computer right now and i feel terrible for not commenting on anyone’s posts. here’s to hoping it gets better soon.

  23. Matt March 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    For what it’s worth- I’m Team Nora and I’m always just an email away.

  24. Jessica March 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    * Lately I feel like something is missing, like a piece of me perhaps, which is odd because everything is on the up & up. I’m doing things I want to do. I’m reconnecting with old friends and trying to make new ones. I’m running, reading, baking, socializing, writing. But every other week or so I feel lonely and a little bit lost. I know I don’t need a man to make me whole and yet I miss having a special someone in my life. Someone to rely on. Someone to hug me after a rough day. Someone who will be coming home to me (and I to him) every day, day after day, after day. Someone who is always on Team Nora. Someone to share this amazing journey with. I know I’m young and have plenty of time but that doesn’t change what the heart wants and the soul craves. All I can do is keep on this path I’ve created for myself and hope that someday my path will intersect with someone else who’s ready for the journey of a lifetime.

    WOW WOW WOW. Took the words right out of my mouth. Everything is FINE and everything is GOOD. It could just be better. And it could be better if I had that special someone. So perfectly described.

Leave a Reply

